Have You Ever Been Body Shamed?😟

in #life6 years ago

image

Hello Everyone! Still, in the spirit of the new year! I know quite alright that we are making various plans which can us experience a great year ahead and definitely our looks wouldn't be left out in our plans of making everything better for the year!

If I am not mistaken, you are familiar with the term “body shaming”. But if I am, then below is a definition with the help of the English Oxford Dictionary;

The action or practice of humiliating someone by making mocking or critical comments about their body shape or size.

Now that you know what it means to body shame, an open question;

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN BODY SHAMED?

Personally, I have been body shamed on many occasions and severally the memories come flinging back into my head. You know, sometimes, I wonder why I have to keep remembering ill-fated incidents, but then, I do not control how I store up my core memories.

It is common to get body shamed if you are skinny, fat, petite, short or come with certain obvious features. The world is so quick to judge without finding out WHY. It is so unwise to body shame people because of their weight or size but most persons are more bullies than humans who take not what they say into consideration.

I have been called out for being skinny, for being petite and once I was asked bluntly why I was getting so small. The feeling was immeasurable, I couldn't utter a word nor could I clap back. Just like me, most times you'll want to explode, but then, some people and actions are not worth it! I was once told by a supposed friend to stay away if I had on a skirt I wore while walking with her; for a moment I thought, “do people actually care about how others feel? Or do they just utter words without thinking twice?

Why Do People Body Shame?

Anyone body shaming you obviously think he or she is better. They feel they look perfect and are without fault. But then, they fail to remember that nobody is perfect or without faults. Some are only hidden away from the eyes. Most times, people who body shame aren't half as perfect as you are, trust me!

Been attractive doesn't mean you need to remind someone of faults he or she has. Before you call someone skinny, fat deformed or short, they know they are! So why work towards getting someone sad?

If you are so perfect, leave me to my imperfections rather than give me reasons to get depressed.

image

How Should You React When Body Shamed?

Stop swallowing the anger and sadness... Stand up! Initially when people body shame me, I go behind, cry, think and wonder why I was skinny, petite or why some features aren't as they should be. But then, after my battle with depression caused partly by body shaming, I learned to deal with people who body shamed! You can't make fun of my body and walk away feeling fly because, I'd give you a piece of my mind, a piece that you will probably never forget! I am stronger than I used to be and right now, I feel just perfect the way I am because I'm 100% healthy!

If you are victim of body shaming, I think it is time you stopped hiding your anger with giggles and forced smiles! Bullies deserve to know that they can not trample on just anyone. I saw various replies to a body shaming questions on quora that you might find helpful.

Say No To Body Shaming!

You do not know what your statement might get someone doing! Learn to guide your utterances at all time and remember that your statements aren't made to emotionless animals.

People have done unthinkable things due to being body shamed. Suicide isn't far from one of the outcome of body shaming. Because do not want to get laughed at, they go extra miles of hiding their real selves with photoshop and similar... Depression, self-hate, low self-esteem are often results of body shaming on people.

If you need to talk about someone's features, call him or her privately and ask questions in the most acceptable manner before saying what you need to in the most friendly manner. If you can help, help! You can save a soul better by going private than public...


#### Original Pictures Were Gotten From Pixabay


UPVOTE. RESTEEM. FOLLOW.
Sort:  

I have been body shamed. I looked at myself and realized I was indeed getting fatter so I read up on some dietary tips and did some exercises.

Looked a helluva lot better after a year.

Glad I got shamed and was able to look at myself a bit.

Glad I got shamed and was able to look at myself a bit.

Quite great, but it doesnt work that way for everyone... I would approve a private meeting than body shaming.

I don't know how should I react to this post, seems like my own story. I have been body shamed since I was a kid, at the age of 15 I was diagnosed with PCOS (which obviously wasn't my fault). People started calling me with different names (Names that I can't even mention here, because of embarrassment). I have been bullied at school, college, home... everywhere. I started ignoring family gatherings, parties etc. because I didn't want anyone to make fun of the body fat I have. I held it all in, my feelings, fears, concerns. I had depression and social anxiety because of it. Only thing that has changed is, now I really don't care what people think about me. People won't stop talking, they'll make fun of you no matter what!!! I am trying my best to transform myself, and one day I will... We do not need to get upset, or come down hard on ourselves.

I am so sorry for your experience... I have had a fair share... I am glad you stepped ahead of scumbags... Stay happy!

:) Thanks love

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blogtrovert from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Be proud of your body. Yeah! Thanks for sharing. Pls follow back if you haven't and upvote me pls. Thanks

Welcome... But please don't beg for votes, you might get yourself flagged.

I agree that we should openly challenge when people presume to tell us what health, beauty is; We also need to openly challenge what we tell ourselves health and beauty is. As with any decision, we should look to scientific data to guide our decisions when considering something impactful, like health (I think the concept of beauty is so personal and the level of consequence in a person's life is as well).

We respect one another best when we provide an openness toward honest communication, regardless the topic.

Yes, honest communication, not public disgrace. Health is wealth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53