7 years journey in IT industry - My success story

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Share-your-Story.jpg

Hey Steemians,

If you have followed me from my introduction post, you would already know that I am a computer engineer working in India. I have completed more than 7 years in this lovely industry. Ups and downs are a part of every journey but the most important thing is what you learn from them.
I am not going to write any tips for being a successful engineer etc. because it is a very subjective matter and depends on various factors like your personality, your domain, your country, your company and what not. There is no hard and fast rule of success. It changes as per the world changes. So I am going to share my experiences and learning from the journey.

1. Everything that happens to you is not destiny, erase it and create your own if you don't like it.

destiny.jpg

I got selected in a big Multi National Company from my college campus itself. Being a new college there were hardly few students who got selected from the college campus and I was one of the lucky(may be deserving) ones. The job profile was for a product support analyst. Someone associated with IT industry will know that most of the ambitious students will not like to work on a support profile. I was no exception. I did not want to join in for a support profile but as I said I was one of the lucky students who got a campus placement I did not have the liberty to decline one.
Never mind, I joined the company and completed the 6 months probation period as promised by my college to the company. I was performing well and also being paid well. But the developer in me was not happy with the kind of work I was doing. One should be passionate about their work which I wasn't. I did not find enough challenge in the work and I decided to quit.
I did not have a job in hand, I was back to the open market with huge competition. I had hope in myself and that hope got me a job in one of the renowned. The company was smaller as compared to my earlier company, even paid less than half of my earlier salary, but the company had better work. I was happy.

Lesson: Had I stayed in my comfort zone, I would not have got a job which I liked. Create your own destiny.

2. There are no shortcuts to success.

stairs-onstartups-2.jpg

Sure I was happy with my new job, it had a lot of challenges, it had many new things I wanted to learn. But with that I had a lot of work and performance pressure. I was now into a much competitive world. I remember feeling myself in a pressure cooker always. Gold has to go through a lot of hammering to be converted to beautiful ornaments. Nothing different for humans either. I worked hard, I soaked all the pressure. It only made me stronger and a better performer.

Lesson: Don't step back when it comes to hard-work. It always pays back.

3. If you want to move up the ladder, create your own replacement.

25324878-3d-person-man-person-is-climbing-a-ladder-that-leads-at-the-top-of-the-number-one.jpg

Many of you will argue to this point but I have experienced it working well for me. If you are capable of moving up the order always make sure you create your replacement. If there is no one to replace you, you will never be released from your current responsibilities and free to accept new ones. You will be stuck doing the same work just because you are not replaceable. Now when you say you are not replaceable, you are just lying to yourself. Always remember anyone in this world can be replaced. It is just a temporary dependency which is making you important. Sure you may be paid slightly better than other but in the long run you are slowing down your progress by sticking to the same old responsibilities.

Lesson: Everyone can be replaced if need be. Don't flatter yourself.

4. Everyone who shits on you is not your enemy.

download.jpg

I had a team leader who always assigned me high pressure work. He made sure that I am never assigned a project which is straightforward. Sounds like an enemy right ? Not really though. Another way to look at it is, he always believed in me and made sure that my talent isn't wasted on simple projects, he exposed me to new challenges and responsibilities. All that just made me stronger and an all rounder. Additionally high pressure work is always high visibility work. I got recognition on my way towards successful delivery of these projects. Sure he had his own interests but it was a blessing in disguise for me.

Lesson: Don't be afraid to take up new challenges, if you succeed you have success but if you fail you still have experience.

5. Everyone who gets you out of shit is not your friend.

Mike-Tyson-Quote-Everybody-you-fight-is-not-your-enemy-and.jpg

This is a very important lesson in life. Many of you might have experienced this personally. When you perform well you make too many friends. Not every friend is beneficial in life. Some are purely reaping benefit out of your friendship. I unknowingly created a very innovative utility while working on a project. For me, I just made my work easier by automating something but it turned out to be a big hit. A so called friend helped me polish the utility to make it slightly more generic and presentable, who knew the friend later claimed himself as the developer of that utility. I couldn't completely rule him out of the picture because he did make small changes in the utility. In the end I had to settle being a co-author of the utility for the 5% contribution he made towards it.

Lesson: When you are at the top, beware of whom you ask for help.

6. Failures are stepping stones to success.

mistakes.png

1 month after joining my new company I had failed in an evaluation exam. The evaluation exam was to gauge our understanding of the most important technology used in my domain. I had tried my best but still I failed. Instead of nurturing the feeling of failure, I took it up as a challenge and here I am, leading the center of excellence team of that technology 6 years later. I am recognized in my company for my knowledge about the same technology which I failed to pass the evaluation exam.

Lesson: Everyone has their own pace of learning things. If you believe in yourself you are ought to be successful.

Do let me know your thoughts about my success story in the comments below. I hope you take a lot of inspiration from my story. Wish you all the very best for your story.

Inspired from the philosophical and motivational writings of @getonthetrain.

Sort:  

Thank you for this. It is indeed one of those motivational stories that would make someone come to a realization that in order to be successful you have to sacrifice a lot of things, may it be money, time, comfort, happiness, etc... there is no short-cut to it!

Thank you for sharing your story with us. I look forward to engaging with you more. I'll see you around.

XOXO,
Gilaine

This post will surely give me motivation in my future endeavours. I have a success story to look back on. Might not have reached a lot people due to my limited followers but hope it inspires at least 1 out of my 190 followers.
Thanks for your support !!

Sure it will!

You just have to work on your followers. You won't get any traffic on your page yet but you can go out your blog and meet new friends.

Do you see all those steemians on my blog who left comments? engage with them, know them. You have to build a network.

Sure. I'm commenting pretty much all day. Made some friends with mutual interests. The hunt is on. :)

You got upvoted from @adriatik bot! Thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content!

One thing I can say about you is that you are really brave to leave your 1st job and search for more suitable job.
Your story is inspiring and gives a message : where there's a will ,there's a way.

I did have second thoughts when it took 3 months to find a new job. But today I have no regrets. The decision paid off pretty well.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blog-beginner from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Loving this motivation today! Thank you for sharing! Upvoted :-)

This post has received a 3.12 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @blog-beginner.

You are very perceptive to the lessons that appear in life. So many people never think to look for those important lessons and they often end up doing the same things over and over for 40+ years always wondering why they never got lucky.

I am honored that you enjoy my writings so much.

True. As it has its benefits it has its own shortcomings too. Often during failures people like me endup over thinking the situation.

This post has received a 3.17% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @blog-beginner. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 1.49 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @blog-beginner.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43