BC Wildfires Update: A good story: Pizzeria provides free pizza to B.C. Wildfire Evacuees in Province's worst fire season on record.

in #life7 years ago

This year has been a hard one for residents in my country west of me - with the legendary wildfires and you don't get to hear many good stories when something like that hits a community -- or thousands and thousands of acres of land in a whole Province.

B.C. CONTINUES to be under a state of emergency as 138 wildfires continue to burn across the Western Canadian province.

It's already B.C.’s worst fire season in history and the end is honestly not even in sight.


Pizza King of Kamloops, B.C., has really been a great help to people struck by recent wildfires in the Western Canada province!

You guys know as many do..... I think of, talk about and think a lot about pizza.

-- I love it! And a good story!

On July 7, more than 40,000 residents were evacuated from their homes on five minutes’ notice and headed into the city.

Pizza shop owner Parv Nann of Kamloops, B.C., heard from staff and friends how hard the families were hit and what they had lost, he started handing out his food and combos to anyone asking.


Wildfire burning out a mountain near Ashcroft, BC this summer.

This really hit home for Nann, when he saw a man at the local mall.

Staff at the mall, told Nann that the man was forced to leave his ranch, and then wait the weekend to withdraw money from his bank.

“People lost their family pets, their homes and their belongings,”

Nann said.


The massive program Nann has started has cost him at least $10,000, when you consider the 4,500 slices handed out / $4 a slice.

“People asked me why I do it when I must be losing money, and I say to them, ‘It’s a lot easier to lose your money than to lose your house.

If I can take their mind off it for even five minutes and put a smile on their faces, it’s worth it,’ he said. “I never got into this business to make a lot of money.

When you make food, you make it for the enjoyment.”


Nann's 3-year-old shop, has about 12 employees and serves “a thicker style” of pizza, he says and they also provide pizza to volunteers helping evacuate the homes in areas around the hard hit Kamloops areas, like Williams Lake and Hundred Mile House.

Nann states that although some of the original fires had subsided, more were starting up, and I can confirm this, as a Canadian watching and reporting on this lately on Steemit this summer.

Another part of a BC town near Ashcroft burned out.
Photos: Cora Nann, Globe and Mail

I don't know if the Nann's will ever read this but thanks from a Canadian, fellow pizza lover and an honest to goodness subscriber longtime to Canadian Pizza magazine.

I've always wanted to own a pizza shop and partly so I can do things like this to support humanity. I have so many ideas.

Good on you guys!!!


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.







If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/niagara-falls-trip-and-facts-with-a-friend-who-had-never-been-memories-on-the-blockchain-with-elvis-and-facts-on-the-skylon

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/world-crypto-network-is-live-right-now-streaming-the-segwit-lock-in-with-a-huge-panel-of-the-top-crypto-folks-incl-charlie-lee

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/dan-larimer-video-interview-on-epicenter-today-this-is-a-really-good-watch-listen-it-is-pretty-in-depth-about-his-past-goals

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/bitcoin-in-canada-usd5525-mark-high-or-usd-4248-usd-high-or-recovery-mode-or-usd153b-crypto-market-cap-gains-usd5b-overnite-or

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/hey-steemit-family-what-was-your-1st-blog-post-you-authored-on-here-and-why-or-e-11-or-post-it-or-community-engagement-series


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
Sort:  

nice to see people helping others, such a terrible situation really feel for all those impacted up there by those fires very sad

I honestly thought of you writing this and doing some cross ref. for this article buddy, this is the truth.

Stuff like this always makes me think of you.

Thanks for stopping by man. I've spent a lot of time in BC as I have mentioned to you, so this also hits me harder than some, I spent time in literally 20+ communities on my travels one year.

Thank you for your post.

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 25 Aug 2017 - 01:56 UTC

#BCwildfire Update. #CanPoli #CdnPoli #Canada #News #Pizza story helping neighbours! #Philosophy #Food #Blockchain

steemit.com/life/@barrydut… / https://t.co/nNDtfB3uA0

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Que tragedia, nadie quiere vivir una situación de esas, mucha fuerza para salir de ese mal momento @barrydutton

Thanks sister.

Wonderful... hopefully your dreams come true

Always great to see a community come together to help each other out. Even more so with pizza. I ate some pizza the other day with cheese in the crust!

Any particular reason that has contributed to this year being the worst in history? They never talk much about Canada down here.

Who knows, likely global warming effects as they sweep the globe, no matter what the official (paid off) sources / gov't says anyways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50