My favorite gifts - Birthday Post part 1: ChildhoodsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Today's my birthday. 😁 I'll tell you how old I am in the second part*, which will address the present time. In this post I'm going back to my childhood.

An interesting (and also funny and sad at the same time) thing happened on one of my birthdays, when I was very young. I don't even remember exactly how young I was, so let's just assume (for the sake of consistency with the rest of the story) that I was six.

I was wandering around the living room, when the news presenter on TV began a sentence: Exactly six years ago... My eyes lit up and I thought: they're saying something about my birthday on TV! That could be pretty big for a young boy, but it turned out it wasn't the case (can you imagine? 😉)... The newscaster finished his sentence:  Exactly six years ago the priest Jerzy Popiełuszko was murdered.

Jerzy Popiełuszko was a Roman Catholic priest associated with anti-communist opposition in Polish People's Republic . He was murdered by the agents of the government on exactly the same day as I was born. The story was adapted by Agnieszka Holland into the film To Kill a Priest with Christopher Lambert and Ed Harris. It was rather sad news, hearing for the first time about Popiełuszko's death, but as a child, I was also weirdly excited that I was born on the same day that something big happened.

This is my strongest childhood memory associated with birthday.

The gift

My favorite childhood gift wasn't exactly a birthday gift, but I still think that today is a perfect time to write a little bit about it. When I was 8, I was given a Commodore C64 computer. So much fun time and so many memories! Just a few minutes to adjust the tape head azimuth position with a screwdriver to load a game properly and you're gone for hours! 😉

Image from Wikipedia

My favorite game was Microprose Soccer – a realistic football AKA soccer experience. 😉

 

Animation form C64 Wiki

A nice addition to the games was an interesting 8-bit music that I still enjoy. Let me end this post with my track inspired by those fun C64 times – Commodore Safari (if the SoundCloud frame doesn't appear below, refresh the site or use this link to open the track on SoundCloud page - I think it's a bug and I'm not able to fix it).

<center><iframe width="100%" height="450" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/152026656&amp;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;show_comments=true&amp;show_user=true&amp;show_reposts=false&amp;visual=true"></iframe></center>

I hope you enjoyed this post and my music track. Click here for the second part.


* But the clue is included in this post, so it doesn't take much investigation for a careful reader to find it out. 😉

If you liked this post, follow me for more!

My other posts you might be interested in:
Sort:  

I had one of those!! But it was quite old by the time I did. Still a great system. Oh and Happy Birthday!

It was quite old when I got it too. World's 80's came to Poland in 90's. 😜
Thanks!

I remember the C64 lol. Brings back a lot of childhood memories. There was something magical about computers back then:)

Yeah, and games on cassette tapes were also magical.

I used to play a game called Bruce Lee on a C64 back in the 80's. Check out these graphics lol

Hyperrealistic! Haven't played this one. 🙂

Happy birthday!!

Thanks! 😊

Happy (late) birthday.

Thank you very much! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65