Fixing Posture - Part 2: Static Holds (lower body)

in #life8 years ago (edited)


Happy Friday Steemit, this is a continuation of my story in which I talk about what I did to correct my posture. The last post I did covered Deadlifts and the benefits I gained from it, if you missed that one you can read it here. In this post I will write about static holds to improve the lower portion of the body.


Isometric holds


Isometric holds are great for stability and for building strength. These exercises are super friendly for people who just started working out and it can modified to be challenging for advanced athletes. I believe everyone should be doing some sort of isometric holds incorporated with their exercise routine. Its low impact, highly challenging, and it can be done anywhere.

Isometric Training

It can be applied anywhere, with weights or not, the main idea of isometric training is to slow it down. I see a lot of personal trainers not really showing their clients these exercises which I think its odd because their clients are normally beginners and not fully aware of their own motor skills. Doing isometric exercises will help people understand the muscles being used in each movement. Lets test it out, try doing a slow squat for 5-10 seconds each way, lower yourself until your hips are slightly below your knee and come back to standing position. You should probably feel which part of your leg is activated throughout the motion.

Routine

  • Squats (3-5 reps of 5-10 seconds )
  • Lunges (3- 5 reps of 5-10 seconds)
  • V-sits (3-5 reps of 10-60 seconds)
  • Planks (3-5 reps of 10-60 seconds)
  • Bridge (3-5 reps of 10-60 seconds)
    Rest only enough where you think you can complete the next rep in proper form.
    Remember to breathe

This routine is to help stabilize the pelvis, where people normally have issues due to sitting too long in the chair. Take proper rest, this routine might not make you sore or tired, but your CNS (central nervous system) fatigue is easily hidden. Treat it like weight training, take at least a day or two off in between.

V-sit


v-sit

Plank Variations


plank

Bridge Variations


v-sit

Sort:  

Good post. Thanks. I will be using the info in my life to help my physical fitness. I am a bit lazy... lol. Appreciate it. Peace.

No worries, do it whenever you remember to. Start slow and incorporate it to your weekly routine. Sooner or later it will become a habit if you keep at it, have a good one

Hi @ayim, I've got wicked pain in my left shoulder from leaning over while working. Any stretches for that?

Yes I do, I will do a post about it in detail either tomorrow or the day after. But the pain in the shoulder due to computer usage is probably caused from tight chest muscles making your shoulders to round forward. Try to stretch out your chest for the time being.

Looking forward to it! Thanks

Thanks, glad you like it.

This is a very good quality post. Came here to say: Deadlift is Life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43