Fixing Posture - Part 1: Deadlifts

in #life8 years ago

Background:

My job as a software engineer required sitting for extended periods of time. During those days, my working hours were around 12 - 16 hour per day. After awhile I start noticing different types of pain in my body as I was sitting for an extended period of time. Age: 26 | Weight: 195lbs/88.5kgs | Height: 6 ft/182cm


Pain included:

  • Numbness in my legs (Sciatica)
  • Lower back tightness/sore
  • Mid-back hunch
  • Rounded shoulder
  • Stiff neck

I want to address which exercises I have experienced which has been beneficial to my posture and reducing the pain from sitting for an extended period of time.

Always listen to your body and check with a doctor before starting any exercise regime.

Deadlift


There is a misconception out there where the idea of stretching the muscle will to improve the discomfort/tightness. I personally feel that it is the wrong way of approaching the problem. Stretching in some cases might cause more harm in the long term. Here I will address the biggest problem for most people.

Lower Back

An estimated 75 to 85 percent of people will experience some form of back pain during their lifetime. I thought at the time doing toe touches will improve the discomfort I was feeling since my back and legs felt better after stretching. Over time my back started to hurt more and the duration of relief from stretching was reduced. All the stretching I did was only weakening an already weaken muscle giving my back less support.
An article about stretching

I decided to strengthen my body for overall health improvement, I realized I neglected my lower back. In my day to day routine I never utilized my lower back muscle at all. Doing the deadlift was a struggle, I could barely lift 100 pounds, but after working on it over six months I am able to lift 405 lbs / 183 kgs (lifting heavy is unnecessary). I was addicted deadlifting due to the fact I saw massive improvement in reducing the pain I had from sitting and the overall posture improvement.

^That's me maxing out @ 405lbs (not perfect form) ^

The results I have gained from deadlift:

  • No more lower back discomfort
  • Numbness in my legs disappeared
  • Reduced mid-back hunch

I also notice my overall breathing has improve since I don't rely purely on tightening my core to support my upper body when sitting allowing me to expand my abdomen when breathing rather than my chest.
To test this, sit up right and take a deep breath, if your chest or shoulder rises you are breathing with your chest.
For more breathing info

No Gym ? No problem

Good mornings


Like the picture above, this can be done mornings, afternoon, or at night. If it is a bit too easy hold some weight with your hands extended. Or....

Backbends


Lift your hand and legs away from the floor as high as possible and hold it for as long as you can. 5 - 30 secs and around 5 - 10 reps

If you like this, give me a follow @ayim I will continue to include the exercises that improved my overall posture.

Sort:  

Deadlifts have always helped me out when my back has started to pain me due to laziness and sitting. :)

Check out my latest Deadlift video:

00011.00_00_55_06.111Still002.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54