Chronicles of Alan; Lucas 3

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Referring you to my First 2 Articles on Lucas:-https://steemit.com/life/@awgbibb/chronicles-of-alan-lucas

https://steemit.com/life/@awgbibb/chronicles-of-alan-lucas-2

Why I am putting up a picture of a Jensen Interceptor here? One drove into the Lucas First Floor Area, for Roy to set up the 4 Barrel Carburettor on it , While I took the Distributor out and calibrated the spring Advance System on it ( with some little tweaks of my own).

Naturally Roy and I took it for a Test Ride after set Up . I am not shy with the right hand pedal , which was obviously designed to be against the floorboards! ( why else would it travel that far?).

Interesting Design Concept , a Big , Fancy GT car with a Chrysler V8 motor in it , nothing wrong with that? Unfortunately the Fuel Crisis wrecked the Continuation of this excellent car.

In Motorcycle Racing at this time there was a 1000cc class , cannot recall who was winning at this time, but a Privateer was racing his Moto Guzzi Le Mans 850cc and coming stone last every race! ( in his class). KMM Distributors were the agents for these Classics and asked my assistance to come set up a Machine for them.
Go down with a scope, timing light dwell angle tester etc.

One very irate Italian Mechanic not impressed .

Nevertheless , I set up the machine, gained about 8 Horsepower on the Back Wheel. They had employed a Good Rider , and they had their best finish ever, 3rd place, with a machine 150cc down on the class limit!
Not long after this the 1000cc Ago Le Mans came out , a serious weapon in a good riders hands.

Another interesting Machine that came in was an Ariel Square Four Motorcycle, I assisted in converting the Electrics on it from 6volt to 12 Volt,

I have probably mentioned that I was quite an arrogant Guy those times and a Race Driver named Brian C joined Lucas , He had had a very good result in the Kyalami 9hour Race in a Datsun 140Z as I recall ( first in Class ) and an excellent finish.

He was quite a big fellow and I recall coming in from a customer and there was a Bar Stool standing Downstairs at our spares store with a pile of Books on it.

Asking what this was in aid of, " Wow, you want to see how strong Brian is, he strait arm , picked that up of the floor!"

Asked the Guy to put a couple more yellow pages on top, strait arm picked it up , put it down and walked off.

The next episode will see where this got me!

I hope you enjoy this My Friends?

Sort:  

Hello my friend wonderful motorcycles :)

Glad you enjoyed it, My Friend.

Very Nice, Thanks!

great post again... let the motor play the road..

Thank You, who does not like playing inTraffic?

Those are all awesome bikes. I can't imagine racing for 9 hours.. How do people do that ??

Well, in an endurance race they do swop over Drivers, Tyres, refuel etc.

Oh okay.. Yeah that makes sense then! So something like a relay race?

Damn, nice rides !!! Tweaked by yourself, so good to read that, makes it even more fun to ride. Very interesting and well done!

Thank You, appreciate your visit and kind words.

Good info! Thanks for sharing!

My Pleasure, Thank You.

Thanks for sharing
I enjoyed the videos
I like this Bike
" a serious weapon in a good riders hands."
Well said

Thank You , I had a very Fast Jaguar , years ago , I always felt you did not steer it, you aimed it!

great
I hope be your friend

Great, Thank You, Upvoted your latest post.

A good cliffhanger...till tomorrow :)

Like to do that sort of thing. My Lucas Stories will end with a Bang!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54