Chronicles of Alan; Lucas 2

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When working at Lucas I traveled by Motorcycle, alternating between My Norton Commando Fastback and My Converted Kawasaki 900, several of the other Guys had Bikes as well a Ducati 900 Darmah SS, and John B had a 550 Honda Four.

Working in the Mechanical Workshop was John B ,

he set up Turbochargers, redid the Bearings and Balanced them.

Just for your info , they spun at up to 200,000 rpm , so if not balanced , you can imagine , people thinking you were driving a Car Bomb!

John used to be a Rolls Royce Mechanic,

told me that they never ever ground valves , just cut the seats and then took a hammer and seated the valves, Well if Rolls do it, must work!

I got John to come to my House in Witpoortjie one Saturday , and he could not believe how much more performance and economy I got for him , by going against what the Factories recommended! , I will save this for one of my motorcycle posts.

Roy C , was in the Carburetor Department , we became really Good friends, I used to see Guys walking in carrying sets of Weber Sidedraught Carbs . Roy would ask them what compression , what CC, what they were revving too, and
of course, what make of Car it was and would set the carbs up on the Bench! These were mostly modified Saloon track Cars.

I could not believe this and asked one of the Guy's , are you serious?, reply " If your Carbs are not set by Roy , you don't have a hope of being in the top 5 in your class!" Wow that is quite a statement.

Oh, and BTW Roy's Sister used to date Mike Hailwood

If you do not know that name and you are a Biker, Shame on You!

There were a lot of other interesting Characters at Lucas, Talk next time

Sort:  

Most car and bike stuff is like Greek to me!!!

I am sure?, but thanks for the visit anyway.

Nice post again. You have friends Good in the card And motors part. Why dont you build a freaking good machine And post the proces in steemit. Maybe steemit upvotes Can help you. And at the end sell it for charity.. i would upvote.. !!!

well, I never met a mechanic that could make a technical post like this interesting - that is an achievement, awgbibb :) - Like the Rolls but love the racing car - Guess that doesn't come in a kit, huh?

Thank You, My friend, A race Car ends up as a bit of a kit Car , with bits from all over as long as it still looks a bit like the original ( in saloon car racing)

Your post is easy and interesting to read. English is not my first lunguage. I also love motor theme. I will follow you.
Resteem.

You love it.

Thank You, nice vid

Thanks for your articles!!

The connection to place, to the land, the wind, the sun, stars, the moon... it sounds romantic, but it's true - the visceral experience of motion, of moving through time on some amazing machine - a few cars touch on it, but not too many compared to motorcycles. I always felt that any motorcycle journey was special.
Thanks 🙏🏻 for sharing

Thank You.

Great post like always @awgbibb , Enjoy your passion i wish you all the best :)

Thank You. Appreciated.

great photos, thanks for sharing

Enjoy your passion @awgbibb
Your machines are extraordinary.

Thank You.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48