Chronicles of Alan; Lucas

in #life7 years ago

Crypton.jpg

Henry F my Brother in Law also wished to leave the Post Office, went for an Interview at Lucas, came back and said to me , this is right up your alley, which he had informed them at the Interview , saying I had a lot of experience in their field..

They called me up and asked me to come for an interview, said I was exactly what they were looking for, and I had the Job if I wanted it?

So , again I resigned see:-https://steemit.com/life/@awgbibb/chronicles-of-alan-automotive-equipment

What I did not know was I was walking away from a big Promotion , a virtually interest free housing loan , and a substantial increase in Salary?
So I joined Lucas in the Electronics side, doing Crypton Tune Up Machines, Hartridge Diesel Test Benches, Battery Chargers , Dynos, Wheel Alignment Machines, Computerised Wheel Balancer's, Battery Chargers, Allen Tune up Machines, etc

This is a Machine for Calibrating and Modifying Distributors

Dist Calib.jpg

There were 2 other Gentlemen in the Electronics area and a huge backlog of repairs which is why they needed me.

Lucas also had a Mechanical Department and , A Carburettor Department , we were all on the 1st floor with a long ramp up from ground level to get up to where we were based.

Crypton 2.jpg

I was just there a few weeks and I was asked to go out to the Lamborghini Agents in Rivonia as they had an ongoing problem with their tune up machine, which had been to our offices several times.

This was the first time I went out to a customer, I remember the Owners name was Brian but I cannot recall his Surname.

Asked him what the Matter was , said " The Damn Rev Counter on the Machine was erratic and had always been this way!"

Started up the Car , ( beautiful sounding Motor) watched the Rev Counter all over the Place , and realised what the problem was, "What Revs does a Lambo idle at?" He replied , between 1200 and 1300Rpm .

I took the Back Cover off the machine turned one screw and had it alter from low range Rev Counter To High Range at 1500rpm ( standard is 1250rpm) so, now , you too have figured out the fault? Brian ecstatic, shook hands and I left.

By the time I got back to the Offices in Selby Jhb. Brian had phoned the MD and informed him that I was the only one he ever wanted touching his machines, the MD had informed the other 2 Guys that the mysterious problem was sorted.

They could hardly contain their curiosity , when I got Back, "What did you do?" I told them , and they said as one, "But you're out of Spec".

I explained to them that spec is a basis to start from but essentially it is a tool to be adjusted to what is required by the customer. I could see that they were not entirely convinced.

Difference was that they were both very good with Electronics , better than I was probably?, But,

I was really good with Cars and bikes and the modifying thereof , which is what these machines were designed for!

To be Continued.

Sort:  

Isn't it fun, walking in and "Wowing" the customer! :D

Even better when the customer calls your boss... ;)

Great story, Thanks!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank You, and , Yes, it was a Great Feeling, I was also really arrogant ,then.

Oh wait i misunderstood. So it was you who was fixing this cars??

After reading that your brother in law is Henry Ford. I thought you were speaking about someone's life in 3rd person. You know, it's kinda rare to be Henry Ford's brother lol.

I never put Surname's in , he is not Henry Ford, I was fixing Tune Up Machines for Cars

Oh okey nvm then. It was a long day, head is not working. I geeet it. Sorry! :d

Classic Lambo ,yeah good car ,i still want it , maybe soon ,will see :)

thats a beautiful car ! But i prefer your " grandson " more haha so fluffy

:-O So you saved the day?....right

Actually ,if they had asked the right questions it would have been sorted before I even got there.

Just believe in some luck every day. But you have to prove yourself sometimes :-) You are a pro!

Great post dear

Plz cheak my page i am post there blog about cars

Thanks

Wow I'm glad that you could solve that guys problem who came into the office. It really seems like you are good with cars.
It must've been amazing revving the engine in that Lamborghini.
I hope you have a great day buddy :)

Thank You, it is 2137 Hrs here, you have a Great Day!

That is a beautiful car. Do you still have it?

I wish, I just helped with a tuneup on it .Thanks

Great car, must be a fun job to fix lambo's!

enjoyed reading the post
please have a look at my post
https://steemit.com/life/@writemore/motivation-of-the-day-1

Old vs New

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67946.39
ETH 3824.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77