A Walk in the Park: Photographic Short Stories, Volume VI

in #life8 years ago

This is the second in the orange grove series.

In the previous volume of A Walk in the Park, I shared images of the nature trail. In this edition, we will see the sights of the main orange grove property.


This is the main home on the property. You can no longer enter it, so there are no images of the interior.


IMG_3044-110bd1.jpg


IMG_3048-1786ae.jpg


Here are some of the large trees surrounding the home. This is a split shot of a view from the back and a view from the front.


combo_3116_31227c8a0.jpg


Behind the house was a barn/storage facility. An old tractor is rusting away in the elements.


combo_3049_3051_BW59f4a.jpg


IMG_3052-1e11f6.jpg


A couple of different views of the building’s exterior.


IMG_3104-18d2ae.jpg


IMG_3102-139151.jpg


IMG_3103-1a5999.jpg


Adjacent to the main house and the barn/storage was another structure used for storage. It looks a bit creepier than the other structures.


combo_3109_3117d2095.jpg


Although, this shot from the side looking up at the trees isn’t too scary. I love these shots of the hanging Spanish moss. You’ll see that I take them frequently. Better get used to them!


IMG_2954-1a92ac.jpg


In front of this little building was a large flowering plant. These were the buds. They were about an inch to an inch and a half wide and very solid/dense.


IMG_3114-15ccce.jpg


And this was the bloom. It was a very rich, beautiful color that stood out from a lot of the brown landscape and the deteriorating structures. It added a welcomed bit of life to the scenery.


IMG_3113-1e3582.jpg


This was the view from that plant and structure, looking back to the main house, through some strands of moss that were hanging from the branches.


IMG_3115-1fe1a0.jpg


The property was on a few acres, so there was plenty to photograph. These are some of the random shots that I took while walking around.


IMG_3032-1f0442.jpg


IMG_3033-1a89c4.jpg


combo_3036_303860c48.jpg


IMG_3042-1c9ecc.jpg


combo_2953_3105196e1.jpg


IMG_3118-13ebc1.jpg


To finish things off for this post, here’s a bit of ivy...


IMG_3040-173c56.jpg


And another stunning image of a flower.

It’s the best flower you’ve ever seen. It’s an amazing flower. A spectacular flower. It’s perfect. Believe me.


IMG_3034-199492.jpg


That concludes part two of this particular series. In the next post, we’ll move on to the waterfront scenery at this property.

I hope that you’ve enjoyed this trip so far! I made some black and white images for this post to help with the feel of the oldness of the property. Let me know what you think about them. I’d like to incorporate more post-production images into this series and will experiment more with variations of temperature and saturation in the future. Feedback is appreciated.

Thanks for taking this little journey with me!


All images taken with my iPhone 6S

Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

Terrific pictures. I love the offsetting color and B&W images. The color on that last flower is incredible. I don't know if you're old enough to have done darkroom work, but it reminds me of a Cibachrome print.

I'm old enough to have been in darkrooms, but I've never actually processed the photos that way myself. My wife actually had to do a little darkroom work in college, but I'm sure she's forgotten most of that stuff by now.

These pictures are so beautiful and fascinating at the same time! Thanks for sharing all of these!

Thanks, Tatiana! Make sure you come back for the next series of photos, where we finally hit the water! Should be up Wednesday or Thursday.

This looks like where I grew up. Very fond memories and your pictures are absolutely stunning. Thank you very much for this. It has brought me a tinge of pain from missing the times I had in a place like that.

Please do keep sharing more of these stories, I absolutely enjoy reading them.

I would also have to say, you can take really good pictures with your phone, I wish mine would take pictures like that, but unfortunately I think I need an upgrade haha.

Thank you for this trip back in time my friend,

~ @Timbo

Thank you very much. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

I have a secret about my photography...

I'm a semi-pro videographer/photographer, so it's not all due to the phone. I was actually just telling my wife yesterday - while walking another trail - that we need to bring the Canon or maybe upgrade to the iPhone 7. I only use the phone camera because I don't like lugging the big camera and lenses around.

But these have been fun to do, so I'm glad people are enjoying the photos. I have plans for several more series of these before the spring/summer heat settles in.

I will anticipate the next post then and hope to see equal quality in the least. I do hope you decide to pull out the bigger camera and lenses though.

Keep having fun with what ever you decide to do, keep it up!

Really good. Reminds me and Looks like Amityville horror . It was a book based on a true story.Georges Lutz house in the 1970's

Amityville, huh? I don't know if the buildings are that creepy. I suppose it would look scarier at dusk or at night, however. Too bad the park isn't open at night, otherwise I'd test that theory!

Wow man! You clearly put a ton of effort into this post. The photos are great. I really like how you did the black and white and color side by side. Very cool.

Well, I didn't put too much effort into it - but I'm glad it appears that way!

(Full disclosure: It did take a while, but mostly because of the need to resize all of the images for SteemIMG. I think I need to talk to @blueorgy about that!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51