A Walk in the Park: Photographic Short Stories, Volume V

in #life8 years ago (edited)

For your viewing pleasure, I have a new series of photos that will span a few posts.

I took these this past weekend while out with my wife. We have been taking regular trips to parks and nature trails over the past month and this little gem provided us with a nature trail through the forest, a house and barn from an old 19th-century orange grove, and a waterfront view with a pier.

The weather on this day was pretty nice. Temperatures were in the upper 70s with a fairly strong breeze ahead of some rain that came later that evening. There were a lot of people walking around, so it was difficult at times to keep them out of the shots, but I was quite successful, as you will see.

The first series of photos (this post) are from the nature trail. The images of the landscape will improve as the photographic journey unfolds. Since it’s January, the wooded areas are not very lush, so please forgive the dullness in some of the images. I wanted to capture the scenery as it is, nevertheless.

Enjoy!


As we approached the start of the trail, this was our view.


IMG_2948-1d53cc.jpg


IMG_2949-1ab4b4.jpg


The trail was paved, so I guess you can’t really call it “nature.” But these were a couple of shots as we made our way into the winter-esque wilderness.


IMG_3053_3059_combo5e631.jpg


Here are a couple of views into the jungle from the path. We were reminded by some signs along the way to not venture off into nature, so as not to disturb it. I guess the paved trail through the woods was disturbing enough for the park managers.


IMG_3060_3062_combo7bb4f.jpg


Here we have a live oak. Hopefully the conditions do not change, otherwise they will need a new sign.


IMG_3064-138334.jpg


These are some of the exotic plants that can be found in this wintry jungle. Or...maybe not.


IMG_3066-1bd067.jpg


There were some exotic clover-looking sprouts along the trail. They did not have their own signs, however.


IMG_3069-1342ec.jpg


My wife and I debated about whether or not this was in fact exotic. My opinion was that it is not. What do you think?


IMG_3072-1fad58.jpg


Shamrocks.


IMG_3073-1d3380.jpg


Everything looked so dead. But the fungi was alive and well. Mostly.


IMG_3077-195b30.jpg


A sign of civilization! We were obviously not the first explorers to set foot on this pristine land.


IMG_3079-1357b8.jpg


After a quick rest on the bench, we were on our way. The views were a bit underwhelming. This was another typical sight from the trail.


IMG_3094-1f3ff0.jpg


Then, out of nowhere...

Another sign of life! A boardwalk in the middle of the woods? How is this possible?


IMG_3081-130fb7.jpg


We walked on, rounded the corner, and...

Saw nothing ahead, so we turned back.


IMG_3083-126111.jpg


On our way to the old house and waterfront, we spotted some new life rising up through the dead jungle floor! A little bit of green in a vast sea of brown.


IMG_3089-19e5ea.jpg


Just ahead...twins?


IMG_3097-149105.jpg


Finally! Some color!


IMG_3071-1d7e37.jpg


And then more rotting woods.


IMG_3099-195d24.jpg


As we exited the trail, I took one last shot of the trees. The ground view may not be so nice, but I have to remind myself to look up once in a while. Then I remind myself again that the forest scenery in these parts is a bit lacking.


IMG_3095-170d45.jpg


And I’ll leave you as we approach the grove’s main house. A little teaser for what is to come in the next post.


IMG_3043-11583a.jpg


Make sure you come back for more. The next few posts will be brighter and more colorful, with some fantastic views and images of property and the waterfront. You’ll see beautiful flowers, an old tractor, some driftwood and moss, a pier, and even an abandoned train!

Thanks for stopping by and we’ll do this again soon!


All images were taken with my iPhone 6S

Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

Nice job on this article and you have a few really nice shots in there too! Thanks for sharing! Hey, by the way, how do you place the 2 pictures side by side? Do you upload the medium size picture then post them so? Alright, have a great weekend and namaste :)

Possibly. There was a little hole in the back of it, too. Treeanus?

Excellent article, amazing nature. I really liked it!

Thank you! You won't want to miss the next posts then!

"Temperatures were in the upper 70s". So jealous! I love that you included the picture of the bench. It made me laugh and think "Yep that's probably where I'd be ending up for quite a while." I'm an active guy but right now the thought of sitting and enjoying a 70 degree breeze seems pretty awesome. (Maybe I'd watch a little Seinfeld on my phone...) Thanks once again for allowing me to live vicariously through your photos.

At one point, it may have been right around 80 degrees. I may have even broken a light sweat for a few seconds, so it wasn't all good. I could have used a crisp 30-degree blast of air for a minute.

Maybe a light blanket of snow...

I felt like I was walking in there...smells in the park is good :)

You need a scratch-n-sniff phone or computer screen!

Very good!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51