The seven

in #life6 years ago

I got sick. I know I felt a bit weird a few days beforehand but I figured it was just some spring tiredness or too much work on my plate catching up with me. So when the thermometer showed 38,6 C in Thursday I called in sick and went to bed. I don’t remember much of Friday but then again I slept the whole day.

I am feeling a bit better today, since the temperature is more or less back to normal and my brain isn’t a big mush. So in that honor I decided to make a list of things I hate when I’m sick, starting with “annoying but still manageable” to “just kill me” to finish it off.

7.) General tiredness. You look like shit, you feel like shit and your apartment looks like shit too. There are dust bunnies in actual bunny size. I keep imagining myself being in the Wild West and tumbleweed rolling past me, with intense western music in the background. You may wonder how it is possible to have such big dust bunnies so fast. 4 cats. That’s how.
6.) Sore throat. Some people lose appetite when sick. I wish. It may happen here and there that I don’t know what I want until I taste it, but yes, in general I feel the hunger. The plus side to this symptom is … ice cream. It numbs the pain and tastes delicious.
5.) Bathroom breaks. Thirsty, pee, thirsty, pee, thirsty, pee, thirsty, pee … Need to add more?
4.) Fever + it's phases.

feever.png

3.) And we came to the “just kill me” side of the list. Coughing. Not just any coughing, but I will suffocate sort of coughing that usually ends with vomiting. I almost feel violated when this symptom occurs.

border3.png

2.) Stuffed nose. Some of you might wonder why a stuffed nose is so high on my list, but I HATE IT. When it won’t go in or out, when you can’t breathe, sleep, eat or do anything really. It annoys me to no end and it is not something I can simply disregard.

border3.png

1.) The care. Yes. This one is completely new on my list. Since yesterday actually. When you get a text from your coworker asking about your health but in subtitles asking if I will be back until Tuesday because she has a project that could use my set of skills.

Manage it woman and don’t bother the sick.

What annoys you the most when sick?

Sort:  

lepo urejen blog

...dejan...me malo briga če si sorojak...v prihodnje ko boš postal na mojem blogu in upvotal lastne komentarje mojega bloga pa ne (no recimo da kršiš vso možno etiketo kulturnega vedenja) te bom počastila z zastavico :)

drugače pa hvala...vrjetno si resno mislil da imam lepo urejen blog...po dejanjih ziher nebi vedla :)

ja ok pac nebom vec tvojih blogov komentiral pa ziher mi nebos ti rekla kaj bom jaz upvotal pa lep dan se naprej

pa kar klikni zastavico kaj se cakas

This is a pretty accurate list but to cheer you in the sink bed I did a drawing for you in thanks to your awesome drawing of me. I'm not sure if it is 'proper' to post the link, but oh well here it is look at it in your sickbed :) https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@donnadavisart/my-drawing-giving-back-to-atopy

Sorry to hear you're sick, but since you're online looks like your going to make it :))
For me it's the coughing - prolonged coughing fits, eeww....
The good part when I was down with the flu was that the only thing I could manage was reading... until I fell asleep, but still a lot of reading.

Yeah...this is the longest I been up (for 5h) since thursday lol. So guess im out of the worst. :) ...yeah coughing is bad...and since i never liked getting advices I feel like a hypocrite for saying this....i was a chain smoker and it showed when i got sick...swaping to vape (e-cigarets) helped for 100%. No joke. In case u ever look for alternatives.

As for reading the feever usually stops me with that...my brain gets all soggy.

You know what annoys me most when sick ? the filthy person who gave it to me !

Sorry you arent feeling well but the good news for you is you are not male. Its common scientific knowledge that sickness affects men way more :)

Loooool...i will let my sister know I am not visiting that germ infested nest unless they all ok and briming with health.

Yes, yes...even I am a true beliver when it comes to mancolds.

Feel better!

Sending you some health along the way!

I am typing right now while coughing like there is no tomorrow.

2 freaking weeks have passed and I am still sick wiht a upper respiratory tract infection . I think the virus mutated and moved in for a while.

So on my list, apart from all you said, is coughing fits that happen so random and exactly when you wish they wouldn't. And a runny nose!

Ohhhh I know that one. Had it 2 years ago. It started with throat and i ignored it....then it moved on upper respiratory yes...at the end it got so bad i couldnt ignore it no more lol. Was at home for like 2 weeks. And since I was a chain smoker it took ages to finally stop coughing. Ages. Just horrible. Hope u get better soon too!

I'm actually quite better already, gonna see what the doc says tomorrow.

I'm sick right now and oh god the blocked nose and the way the clogged sinuses makes your face and ear ache. The dripping feeling, the way that tissue after tissue makes your nose and lips chapped to oblivion. And worse, this symptom has literally made you a 'mouth-breather'.

Exactly! And then your mouth dryes off and throat hurts even more....its just annoying as hell. What I started doing is blowing my nose under the water :D I don't use tissue...so I save on the skin.

yeah I do the 'shepherds blow' in the shower.

Hi! I am following because donnadavisart made a post about you and I like you steemit blog.
What annoy me the most when I am sick is definitively when I am not able to do anything else because it takes over my head and I have fatigue.
Cheers!

Well welcome to my lil corner of the world. :)

Sorry you're sick :/ Hope you feel better soon. Personally, I hate having a stuffed nose. Just don't like not being able to breathe :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30