Adventure Reading Contest (not rly...)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In my mind I have always categorized readers in two groups. You have the type 1 reader. A sophisticated individual reading heavy philosophical subjects, while sitting in his art deco armchair and smoking his pipe. A woman covered in soft blankets enjoying her historical novel while cushioned by lovely pillows, sitting on the window sill.

1.png

I have always wanted to be type 1 reader. Sadly I am type 2.

There is nothing sophisticated with me and reading books. As mentioned before … I am a 100% sort of person. Whatever I do, I do it with full focus. I am glutton personified.

While type 1 might put down her book and reflect on what she read I am simply not capable of doing so. I usually read all my books in one sitting. At one point of my life I stayed up all night … and since the book wasn’t done I actually bought a second version of it in the morning – an audio one so I listened to it on the drive to work and to my shame at every chance during work hours too.

2.png

The question “What are you reading right now?” is in my case redundant. I get a book. I sit down. I get comfy and devour it. There is no lingering on pages or marking interesting paragraphs. There is no shopping trips in the middle or answering phone calls and if there is, it only means the book isn’t capable of holding my interest. And that is partly the reason I struggle with stories divided in posts. I will rather wait for the whole story to be posted and then inhale it in one breath.

And since I am not reading anything at the moment but feel obligated to mention at least one book … I warmly suggest anything from Ilona Andrews. I would even read her/his scribbled shopping lists with glee.

lona Andrews is the pen name of Ilona Gordon and Andrew Gordon, an American husband-and-wife duo who write urban fantasy and romantic fiction together.

If you prefer more heavy content I sadly have no suggestions. I like my books easily digestible.

So I am not the best person to enter this contest … but I do love following @therovingreader and I think her contest idea is brilliant. Can you just imagine the magnitude and awe in opening a book with such scenery? So this might not count as an entry but wanted to do it anyway and spread the word around. Look for more information how to do it properly here.

Sort:  

Type 1 for me I guess!

A sophisticated individual reading heavy philosophical subjects, while sitting in his art deco armchair and smoking his pipe.

Reading3.jpg

Thanks for telling me about the contest. I'll have to come up with something.

Hahahaha! Looks so cool! Perfect! I love it! Matches everything...even a heavy title and all....this is deffo not a book I would pick up and read...

Ha! It was the brainiest book I could find. But I guess the previous owner didn't like it either, because I found it at the dump.

i can really see myself in that insert desired swear word illustration.

if i have the book, im kinda just waiting late night to open it. and mostly finishing it under daylight, next morning. and theres no way i will fall asleep accidentally. sometimes i even forget to move my but a bit and take more comfy position :s spilled turkish coffe all over the kitchen cuz reading the book while making it, just before dawn. lot of swear words.

I once sat on the toilet for more then 30 min....was so engrosed in the pages I didnt even have time to move. lol :) I can so relate .... I never once fell asleep reading a book. Ever. I do not know how people do it.

And now ... I more or less start reading after work in hopes I'm done before bed time...there has been many work hours ruined due to my night activities. :D

lol had toilet episodes too :D

but i remember reading diaries of some dead guy from 90s, cca 6k of pages, 2 giant books, small letters, billion of footnotes...

i still dont know how i survived that. been zombie for weeks ^

Cute drawings... Just like you, just like you, I am type 2 X) My mom has found me reading in the bathroom and she always looks at me like "What the heck were you doing?". Every time I remember I read "What Comes Next" in one sitting I feel like "What a day, I could have enojoy that book in a better way"

Hahaha, this is amazing! Thanks so much for the shoutout to the contest, and even though this isn't an "official" entry it captures so much of the spirit of adventure reading. I love it dearly.

As someone who reads everywhere, I sometimes end up reading in cozy and scenic places but I'm mostly Type 2. There are more toilets than mountain tops. In fact, I just stayed up most of the night reading the Upside of Unrequited in one sitting, which I actually found out about on Steemit.

I'll definitely check out Ilona Andrews, love the idea of a husband-wife writer team!

Yeah they just have a lot of good stuff going on. I wish they would translate it to my laguage soon (wont happen) cuz id love to force their books onto my family lol. And I checked your recomendation....think im gona read that. :D

I know there was a book club on steemit but supposedly sorta died down....maybe we should rethink it and make a new one. :D

I am admittedly using this contest to gather book recommendations, haha.

I've never really been able to do book clubs - they always seem to involve reading a couple chapters at a time followed by lengthy intellectual discussion. The whole Type 2 reader thing rules that out. But maybe we could design our own less sophisticated book club!

haha. this is really funny. I identify myself as a type 1 more than a type 2. However, anything that's too Kant-sy will render me a type 2 in no time.

I have to admit it, I'm type 1. I love to sit propped on pillows holding cups of tea and staring out windows in between reading. I might be snuggled petting said cat with book face down on lap before returning to it. And I rarely read a book straight through in one go! That is actually pretty impressive. At least you can feel a sense of accomplishment about doing that! I'm just to covetous of my leisure and laziness to have a follow through like that!

Id love to be type 1. Id love to just put the book down and enjoy the moment....i feel like im rushing...though when im engrossed in the book it doesnt feel like it. I guess its like eating cake...id inhale the first piece and id enjoy the second lol.

I think I might be a bit of both types sometimes. Mostly these days I think I fall under type 1 even though I don't have an art deco arm chair, although I do smoke a pipe, haha. But when I was younger I was more of a type 2 reader, I remember once over the course of a weekend I read two books with about 500-700 pages each, they were the last two books of a trilogy and I was just completely engrossed in the story, I couldn't put the books down.

That was before I had easy access to high speed internet though. Nowadays I find it hard to give my full attention to a book and usually only end up reading when I'm on a bus for an hour or two.

I'm pretty much type 2 all the time...except when I read work material....on that I take short breaks.

When I was a teen it was even worse...back then my criteria for a good book was very low lol...so I read pretty much everything I got my hands on....I lived in a village...there was no net....I got my computer later...so it was play outside or books. :)

You lived in a village? Lucky, haha, where I lived as a kid there were two other houses, and the people living there were all old with no kids, the nearest village was about a ten or twenty minute walk away. And, yeah, I was the same way when I was younger, I used to read anything as long as it had words on a page, haha.

The drawings are cute!
I think I'm type 1, I read anywhere, anytime, at any place I can get away with. And I devour books in one sitting, then immediately start another one after, especially if it's a series.....And then I forget to do what I'm supposed to be doing...... (Bad bookworm, bad! Lol)

Those drawings are classic. Love it. I am trype 2 as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87