💥What Value Am I Bringing To The Steem Blockchain?💥

in #life6 years ago

When I was sick for a few days, it gave me the needed rest to have a good little think about life and whatnot.

But also to re-assess, what I am actually doing on this wonderful new technology and my angle on where my focus is on the steem blockchain.

And it's been a-lingering in my mind.

What value am I bringing to the blockchain?


Am I actually bringing value at all?

Is my incessant heart-splatterings of words and emotions benefiting anyone here?

Am I REALLY bringing something that is of importance to the Steemit table?


28383111_10156604913540769_582450298_n.jpg

This is me smiling and being happy! Taken by @suzanalberts

Of course, opinions will differ on this.
Some may think I do.
Some may think I don't.
And that's all alright.

It's not about what other people think.

It's about what I think.

I am the one who has to live with myself and everything I put out on here.

I've also been asking a few of my friends (hello @overkillcoin) about this.
And thankfully, they believe that I am bringing value to this place.

Which does make give me an extra boost.

But WHAT am I doing on here?
What is my purpose?
Intense and heavy ideas to have when you've just been sick and are still recuperating but hey, life doesn't wait!

I mean I am no artist
neither am I an absolutely wonderful writer who can write really indepth posts about certain topics
nor am I someone who can write deep poetry.

And it just hit me.

I am good at being me!

Or as @caitlinjohnstone posted on Twitter the other day

caitlin.png

Nobody can do what I do better than I can.

I am the Michael Jordan of being Ashley Kalila.


FUCK A DOODLE DOO! YES!!

Thanks Caitlin for the big ass reminder! You are SO damn right.

Nobody can do Ashley Kalila as good as I can.

I am the BEST at being myself.

And that is COMPLETELY what I have to bring to the blockchain.

Or to any enterprise, platform or the next thingymajig.

I have such a shitload to bring to the table AS MYSELF.

And not to toot my own horn but ya know, I gotta make a lil list of the why's and how's of who I am.

sometimes it's very good to write down what you do well and what makes you happy. Ya know, as a lil reminder

  • A great connector!
  • A deep genuine interest in people
  • Mega (harshly) honest and direct
  • Eye for good shit
  • Writing from intuition
  • The ability to flow like water
  • Unashamably me (however ugly and dark it sometimes gets)
  • Expressive as hell
  • Enjoy the small things
  • Intensely loving (especially towards myself)

Now you may be think
What the hell? Why is this chick listing down all the things she likes about herself? How selfish of her!

And I say to you
No. I need this. As a reminder of why I am here and what I can bring. And there is no shame in knowing your strengths and qualities. It is actually very powerful to know where your talent and ethics lie

These are the things that I am.

I am sure there are more but I cannot think of them atm.

Another reminder of this piece of the puzzle came from @natureofbeing (who just did a @humansofsteemit interview) when I read her answer below :

fave.png

I bow deeply to my teaching today that was brought through @natureofbeing's words.

Thank you dearest for opening my eyes to something I was forgetting to acknowledge within myself.

We need others to grow, to evolve and to make something greater than ever.
And I am good at being part of that process.
Either as a catalyst, as a firestarter and/or as a teamplayer.

And this whole post serves as one fat ass reminder to remember my gifts and how to use them.

Which is pretty simple really.

I am just organically being myself.

And that's where the key lies.

Doing the things that come naturally and finding (and creating!) the opportunities to use those talents.

And to build from there and to create a system that works for myself and not to push myself to do things that I find 'hard' or unenjoyable to do.

After all, we only live once right?

So now my question to you is :

What value are you bringing to the Steemiverse?

How are you serving yourself and others?

Where do your intentions lie?


I want to read your truth.
I want to see your soul.
I want to see who you are.

I plan on heavily upvoting the comments to this post because why not? Let's drain my SP!

BIG love,

Ashley

Steemit Ashley Kalila.png


Sharing Authentically.png

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

My personal take on this is, to let the value be solely defined by the reader.
I see no need to define value for myself, because everything I put out there has value for me anyway, otherwise I wouldn't post it - and the rest is up to the receiver of the message. Blessings! ❤️

You are amazing! I love this :) I think in life everyone goes through a stage of self discovery and hopefully we come to this reality that we are at our best when we are just ourselves :) ok, so time to answer the soul searching questions, here goes:

What value are you bringing to the Steemiverse?
Good question, I feel like I have found myself, rather than what I have given to steemit. I have found a passion that I didn't know I had (Photography), and Steemit has allowed me to be able to afford to buy better equipment to continue to develop this passion! I guess I have looked at Steemit as a way to express my photography and I try to share other great photographer's work (my resteem sunday, focus on photography project) when they are not seen by the masses. So for me I guess I have to reassess how I am using steemit and put more effort into offering more, but I am unsure as to how to go about this just yet. I will be obviously sharing my photography and perhaps I could share my learning journey as a photogaphy noob. Great question, and a tough one to answer!

How are you serving yourself and others?
I try to support people by upvoting quality content and I do a resteem sunday project, resteeming other photographer's work that I feel is undervalued or has been missed for whatever reason. As for serving myself, I guess the above answer pretty much covers this. I am using steemit to develop my skills, to pay for my newly found passion and to learn from the amazingly skilled photographer's on here.

Where do your intentions lie?
I don't really have any! haha I have just enjoyed being a part of this community and hadn't thought that deeply about it affecting people on a basal level. I think it is time to write myself a 'steemit action plan' instead of just hanging out and enjoying the blogs :)

I certainly love your photos and your eye. So often your photos are offer a slightly unusual perspective or point of view. Like the other day your photo of the forest path had these super rich red leaves in the upper right away from the main focus of the photo and this kind of thing makes me really appreciate your sensibility.

By the way, in terms of your presence here on Steemit, you do this wonderful rare thing of actually reading posts and commenting thoughtfully - I know it's easy to underestimate the value of this but I don't. This kind of thing makes all the difference here!!

Thank you so much @natureofbeing. People often comment that my photo's are a bit 'unsual' haha. I like to play around with them sometimes to make them tell a story :) Some people get it, others don't. I guess because I have never learned photography properly, I am just following my instincts. I tend to do things from the heart, whether that is my photography or responding to a post I have read. I am really glad I seem to be doing something right as I couldn't have pinpointed anything myself lol xD It is so hard to look at ones self objectively! I really appreciate your comment, thank you :)

LOVE LOVE LOVE YOUR ANSWERS!

I'd really suggest talking to other peeps that you are close with who hang out on the blockchain.
It really helps to get another perspective on things.

Great on the Steemit action plan! I'd love to read it when you've done it for yourself!

<3

Thank you for your deep comment!

Really good idea Ashley -

I'd really suggest talking to other peeps that you are close with who hang out on the blockchain.

Yes, I agree. I think talking to other more experienced steemians or social media users (I don't have a clue when it comes to social media, apart from keeping in contact with friends) would be really helpful. I only came to steemit because my bro said I would like posting pictures of my dogs! haha I haven't really thought any deeper than this up to now. I would like to though, so I am going to put this action plan down on paper and start chatting to others in discord to get some inspiration on how I can develop my blog and bring more to the steemit table! :)

I co-hosted a Podcast for about four years. From day one we did the show for own own entertainment, we took the view that if someone liked what we did they would follow us if they didn't then they wouldn't. I approach Steemit with the same method. I write what I like on subjects that interest me, I don't churn out Safe stuff that will be 'popular', a prime example is Crypto, write anything about Crypto and you're bound to pick up two or three votes minimum. For me, that's my interpretation of "Quality Posts" posts that are not Pulp Fiction.


image source

Unholy cow! I'm leaving an actual coherent comment — a rare gem, amirite?

One of the top ways I've sabotaged myself is to sit on the sidelines in life trying to "figure it all out" before jumping in. So, glad to see you're not taking that same non-approach. Being an art liaison is much needed role!

Haha, been yonks since you've managed to tie a proper sentence together ;)

Yea, thanks for the boost! You good egg.

I like giving myself a kick up the butt.
Very much needed sometimes.

Can verbally do it for you any time you want deary!

Thanks for your real comment!

Currently my intentions are to connect and interact with more and more people on steem platform by commenting and contesting in.
It's been a month for me and the journey was amazing in past 32 days,learned alot about the blogging,cryptos and in general also.
I don't know my part really built the steemit in any way or not,but it really shapes me up.

Sounds to me like you'll find your way!

Just keep on going and somehow it'll work out.

:)

Thanks for your comment!

I am good at being me!

Isn’t this the BEST we can BE?

Your presence is very strong!

BTW.....I am still sick and thinking 🤔

Thanks darling! :)

Take your time.
No rush hehe

Get better.

Your health is your wealth!

xxxx

Awesome! All my good day started are good days because I feel this way. Of course other people make me happy as well, but satisfaction with myself comes from how well I’ve embodied who I want to be. Thanks for this.

So firstly, what a wonderful post! Secondly, isn't it so serendipitous that first you inspired me in such a big way and then my words gave you what you needed to hear? I just love it when life works out so perfectly!

Thirdly, I love that you speak your appreciation for yourself with such love, honesty, pride and humility both - this is magnificent and I think all women need to do this. Probably all men too, and maybe even more so - this is good for humans!!! You are a gem and in addition to what I said before and what you've said I want to add that you are passionate, clever and resourceful as hell!

I count myself lucky to know you and to be your friend xo

Awesome post, and excellent questions.

What value are you bringing to the Steemiverse?
I am an experienced writer and an experienced human, and I bring both of those. I write about my areas of expertise, and about stuff that just demands to be written about. I'm also working on another project, to be revealed soonish.

How are you serving yourself and others?
I'm helping out on several discord servers. I somehow found myself a mod on 3 of those. and I'm not sure how that happened. I also pop into the PALnet help channel and try and help out sometimes. I'm hopefully providing good feedback to people here, and also upvotes.

I'm serving myself by getting to know cool people, learn new things, and hopefully make myself a part of something big.

Where do your intentions lie?
Make money (that is the promise that got me here, after all), meet cool people, express myself, build my stake.

Articles like what you wrote on top Steemit witnesses ought to have settled any questions about whether you bring value to the platform long ago. I may be a newbie but even I can tell you're one of the best posters to follow, because you share the most human insights into what goes on in this complicated, fresh community.

If self-doubts are a useful part of your personal process, then I don't want to scold you for having them. If all they do is plague you, however, then I urge you to drop them like a radioactive potato. Your contributions are valued immensely! Just look above and below this comment at how many others are chiming in about loving what you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54917.96
ETH 2851.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21