Two Birds, But the Stone Only Gets Thrown at One

in #life7 years ago (edited)

chapter.png

Why is the dog embraced while the man is spat upon?

A mangled, mangy mutt looks at you from the shaded doorway as you leave the bakery. Mud encrusted, fleas eating the flesh around his eyes and nose, ribs so sunken you can lay a finger in between each. You stop and pull a roll from your purchases, sad in the heart because the shredded collar around his neck indicates he was once loved as a puppy. Then someone may have hit him for having an accident on the rug. Eventually they drove him out, abandoning him in the street.

Your heart hurts.

The local rescues come about and round him up. Feed him, bathe him, and treat his many wounds, tearful from the scars that never should have been. He is treated with tender, soft kindness and gentle words and hands. Eventually he will open his heart for his new owner.

A mangled, weary man looks at you from the shaded doorway as you leave the bakery. His hollowed eyes beg for a leftover as he holds a crumpled cup in a gnarled, mud caked hand. You cannot make eye contact, fearful the pain in his eyes is contagious. You instinctively clutch your bag securely, stepping faster. He casts his eyes downward, in full realization of his place in this world. He briefly remembers he was once loved. He was once a respected member in society. A tear works its way down his sunburned cheek, to disappear into his ragged, dusty beard.

Your heart hardens. He should get a job.

The local police come about and round him up. Talking down to him and kicking him only a little bit for good measure. He shuffles his tired feet down the hard sidewalk, ever fearful of the thrown items and degrading words he has waiting for him today. He feels the scars that never should have been with each step. He will never open his heart again. His heart is no longer.

animated-dividing-line-image-0147

Follow @ArbitraryKitten for more

Reflections as I near 1500 Followers and my Steemitversary

August 21 TOTAL Eclipse of the Sun, What you need to know

What is a Rescue Home?

The Cosmetic Industry is Killing you. Plus natural eyeliner that improves your eyesight

WARNING: Crypto Scam Alert

The Pinocchio Paradox

Mt Si

Where is the Man in the Mirror?

Please Upvote and Resteem

animated-dividing-line-image-0259

I appreciate your support ♡

Sort:  

From my personal experience, living here in the Philippines;

Poor people are more generous, since they know what it is like, to have nothing.

I am also ashamed to admit, that I feel more contrite when I see a suffering animal>human.

_Rob

I have noticed that to be true also- probably the case across the board.

The rich poor divide...

Oh my- good share.

Terribly and profoundly accurate.

I think the reason we gravitate towards helping the dog is because of its innocence. Dogs might have been abandoned not by choice but man creates his/her problems frequently...not all but a lot do. Some become homeless due to bad decisions they made in life. People are afraid of homeless because they don't know if the person is crazy and may attack them or for other legitimate reasons. With that being said, good point you are making and I do realize there are exceptions. Upvoted

This is an excerpt from my advocacy ❤

Seriously, you rock.

My heart warms from your kind compliment, thank you so much hun

Wow, powerfully written!

Totally true about the poor being more generous @rcarter
Great post Kitten.
I looked after so many dogs when I lived in Thailand I literally had my own pack! Their loyalty to me was unbelievable. They would walk my Mrs home and if anyone went near her, well they showed there disapproval let's day that.
Some were beyond help and it it used to break my heart when I saw puppies suffering.
Nice work.

I have noticed that pets who were abused or abandoned tend to be fiercely loyal when they find a good human.

Powerful post. I don't know what else to say...it's one of those moments when there's nothing else to say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37