The Pinocchio Paradox

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Geppetto's little wooden creation come to life, Pinocchio, would cause a paradox if he said "My nose will grow now".

As Disney explains to us, Pinocchio's nose grows when he tells a lie.

If he were to say 'my nose will grow now' and his nose does grow, that would mean he wasn't lying. But if he wasn't lying his nose would not grow. But at that point his statement would be a lie so his nose would grow... But then it would not be a lie so his nose would not grow, and on and on and on...

So in reality his nose would have to grow in order to make his statement not a lie, but it cannot grow otherwise it would not be a lie.

'My nose will grow now' is the only statement Pinocchio can say to cause a paradox.

This logic was discovered in 2001 by 11 year old Veronique Eldridge-Smith.

Creative title and headline contest, win $!

How to make natural eyeliner, with photos!

Where is the Man in the Mirror?

I appreciate your support :) Follow @ArbitraryKitten!

Please Upvote and Resteem!

Sort:  

Either way there are some valuable life lessons in the Pinocchio story.

So true!

I just like that rat-kid island.

Upvoted, followed, and resteemed. Thanks for this. I had to read it a second time, and I still don't really understand it. That is precisely why it is a paradox. My mind doesn't like it! But you know what it made me think of?

Maybe sometimes we just need to accept things for what they are and not analyze them too much. Kind of like how when the scientist Copernicus (I think it was him) discovered that the earth is not the centre of the universe, but the sun is. In the same way we are not the centre of even maybe even our, world.

Have a great day and keep doing cool posts OK?

I like where you're going with this... Just live your life and be happy and take it as it is :)

I will keep posting as long as you keep reading and enjoying ;)

Why would I not?

Many times our minds are in the way you know what I mean? Gotta find a way to get our minds (and ourselves) out of the way!!!

Any suggestions?

Ah, the Ego is a tricks bugger!

I taught English to Buddhist monk and nun orphaned refugees and learned QiGong and meditation. That is the only way I know how to remove ego. .

Interesting!!! Let me get this right...You taught a monk? or you taught refugees that were orphaned because their parents were monks and nuns? Great post, this is why I like Steemit! Have a spectacular day!

They were mini monks and nuns :) Refugee, orphaned children raised to be big monks and nuns

Thanks :)

OK what did you teach them?

English, computer skills, tech skills. Basically Western stuff we do on autopilot. They believe we are the cutting edge, and wish for their orphans to have a chance by keeping up with the Americans.

Hhaahahaha this is so true - kids are amazing little creatures some times

Lol, yes they are :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.90
ETH 3519.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38