Just a Building? - my thoughts on observation and action

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180108_163138441-smmmmm.png

I was on my way to a meeting. I passed by this amazing building. I walked by - very much in thoughts about this and that - then I noticed something. Stopped and had to look twice.

I asked a person, that was sitting on a bench at the small square, right in front of this architectural gem.

"Sir can you tell me what building this is? Do you know anything about it?"

"This is just a building." The older man on the bench answered.

Just a building? It seems that this person not really noticed the beauty of it. Maybe he lives in the neighbourhood. Maybe he was walking by regularly. Maybe he got used to the view, in a way.

I had to think about his answer.

I am a designer and artist. I observe different. My focus is different. Maybe the man on the bench was not interested in architecture at all. I mean, that's o.k. of course. Everybody is different.

Yesterday, I saw the video of @kennyneken about Leonardo Da Vinci's Sensazione.

It is about learning and observing. Kenny explained how important it is to observe closely - with all our senses - Sensazione. I think this is important and I remind myself to be aware of this often. https://steemit.com/life/@kennynneken/leonardodavincissensazioneandmemory-z3kf0izd5d

When we observe closer with all our senses, what IS around us, we can much more feel it, think about it and eventually act.

When it comes to our loved ones or to the support of people who are in need ... I think this is something we should consider as well. I think we should observe closely, what is around us and be aware.

If wanted and needed, offer a helping hand to the ones who are in need, in our neighbourhood, in our city, in our country, in the world.

How can we act, if we do not observe ... with all our senses ?

IMG_20180108_163146306-sm.png

More information on this building: It is called Balluta Buidings, overlooking Balluta Bay in St. Juliens, Malta. It was build in 1928 for the Maquis John Scicluna. It is a fine example of Art Nouveau architecture in Malta.
More about the Balluta Buildings can be found here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balluta_Buildings

IMG_20180108_163138441-1-sm.png

Photography & Life of @anuty

footer-anutu-2a.png

Logo - 300px - The Welcome Wagon.png

@welcomewagon - Welcome Wagon logo designed by the amazing @penderis

Sort:  

Hi @anutu, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or the post of someone you think needs more notice.

Thank you so much @shadowspub @steemitramble !

This conversation with the man on the bench rang a bell for me and reminded me, to even observe closer, what is happening around me.

This was always important for me, but that moment, I learned, that I could lose this awareness someday...

inspiration comes from amazing places at times

so true @shadowspub

when I less expected it ... it just was there

Absolutely beautiful building! and I love that you not only supported your fellow WW graduate - but you were inspired and even gave a nod to his post!

Nice job! I'm sure @kennynneken feels honored for that!

As far as the older man - isn't it sad? It makes you wonder if he was always like that? Or if life sunk its teeth into him and drained him of his interest in the beauty around him.

hmmmm may we never become like that, my friend <3

Yes @dreemsteem I thought it is very sad. I mean the older man on the bench. I feel or think he was not always like that. I think we have to remind us frequently to observe daily what happens around us. Then full of love and thankfulness walk through the world to see what was prepared for us on our path of life. Finally having acceptance for what happens to us.

<3

Thank you so much again !!!
xx

This post has received a 100% upvote from @strongtower courtesy of your WW family member @andysantics48. Hope you enjoy the extra love!

Thank you very much @strongtower <3

Outstanding! Lovely style you have.

Outstanding! Lovely style you have.

Thank you so much ... this means a lot to me cause your style of writing is so beautiful os unbelievable good ... wow ... so impressed of your writings

You changed your pic! I like this very much.
Honored to have a supporter like you.

Yes I did, thank you so much!
I am honored to have your support. <3

Hello @anutu, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for upvoting @creativecrypto,

your feedback motivates me a lot to carry on and put love and passion into my writing. Thank you so much for the support!

Thank you very much @leomarylm!!

It is a beatiful building and you did well capturing it in photos! I appreciate the lesson of "observing closely — with all our senses — Sensazione"  Bravo! 😊

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you very much @thekittygirl! Love the sticker <3 ! Never saw it before actually, so cool!

I made that sticker and sometimes use it when I comment on PYPT attendees' posts. You are welcome to use it, too, if you wish! 🙂

I would love to use it when I comment on PYPT posts, too. Thank you very much, so cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33