Leonardo Da Vinci's Sensazione and Memory

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Have you ever observed a flower or a tree and just enjoyed the colors? The sensations we feel as humans are some of the greatest miracles of our lives and the world around us. To fully enjoy the sensations of the world around you, developing your senses fully is something you must do. Leonardo Da Vinci knew this well and it was extremely important to him and his learning process. This is the first video where I start talking about the seven principles of Leonardo Da Vinci, and how they relate to memory training.

A popular saying goes like 'if you don't use it, you lose it' and the saying is true for the sensations around you. My goal is to help develop your senses and experience the world in a richer way through memory and mental training. There's a lot to discuss and research on this topic, so as time goes on there will be a lot more content coming your way. I want to start slowly building a story and journey about the importance of whole brain thinking and what we can learn from the greatest minds of history. Leonardo Da Vinci is just one of many genius level minds that have lived, and there's a lot we can learn from all of them.

Leonardo Da Vinci's sensazione


Take a few seconds to observe the pictures below and tell me what colors you see. Before continuing on to the next paragraph do this really quickly and then come back here. Now I want you to look at the picture again, but try to notice the different shades of color. Notice how they make you feel, and what other sensations you might feel. How many shades of color are in a scene like this in nature? Ponder on this questions for a few seconds, and go back to the picture to observe it again if you need to. The answer is that there's a nearly infinite number of colors, shades, and feelings that your senses can observe.

daylight, forest, glossy

Leonardo Da Vinci's principle of sensazione is the idea that you should constantly be strengthening all your senses. In this post and video I mainly focus on the sense of sight and color, but all other senses are equally as important as well. Next time you go to a bakery or smell a fresh bouquet of roses, take a few extra seconds to really enjoy the smell or taste. While doing this also take notice of any other sensations you feel when observing the colors, smells, sounds. Maybe these other sensations involve other senses, for example when you see the color red, it might sound loud to you, or it might feel hot. By observing these sensations and exercising your senses you strengthen the neural connections in your brain, and you help to induce what's called synesthesia.

Sensazione and your memory


The memory training systems and techniques that we teach are based upon the idea of whole brain learning. In this process all of your senses are extremely important. The more you can practice fine tuning your senses, the stronger your memory and brain will become. However, even if you don't specifically train your senses before memory training, your senses still grow stronger. This was especially true for my sense of sight and color in my case.

Sensazione helps to strengthen the neural connections between all of your senses. Most people think we only have five senses, but in reality there are many more. For example, I take the sensation you feel when you navigate through a location in your memory as a type of sensation. To exercise this you could imagine how exploring a location or place feels to you, maybe it reminds you of a color or smell, and also what it might sound like in your mind.

 

http://boydesign.net/creativity/da-vincian-principle-3-sensazione


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://davincimind.net/2018/08/19/leonardo-da-vincis-sensazione-and-memory/

Join our mailing list to stay updated with the latest memory training techniques and systems!
Join Now
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kennyaronsonn/
Website: http://www.davincimind.net
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KennyAronson
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/davincimindsystem

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your explanation on Sensazione. Enjoyed it a lot. I think observing closely might be one of the most important key techniques for learning and for inspiration.

So funny. I just wrote an article about inspiration. While I was listening to you, I thought that all you said is also about inspiration. For me as a designer and artist inspiration is so vital. As vital as learning !

Thank you so much for your video!

Thank you for the feedback I appreciate it truly! I think inspiration can be found all around us in the world! Thank you for taking the time to watch my video and make art for the world to see!

Hmmmmm... you got me thinking.

Yes it is very much important to embrace and bring back the goodness of our senses. In this busy world, sometimes we forget the small things that matters. Just like when you said to look at the nature image and come back to you of what i see and feel.

as i look at it, i suddenly feel calm. I wanted badly to touch the waters. How cold it would feel but i wont mind

True enough! We dont need to go too far to find inspiration. Its just right there in front of you, waiting to be noticed. I quoted in my last post about the sky, where one can find console just by looking up.

The nature, the world is our oyster. We can run to it anytime. There was one time where I thought no one cared, i just wanted to go away. As i began walking, the rain fall suddenly. I did not run or look for some cover. I just cried right there and then. I felt that the sky was with me hugging me. And when everything subside, i felt a little better.. hahaha omg! I talked too much already! Sorry!

PS.
I loooooooooove your accent! I think im gonna watch your video again! Hahahaha 😂😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much I appreciate the feedback! :) and thank you I don't hear that too often hahaha

Its true! I love hearing you talk.. so dont mind me lurking and stalking you.. haha

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi @kennynneken, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or the post of someone you think needs more notice.

Thank you very much for the inclusion I appreciate it! :)

I am about to watch the video - but I already LOVED the post on it. Fascinating to imagine strengthening our neural connections in the same way that we would exercise a muscle!
It's funny - I was just thinking about how that picture made me feel and immediately the image burst back into my mind hehehehe

very cool - going to watch the video now! excited to see some of the changes that you've made (already seeing a change in location!)

video - update...

loved it! eye contact!
outside!
and i even loved the shirt (even though @tamala loves white shirts hehehehe)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81