What does empath mean?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The concept of being an empath is a biggie to digest. Thirty years ago when I first had a spiritual initiative/healer tell me that I was an empath I recall feeling puzzled. Quietly wondering what this really meant I just accepted her words quietly at the time. Intriguing. Little did I realise that a journey of discovery was to unfold.

There was a bit of head start for me as I had an inkling of an idea that an empath was akin to sensitivity. It was very normal for me to feel the happiness and sadness of others, letting it go is no easy task. Seeing individuals cry as they tell their sad stories brought tears to my eyes. It made me wonder if this happened with my professional colleagues when working parents, teachers and children. I was absolutely sure that many of them did. I was also sure that there must be a lot of sensitive people in the community. For many years I have been told that I am too sensitive and not to get upset so easily. The words have never been reassuring nor helpful. My sensitivity continued regardless.

A number of questions fuelled my researching, questions like: "Does compassion and care for others make one an empath? Is being sensitive to feelings a characteristic of empaths.? How can one stop taking on feelings and stress of others?"

My search has been a slow long term one over a number of years, learning bits here and there when the opportunity presented itself. Fitting in time with home and work life to read and talk with spiritual teachers/healers has not been an easy task. It did not matter, I was in no particular hurry, because I know that everything is shown at the right time. In the last couple of years my work with the intuition move called PGS Is Your Personal Guidance System has led me to a Dr Judith Orloff, a Psychiatrist, writer and empath. I have also learned over the years that like minded individuals appear at the right time in one's life.

Dr Judith Orloff's book The Empath's Survival Guidehas been an eye opener. Even before I started to read the chapters I was taken with the quote at the front of the book by His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama.

Our innate capacity for empathy is the source of the most precious of all human qualities.

Rather than give the great teaching points and helpful suggestions in The Empath's Survival Guide I am writing some of Dr Orloff's words. Her words immediately mades sense, I knew I was reading the right book for me.

"Though there is a spectrum of sensitivity that exists in human beings, empaths are emotional sponges who absorb both the stress and joy of the world. We feel everything, often to the extreme, and have little guard up between others and ourselves. As a result, we are often overwhelmed by excessive stimulation and are prone to exhaustion and sensory overload."

"Empaths have an extremely reactive neurological system. We don't have the same filters that other do to block out stimulation. As a consequence we absorb into our own bodies both the positive and stressful energies around us."

"Research shows that high sensitivity affects approximately 20 percent of the population, though the degree of one's sensitivity can vary."

"When we are in crowded places, the energy fields of others overlap with ours. I pick up all of this intense sensations about I had absolutely no idea what they were or how to interpret them. I just felt anxious and tired in crowds. And most of all I wanted to escape."
[ These quotes are from Chapter 1 - ARE YOU AN EMPATH? Introduction to Empathy]

Dr Judith Orloff's book gave me the insight to learn where I was on the continuum of empathy, there are empaths who have many more sensitive issues than I have. It is indeed a highly recommended book for anyone who is highly sensitive and is looking for help, answers and support.

Her book is available on kindle.

Give me the wide open spaces in Mother Nature. Walking is so grounding and energising


Cheers


Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

howdy there angimitchell! hey that lady's book sounds fascinating to me, what issues are you sensitive to?

I take on people's emotions which adds up in the long run and causes big stress in the body. I also do not like to be in really crowded places. And of course there are more little things. But I think there are a lot of others like me.

howdy angiemitchell! a lot of others like me..that sounds like mutants or something! lol. Well, I understand..how do you get rid of that stress that builds up?

This is the next post janton and hopefully there are some good suggestions that will prove to be useful to anyone is highly sensitive and or an empath.

ok that sounds good angimichell..what percentage of the population do you reckon are empaths?

Dr Orloff says 20 percent but I think there are many more that have characteristics or who are extra sensitive. A good way to explain is to think of a continuum that goes from a little bit empath to full blown empath. I will try and be as clear as possible janton. Sometimes difficult with such a complex topic.

howdy again angiemitchell ... yes I understand so you are going to explain it in simple terms? lol.

Try to! It is too much for only one more post, lol

I have posted a couple of blogs about struggling with empathy too! Nice to read someone else's account and also i had never heard of that book! Added to my wish list! Thank- You :)

Good morning and thank you for your comments. I will check out your blog to read your post on empathy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62