Want to be more productive? Then try the Pomodoro Technique!

in #life6 years ago

Are you constantly switching your browser tabs to check on your social media accounts while at work?

Do you tend to lose focus easily while working on something and instead waste your time watching some Youtube clips online?

Do you often think there's never enough time to get all your work done in a day and because of that, you procrastinate even more because you feel hopeless?

(Oh God, I sound like a salesman right now about to introduce some lousy product...)

Well, allow me to introduce to you...

(Drumrolls sound effect in the background)

The Pomodoro technique!

What is it you say?

The Pomodoro technique. This is a time-management method invented in the early 1900's by Francesco Cirillo during his university days when he was looking for ways to get more things done in less time.

tomato

Pomodoro basically means tomato in Italian. Cirillo named it as such based on the tomato-shaped kitchen timer that he used when he was studying in a university.

Well, how does it work?

The Pomodoro technique is a method of using a timer with a duration of 25 minutes (also called a Pomodoro session) to time one's self when doing a task. For every session, a short break of 5 to 10 minutes will follow, repeating the process until the task is finished. This technique encourages people to be more time-conscious and to focus on the task at hand without any distractions.

Basically, it runs like this:

1.) Choose a task to accomplish

2.) Set a timer for 25 minutes

3.) Work on your task with no distractions until the timer hits zero

4.) Take a short break for 5 to 10 minutes

4.) Repeat steps 1 to 4 until you accomplish your task. Please note that for every 4 Pomodoro session, it is advisable to take one longer break (15 to 25 minutes will do)

It's super easy to do right? I've been using the Pomodoro technique for a while now and I gotta say, it has helped me become more productive with my work.

Why does it work?

Using this technique is very effective because of the way it allows you to budget your time (you only have 25 minutes per Pomodoro session) and to work on your tasks with full focus and concentration.

focus

Note that it is better to turn off all distractions when doing a session (e.g. activate silent mode on your phone, close your social media apps, etc.) in order to maximize the efficacy of this method.

The short and long breaks are there to allow time to recharge and refresh one's self in order not to overstress and burn out.

Take a short walk outside.

Drink some water and grab a snack.

Go stretch yourself out for a bit.

Watch a short video on Youtube.

This is your free time to do what you want. And when your break is up, you continue on with your task by doing another Pomodoro session until it's done.

Where can I find a Pomodoro timer?

There are lots of free apps and websites to choose from but I personally use the web app since I usually do most of my work on my laptop. Heck it's so easy and convenient to use even my grandma could do it (God rest her soul by the way). Below are just some of the free apps available to choose from:

Conclusion

Before, whenever I have work to do, I usually do it in one go. Rarely do I get up from my seat to take a break. In the long run, I got overwhelmed with stress and from time to time, I get burned out too. I underestimated and neglected my body's need to stand up and take breaks especially when doing long hours of work and I suffered from it.

Now, I am wiser with my approach to work and I implement the Pomodoro technique whenever I can. I'm actually in my 5th Pomodoro session now writing this post and I'm about to wrap this one up. But first let me leave you with some questions:

Are you currently using the Pomodoro technique when it comes to doing your work? If so, how many Pomodoros can you finish in a day?

And for those who haven't tried this method yet, do check this one out because it will definitely help with your productivity.

I would love to hear from you. Please leave a comment below.

If you find this piece useful, don't forget to upvote and resteem.

Follow me @andywong31

Image source:
All images courtesy of Pixabay

Sort:  

Totally awesome. I once read about this topic but never really understood.... Andywong! You are the best man!

Hehe thanks for the compliment buddy! Glad you like it! 😊

I will try the Pomodoro technique out but I doubt it will be soon because my children won't allow me to be focus. I find this post useful. Thanks.

@seyiodus.

If you ever get the chance to do it, tell me what you think of it seyiodus.. hehe ☺

Cool! This is so informative, hope my 22 cents helped.

By the way, I see this post as a great help. Please check on @utopian-io, and try to do a quick scan on it. It is an open-source project rewarding contributors.

thank you so much jassen! yeah il defo check it out! i see you're a filipino too! thanks for dropping by bro.. :)

I've used this technique in the past. If you are mentally strong enough to power through those short breaks, it works. Unfortunately for me, those 5 minute breaks often turned into 60 minutes breaks.

hehe yeah it takes a lot of willpower and discipline to pull this out by the way.. its not as easy as it seem in terms of discipline-wise..

Really good read! Will be trying this today. I noticed when I was younger my attention would be around 30-50minutes. Now its just around 15minutes. :P

i read that as we grow older our attention span gets lower.. i dont know if thats true or not..

interesting information i m going to try this technique

thanks for dropping by.. appreciate it :)

this post has been researched... Well done.

thank you. appreciate it.. :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Thank you @andywong31, going to try this method, I tend to get distracted some days and waste so much time flitting from one task to another :)

haha you try it out and tell me what you think.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34