How I made Bank Selling My School's WiFi Password

in #life8 years ago (edited)

How I Made Bank Selling My School's WiFi Password

I have been selling things for as long as I can remember. In the second grade I learned to make paper airplanes and fortune tellers. One day during a snow storm in indoor recess, one of the kids in my class saw me make a paper plane. He wanted one also and I offered him one for a quarter. From that day on I loved to sell things. In fourth grade I sold modified pens that shot air soft BB's and in the fifth grade I helped a friend to sell bubble gum. For a school fundraiser we had to sell scented pencils and I sold over forty. 

How the business partnership began...

It was my Sophomore year of High School and I was low on cash. One day while walking through the gym locker room I overheard a conversation between two kids. One of them had the school WiFi password. The network was locked and students never had cell reception in the building. I instantly realized that there was an opportunity to make money here. Someone had to capitalize on it. I approached the kid with the password and he was reluctant to give it to me. I explained to him my plan however, and he eventually agreed to 'start a business venture' with me. When he gave me the password I was pretty disappointed in the lack of security on the network. 

Creating the system...

We soon came up with a system where we would connect a device to the wireless network for $5 and we would type in the password so that no one else would gain access to the valuable information. The device would be passed from my friend to me and I would connect it. He would say that he "knows someone". If the phone had a name like "John Doe's iPhone", we would change the device name to make it blend in. Business was  booming as 'The WiFi Guys' became more popular via word of mouth. Everything ran smoothly until the service became too popular. My business partner and I had started connecting friends to the network for lunch money or as a favor but we never dreamed of the market for our service. After just a couple of days, it was time to disappear. 

Getting out of the business...

Once our profits had been made and business was at its peak it was time to stop. A rumor was started that the password had changed and that no one else could join the network. For a few weeks the buzz died down, until one day there was an announcement that starting the next year, WiFi would be accessible to all students.

Thanks for reading, there will be more stories about my life to come. Feedback is appreciated!

--Aaron

Sort:  

Hello aaronburt, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave.

More about Robin Hood Whale

Nice One - Keep on Steeming!

Thanks! I checked out the @robinhoodwhale idea and it looks cool

Welcome to Steemit. I'm happy to see that your post was recognised by @robinhoodwhale. Well done telling this story.

Thanks alot! I'm trying to write stories and interesting posts on the daily

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51