Like She Does

in #lgbt6 years ago

This is a poem about love and loss and revenge and the death of souls. Why do we act and react the way we do when someone leaves us? Pain and fear. The pain is immediate. Someone doesn't love us anymore. We are unloveable. The fear floods in next. We will never be loved again. We will die alone. In this poem the heroine acts out in response to being left alone after a tempestuous relationship. She's her own downfall. She could have been happy with her new lover had she not occupied her mind with getting revenge on the one that left her.

It also speaks of the difference in relationships. We crave the rush of falling in love. We crave the highs that new love brings. But it can't last. Our hormones will regulate and if we don't have stability and compatibility underneath our love is doomed to fail. If we stop chasing that dragon, euphoric love, and learn to be comfortable in the stable, mid-range love we can build better, longer lasting relationships.

This is LIKE SHE DOES:

It’s once in a lifetime
That someone comes along
Who can wreck your whole world
And leave you wanting more

Every moment you spend
Gets you higher and higher
And you seem to forget
Whatever came before

Until it all comes crashing down

You’ll never love me like she does
You’ll never treat me as well
She’ll never leave me like you did
Tortured and broken on the ground

But I can’t stop thinking of you
Of those moments of bliss
In all the chaos and mess
I can’t stop thinking of you
And all the passion I felt
I’ll never feel that again.

She’s safe and secure
She always answers the phone
And when I’m lying with her
I never feel alone

She never gets me high
But she never gets me low
And I can’t help but want
What I had before

And then it all comes crashing down

I’ll never love her like you did
I’ll never treat her as well
You’d never leave her like I did
Tortured and broken on the ground

But I can’t stop thinking of you
Of those moments of bliss
In all the chaos and mess
I can’t stop thinking of you
And all the passion I felt
I’ll never feel that again

I’ll never feel that again

Sort:  

I feel like you have a lot of potential to write and post quality content and it would be a shame to make it in vain. Follow me and i will follow u back in order to get more popular and fore more people to view our posts! thanks! Anyone who sees this can do the same, i refollow anyone. We're small but we can grow together!

Brilliantly written and so sadly true for so many of us <3

My love life crash and burned a few months ago and I was feeling hopeless, but somehow your poem made me realize I shouldn't pin myself down and I need to keep fighting! Great words and phrases and sentences and poem!

I'm so glad you could relate! It gets better, don't worry :)

this is a beautiful piece

Thank you so much for reading my work. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

This is powerful. I totally can relate to the intensity and torture but excitement that can come with a relationship. In my case, the tumult was due to our lesbian love.

I loved this line:

It’s once in a lifetime
That someone comes along
Who can wreck your whole world
And leave you wanting more

So a unique pain to hold, because in a weird way you wouldn’t trade the chaos.

Following!

Unique, but many people have experienced it. We get comfortable in this type of relationship, but the cycle can be broken when we become self aware and learn to love ourselves. I hope you find the long lasting, stable kind of love you and all of us deserve!

sad and wonderfully written.
x

Found you via @ancapbarbie <3 Amazing stuff.

Thanks for reading. I'm glad you like it! And thank you to @ancapbarbie!

Thank you for writing a beautiful poem. I featured it in my new weekly curation: https://steemit.com/lgbt/@ancapbarbie/the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly-lgbt-edition-week-1

But I didn't want to spoil it and an excerpt wouldn't have done it justice.

What a great idea! I'm new here, still finding my way around. But I'll keep an eye out for your posts. I'm always looking for quality lgbt content myself.

If you're on Discord, we have a LGBT+ server. You can access it by clicking on the SteemPride flag. It will require you to read through and acknowledge the rules (because unfortunately we are forced to have some that should be obvious) before a Moderator grants full access.

steem-pride.jpg

this is so powerful and so relatable as well. im also a lgbt writer and poet and i often touch on similar subjects - of frustrating love and the relationship of unreciprocated love. all my poems are about girls loving girls - all the blissfully wonderful and disastrously saddening aspects of it

Thanks, I'll be sure and check out your work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70