Pride - In the Name Of Love

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 15.44.52.png

In the name of love
What more in the name of love?


- U2

For years, I lived my life, and my little brother couldn't live his.
Well, he could, but as far as the state was concerned? He couldn't.
Early mornin' 17 May, and that all changed!

He and my new brother-in-law to be, were now legally able to marry.
And you know what? That filled me, with pride.

ironpagebreak.png

My State. Recognizing that ALL were created equal.

In the name of love
What more in the name of love?

ironpagebreak.png

thealliance_468x60.jpg

bluefinstudios_red.png

Sort:  

<3 This fills me with love and hope <3
Although it's ironic that as a gay man, I always wanted same-sex marriage to be legal, then it passed and I'm like, now what? I still have no fiancé or husband! ahahahah

welcome to the world of everybody dude.

Soon, grandmother's the world over will will be pestering young gay men at Thanksgiving Dinner and asking "Well, have you met any cute young man, yet?"

Well, I have lost all my grandparents by 17, so that won't be happening to me either. Actually you made me realise, until I was 18 or 19 relatives would be asking if I have a girlfriend etc., but ever since coming out to everyone (5 to 7 years ago), I haven't been asked about boyfriends. Not complaining honestly, I got rid of the annoying awkwardness!

So?

Do you have any boyfriends?

[now, you can't say no one asked!]

Awhh! The people at buddyup (especially @dreemsteem and @monchichi) ask and take lots of interest in my life :3 They're like godmothers!

On the 17th of April 2013 Same sex marriage became legal in New Zealand!! It was a wonderful day for a huge amount of people :)

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

I love hearing about your relationship with your brother and I know how much this must have filled your heart with love and joy. Thanks for coming to the show at the last second too :)

Right?
He and I are best of friends. Have been forever!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Heyja! You've got a upvote from @PRP-LGBT, the Curation & Magazine Account for content like yours! That's just beautiful, good luck for your brother! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65