My LGBTQ+ Soapbox: Why I want a 500 SP Delegation to be a Steemit Curator

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

I’ve only been active on Steemit for a couple weeks now, but what an inspiring time it has been! After several days of poking around, I took the leap and launched my Introduce Yourself post (because who doesn’t want to be a cryptomillionaire?). It was challenging to consolidate my life into a few, substantial paragraphs, while trying to be confident in the insecurity that I’m “newly” queer, having only come out two and a half years ago.

IMG_2481 (1).JPGPhoto Credit: @introspector

Expectations v. Reality

I half hoped that my post would be met with fierce “yasss”-es, upvotes and glitter, because that’s the go hard I expect from us, for us. But gut check: I didn’t hit the lottery (silly minnow me). I received more love and encouragement than I could have ever anticipated, but the response still felt like crickets in the night.

So I continued on seeking out others, and have come across friends and allies alike but still, the silence resounded something deeper: When Steemit Roll Call is conducted, LGBT is the wee voice behind the sea of groups faintly shouting “here.”

Since coming to realize how under represented LGBT narratives are on the platform, my wife @introspector can testify that I have not stepped down from my soapbox about how we can collaborate to change this. I’m up late and early on Steemit and Discord because I’ve been immersed(obsessed?) in my effort to get connected with you all – to celebrate us.

The LGBTQ+ Curation Guild

The purpose of curation is to source, preserve and add value to content. However, one of the greatest challenges faced by Steemit developers continues to be retention of early starters, who bring the freshest content to the platform. Low payouts discourage even the most prolific bloggers, so they walk away and invest their talent where they feel it can be more symbiotically beneficial. With around 55,000 active users and several thousand new accounts onboarding every day, it’s devastating to think LGBT minnows might fall through the proverbial cracks.

This initiative @sykochica has set forth will support the LGBT community in a number of brilliant ways. My vision and work as a curator will be to ensure that the narratives of the LGBT community on Steemit are recognized and accepted, so that they can be used as the building blocks to contributing more in-depth content. My hope is that we do not become isolated, because after all, we are just people. We can offer so much insight into race and gender relations, dating and marriage, sex and family, and so much more. But these dialogues must include non-queer audiences and be built on the fundamental belief that we are dynamic beings that desire these things in a healthy way.

IMG_4876.jpg
Photo Credit: Max Cooper Photography

In a broader sense, @sykochica’s SP delegation allows the highest quality LGBT content to be distributed amongst multiple accounts on the blockchain, as opposed to being primarily contained to one. When influence is centralized, it is susceptible to forming a one-dimensional voice as every author and curator holds a bias. By exchanging the SP delegation periodically, more aspiring curators and LGBTQ+ audiences will be reached and supported. There is strength in dispersion – it’s the fundamental anarchist belief behind our abandonment of fiat for cryptocurrency. Transparency > privacy. Down with centralization.

I am excited for the opportunity to grow in the art of curation and in many ways, my behavior on this platform will not change. I will keep talking my friends’ ears off about joining Steemit. I’ll still be creeping on everyone’s feed, reading and rambling in the replies. I’ll just be giving you that extra upvote boost that kept this minnow going out the gate.

I look forward to curating your content, educating on the use of the platform and trailblazing the way. I hope to make you proud and the path straight as I strive to make our voice heard, loud and clear.



IMG_0146.jpgPhoto Credit: @introspector

Love and Steem On, Tida

Sort:  

Beautiful post my love 💗 Can’t wait to see all you will contribute to this platform. Best of luck!

That excellent, really here it is necessary curators of the LGBTQ + community for us authors to feel read, supported in some way or another as there are times when we want to say something and does not usually reach many people by X or Y.

Congratulations for your curatorship and good that it is the first door of many opportunities here in steemit. Greetings.

Wow, your message really arrives. It is necessary that our community grow and cease to be a minority left in the dark screams of Steemit. I wish you the best of luck and I support you in your projects, you can count on me

Thanks, @josegarm. I’m excited for the chance to curate and support this space more. I’ll be popping over to check out your page. Glad you’re here!

Brilliant!! I could not have connected with you more, we share this vision, these grandiose thoughts of unity and joy. I'm so excited your alive and here on earth at the same time as me!! 100% you have my vote, I'm not one to get "giddy" very often but my girlfriend can attest that I am actively giddy after reading this amazing post. So stoked right now💜!!!🦄🦄🦄🦄

I'm so glad you connected with this. I tend to have very high-sounding ideas and concepts, and then heavily rely on my wife to support the details :-) I love having you as an ally and tend to think of us as a little duo at times. I feel like I'm always on your heels on other posts lol.

Well were both the same kinda crazy :-). I'm right on the same wavelength lol, its nice to have a team starting to form and really claim this area of Steemit, S has been doing it herself for way too long lol :-).

I do the same thing LMAO!! But I have a excuse as a Mistress I'm always looking for things to challenge my subs so I volunteer myself to a crazy degree then have the two of them help me get it done:-) but they know me by now lol so there ready for it LMAO! I'm thinking that this is going to be an amazing new year on Steemit 🦄💜🦄💜🦄💜🦄💜

I’m so excited for what this year has in store too!!!! Is your partner on Steemit? If not, we need to hear from your other half soon!

One is starting to learn about it, she should be on next weekish then my other is still undecided but almost ready i think lol, im so jazzed about it there excited to lol, but for sure i will link you there intro when they are on🖤🦄👑😁

Oh for real two? You were serious 😁 some of us are just blessed and greedy aren’t we? 😂

Tehe! Well it's less blessed and more that im an amazing Mistress...;-) Also I am Poly so its more than two blush I just have two subs. I am a little greedy but I share so that evens it out right? I forgot allot of my sex math from college ;-)

What a charmed life you lead lol

My dear betterbeing. I have had similar feelings and that is why when we built teamgirlpowas guidelines i insisted that lgbtq nb persons were respected. I have been quiet about my sexuality journey. I wasnt as quiet about being a feminist as i feel more confident in that identity but i still mostly do art n make jokes. In discord im more serious. #womenspeakout and teamgirlpowa members challenge me to grow so.. maybe i will talk more about it. Idk. Lol. Eithe way!!! I agree you would be a good fit for this! I will try to get ginabot in tgp so you can get uptodate notifications ;) be forewarned some .. ahem coughassholescough misuse the tags to bash us. Free soeech reigns but now is the time fo us to fill thos tags with love and upvote the chit out of em

I didn’t know you were queer 😏 I’m glad you feel comfortable to share that. I think sexuality is on a spectrum and we can evolve and slide the scale either way we want, when we want. That’s been incredibly liberating for me to understand.

And yeah I’ve come across some real bs under the tag. I’m not one to down vote - well, I will in the heat of the moment - but I rather drown them out, too! I’m glad to have connected with you ❤️❤️❤️

Im boo hiss bisexual lol.

Bahaha we’ll be catching up on Discord 😆

Transparency > Privacy

I love that!
Eloquent yet intelligent post from the heart. Best of luck. I haven’t read all the entries yet (nesdnto go back to the original post) but I’d imagine you’ll be given honest consideration. Keep at it!

Thanks, I’m flattered 😊 Definitely read the other entries and support. I love that we are all so different, so we can all bring so much. I’m hopeful but regardless of the outcome this was a good reflection and my heart is full ❤️

Yeah the dearth of LGBT people and content here has gotten me down even though I too was buoyed by @sykochica really investing in it. She's doing really great work but we need more queer presence.

I've been a little inactive the last few days since also joining a couple weeks ago and yes part of it is work being super busy but also a lack of content than interests me in general. Of course a stronger diversity of participants would help that. I have been trying really hard to engage, comment, chat etc but when I'm not finding anything I'm passionate about it feels forced and that is definitely contributing to losing passion for this whole Steemit thing.

So I hope this community continues to grow and more people like you are recruited and interest kept. I'm certainly going to try as long as I find likeminded folks. Thanks for fighting the good fight.

Im so bummed for you. I try to reach out to everyone. We are making an lgbtq room in teamgirlpowa idk if that helps

I’m sorry to hear it’s been a ehhh experience so far. I agree - we need more diversity of thought, even in the LGBT space.

And you’re right, it’s hard to feign interest when your heart just isn’t there. I hope you stay, even if it’s only checking in a few times a week. It’s easy to get burnt out bc there is so much to digest and do constantly. Take it at your own pace, and periodically meander over to the trending and see if anything peaks your fancy. Thanks for your feedback 🤗

I suspect there are quite a few LGBT+ people here but that many are simply blogging about other topics. At any rate, it would be interesting to see more of that sort of content, and while I mainly write scientific content or fiction, I have been toying with the idea of a couple of 'queer science' articles. I'll be keeping an eye on your blog ;)

Welcome! (From another gay lady who was 'late to the party' ;))

Pleaseeee bring on the queer fiction! I’m going to be exploring the library tonight to find some queer fiction finds!

And you’re right - I know more LGBT people are active but may not be directly collaborated with the community. I’m not pushy but I hope more people contribute under the tag, even if rare occasionally. And the content doesn’t need to scream rainbows - balance is great!

Thanks for your great feedback and I’m glad you’re here!

@holothewise please bring us 'queer science'!! I always love your science writing, I'm very excited about this idea.

An incredibly erudite post! So succinct and with great depth! Impressive. Rooting for you and welcoming you to steemit. I hope you get the delegation - I can tell you’d be great for it in boosting the LGBT community 💙

Erudite, I like that 🤨 Thanks for the kinds words and support. I’m sooooo glad I’ve found my way here - thanks for the welcome :D

By the way @mountainjewel, are you a fan of the Divergent Book/Movie Series? My wife is obsessed with them and thinks herself to be in the likes of the Dauntless Faction.

never met them before!! just a quick google search and woah! looks cool! i appreciate elevated distopian fantasy (not too far off of our real reality i believe!). i'll have to get my hands on that! have ya'll read or heard of The Fifth Sacred Thing by Starhawk? <3

also, i'm holding a contest for minnows to win a @qurator membership (which gives you a vote each day for life). i'm paying for the membership and then there are no more fees, ever. here's the link. an inventation to enter! feel free to share. details within:

https://steemit.com/contest/@mountainjewel/qurator-membership-contest-for-2-minnows

@betterbeing asked for my feedback and review, so here it is. Since I am on a short break from work, it will be brief. All of your writing is very encouraging for all audiences. I like that you don't expect everyone to share your views and beliefs, yet you are bravely sharing your testimony on how you came to where you are. Bravo. I think there will be a nurturing audience here for people who might need it. Sometimes it feels like nobody understands me in my daily life, yet in the #steemisphere there are tons of people who get where I am coming from. I think you are discovering this too.

@creativetruth I can’t put my finger on where we encountered one another initially either but I’m glad we have crossed paths.

I would agree, I’ve gathered strength from connecting with likeminded people here. I often feel like people don’t get where I’m coming from, but something that has been great all around is that we ALL have a love for cryptocurrency ☺️ So we know we have something in common to start, which is comforting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74