Isle of Steem: Release v0.001 - PLAY THE SHITTY STEEM RPG NOW!

in #letsmakeagame6 years ago

Thank you to everyone who dropped by my post yesterday, where I announced that I would be making a shitty, shitty, and terrible RPG based on Steem. Last night, I streamed for three hours, struggling through making basic quests, dialogue, and play testing while fixing bugs.

Today, I've uploaded the beginnings of the project on GitHub, for those that want to play what I've created so far. Progress on future updates might be slower, owing to the fact that I have a full time job.

How do I play what you've made so far?

  1. Go to: http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/download/additional/run-time-packages
  2. Select RPG Maker VX Ace
  3. Install this on your computer
    3a. Go to the GitHub Repository for Isle of Steem
  4. Download the entire folder of the version which you wish to play. Currently, the latest version is v0.001
  5. Put this somewhere on your computer.
  6. Run Game.Exe to play
  7. Controls:

    Use the arrow keys on your keyboard to move. Enter interacts with opbjects within the world. Escape brings up the menu.

    Disclaimer

    This game remains in pre-pre-pre-pre-Alpha state, and is in ongoing development.

    Found a bug?

    Let me know in the comments, or report on issue on GitHub!

    What happens next?

    I work on the RoadMap, and the ideas that sit under the projects tab. I've got plenty to keep me busy, especially in terms of NPC creation.

    I mean, just look at this!

    Keep an eye out, I will be streaming more development activities today!

Sort:  

Ah good ol RPG Maker, the easy way to make JRPG's :D
I have MV and got a few things done including some events. While not everyone likes RPG Maker games, it's cool to use and you can make something enjoyable. I might have to check this out since I got VX too.

Not while you're Path of Exile racing! :P

You don't need to own any software for anyone to play it, the Run Time Packages are freely downloadable.

Haha yeah... I have it downloaded ready for Tuesday and can help with finding bugs, still two days of power leveling and trying not to die :P

Downloaded the things, I'll see how I go getting it to work if/when I get a spare moment (unless you make another release in the meantime in which case I'll have to work with that one which given how things are going around here will probably happen XD)

The more I look at the Upgoat Graphic, the more I want to make it a boss that you have to beat (I can change it to red) before it joins you (becomes blue) :P

Will I be permitted some creative licence here?

Sounds like fun XD I might have to draw a downgoat sometime lol (hasn't occurred to me to do so yet as I don't downvote much)

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your UA account score is currently 4.771 which ranks you at #1312 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has risen 8 places in the last three days (Your UA has improved by 0.000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 204 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@holoz0r Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.95
ETH 3382.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51