I Built an Office Building With Over 11,000 Lego PiecessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #lego8 years ago

Lego Digital Designer used to be my favorite way to spend free moments of time, before I found Steemit!

I built this office building a few years ago. It is my completely original design.
Since LDD does not allow you to build "underground", I could not make the footings or subterranean parking structure. I had to start at street level. I spared no detail. I included traffic lights, decorative street lamps, ornamental trees, mail drop boxes, corner trash receptacles, a parking ramp entrance with gates, bicycle racks, and a covered entryway with decorative "pavement."

Once my structure was complete at street level, I was able to start going up.

Although I built this model in a virtual form, is was no easier than building it with actual ABS plastic Lego pieces. I still had to choose each piece with the mouse cursor, then drag and drop it into position. I did this over 11,000 times. The exact number of pieces is counted by the LDD program. Unfortunately, my PC that had the program crashed. Luckily I had saved these images on a separate hard drive.

Reluctantly, I spared interior details like floors, elevators, stairwells, mechanical systems, and offices. I did this because once a model is finished, there is no way to open it up to show the interior details. The structural columns and beams that would keep this building standing are all meticulously arranged, however.

Complete model.

Again, the LDD program records the number of pieces used, the dimensions of your project, and what it would cost if you ordered it as a package to build a physical, tangible replica. I recall growing weary of building this project. While I wanted to go much taller, I was losing patience. I remember the program indicating there were over 11,000 pieces in my building, so I finished the top floors and called it complete.

Thank you for allowing me to share this project with you! If you enjoyed it, you may also like my Guided Missile Destroyer that I posted here on Steemit!


https://steemit.com/legos/@countryinspired/lego-digital-designer-is-awesome

Sort:  

This is cool! I love Legos, but I have never heard of LDD until reading your post. So much easier than storing 11,000 pieces in the closet, attic, basement, etc. I'm glad you included the program's limitations here, too. Good to know ;)

Next part is to furnish it. Good luck

Been busy again eh? lol. You made Curie in case you didn't see it!!

I didn't notice that. Cool! Thanks for pointing that out!

Hi Friend
I have given you upvote, Give me upvote on my post
https://steemit.com/introduction/@janseena/intro-to-me-i-am-new-on-steemit
If you want to become my friend then follow me, I will follow you back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69253.24
ETH 2750.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74