learn'n'earn, week #22

in #learnandearn5 years ago

I an learning like a snail does: slooooowly, but constantly. My current "knowledge income" mainly all about the steem -- same as my recent activity. well, I had some skill-up in the images processing field, as well, but thats my nonstop progress, probably hard to describe, as its all about nuances...

eph0weqyz7.jpg

Many thanks to @matkodurko, who have initiated this nice contest, and to @brittandjosie, who didnt let it go down! check for more details here.

  1. friend's helping hand is precious - thanks to @biti, I became aware of @esteem app existance, which provides an opportunity to earn 0.4 per post (thats not a typo! exactly 0.4, not a 0.004). they said, if you think everything goes well, probably theres something you are not noticing, hehe. so, up to the moment: everything runs smoothly...

  2. here you will lol at me, thats ok: I had a long quest for the 're-steem' button. there really, really were the posts I wanted to have on my blog. but I havent'seen the damn button, neither in the upper bar, nor at the bottom... I even came up with a theeory I might be getting access to it at some higher level.. I had a friends' help - a screenshot, where that button was clearly located. my browser (I use chrome) displayed some sort of rubbish in the cerain place. but at least I was in the know what direction I have to look, and - no actions from me - some time passed, and prodigal button have returned to its place! 'learn & earn' is my first re-steem.

  3. very soon I became aware, that as I grow, steem not only delegates SP to me, but vigilantly takes them back!! knowledge is perhaps, this knowledge is kinda useless... but imagine how stunning it was!!!

  4. now I know that every image contains a haiku in itself. my 1st heiku was born in a fraction of a second, while I was looking at this mizu-no-oto post by @bananafish. (and it is my 2nd re-steem, for a reason!)

  5. if you feed a hi-res pic to the steem, and then try to open it in a new tab, you are getting its copy, downscaled to 640pixels. which is sadly. (I cant create a clickable images in my posts yet). so, this: if you change in browser's address line the numbers from "640" to "3000", you will be provided original hi-res, instead of a downslace copy. not a great shiny knowledge, but a nice little bit.
    PS. same trick sometimes works with the sites that are using content management systems. to download image in the maximum available size, add "?format = 3000w" at the end of the address bar after .jpg (w for width here). and voyla! works like a charm.

  6. Personally, I quite enjoy having some metadata in the picture files. I found out (prertty quickly!) that Steam erases all EXIF-data from the photos you upload there (weku does not do that). "it is not a bug, its a feature". (c) moreover, I was said that many users purposely use to clean metadata from their pictures (but you cannot clean your karma, oh no!). "keeping privacy" is not the only reason for this.
    It turns out there is online service (services) that can decipher metadata from the image. This data are used to do sort of "reverse engineering": they help to understand all the adjustments/manipulations the pic was applied to get its current presentation. I was extremely surprised and didnt believe its possible, but it is. There is a nuance: the service is available only for images processed in Lightroom. The thing is, that Lightroom software saves some data (about the said adjustments/manipulations) in a special format, that can be deciphered and re-used. I.e. its like stealing somebody's know-hows of image processing... Ok, did this knowledge benefits me? no!! I love metadata in pictures and not going to give them up. And, repeating other people's pimage processing is the least thing I am urged to do, hehe. But - knowledge is a power.
    Here is a quote about this service for the ones who may need it.... "Pixel Peeper model, lens used, focal length, aperture, shutter speed, time of the shot, Flash use, location etc. Along with the EXIF data file format called XMP (Extensible Metadata Platform)". ok, mystery solved!

  7. Now I am in the know about such a mushroom as crown-tipped-coral -- it is edible and it can phosphoresce. Also, a very nice touch: the info came to me almost simultaneously from two people - this is what I call triangulation!! or even fate... now I have one more dream on my list: find it, take a picture and eat it!
    the linky links: ( one ) ( two ). have a pleasure, check it.


the image used for this is my original photo (c)
the copybook is fresh and original, too. happily its not mine, hehe

Sort:  

Yes this is what i mean, real things learned , explained in a blog and with the copybook photo art too. Love that i am the first resteem thats very Nice and highly appreciated. The metadata in picture files i didnt know but if i look at the copy its ok onscreen.
I do always have problems with dtube, maybe its the same with video’s as it is with pictures. @bananafish i havent visited in a long time should do that ( note to sel !, )

I dont know if you left a link to the contest onthe blog from last sunday but do i Judge from there. And thank you for your entry,
See you next week hopefully and toninght the new blog is up
Britt

Congratulations @qwerrie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

congrats on winning the contest also :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by qwerrie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29