Do you hate rules and fixed processes? If you stick to them it will make your company so much better (honestly ;-)).

in #lean7 years ago

If you have read any of my previous post, you would think I love rules, processes and systems. You would think that my drive is cleaning and organising (https://steemit.com/management/@hefziba/what-drives-you-in-your-work-and-what-drives-others-understanding-this-will-help-you-work-better-with-colleagues). In fact it is totally the opposite, I utterly hate rules and anything to do with bureaucracy. It is in fact right in my allergy. Actually, I'm am a very flexible person, I prefer bending rules, I will look at problem and want to solve it from many directions, I'm a creative thinker, I like to make something, get results and work together with people. Rules and processes always seemed so boring and and just hold you back.

Right?

Wrong.

For all you process and rules haters, I get you, I understand. It seems like you are not creating anything. It seems like making documents for the sake of documents is just bloody bureaucracy. But even creative people need a process, otherwise nothing would be created. The best brainstorm sessions have processes, book writers have processes, you yourself have created processes without realising it, they are usually habits (either good or bad). You just might not realise it.

But after years of experience as a (project) manager, I have learned the hard way. What we don't control becomes clutter, occupying brain space, real space (fysical), and can block creativity. Clutter blocks creating value in your company. Documents are made and processes are formed, wether you like it or not, they will grow exponentially while your company progresses. If there aren't any rules these processes and documents will be created organically. Sometimes this can be beautiful processes, but usually they are messy, not thought out, and nobody owns the process if anything goes wrong. In addition I wish you good luck finding the documents and the latest versions you need when there is a crises.

So do yourself a favour, take some time and build a system up front, a process you are happy with. Changing the organically grown processes will costs you double the time, money and energy. Remember that perfection isn't possible, but lean and adequate will bring you a long way.

If you have any questions, I’m happy to help.

images 2.png

If you like what I write, I would very much like to be considered for your upvote and a re-steem.

Sort:  

After translating the contents of your post into my language, you are a person who does not want to be curbed and bound by rules. I like it very much because I also do not like to be included in the work affairs so I do not like and do not want to work under the orders or pressure of others. Good luck and always succes for u @hefziba.

Best Regards...

good post. thanks for sharing.

Thank you. If you have any questions or suggestions please tell me. I’m happy to help.

i still hate processes, processes should be automated .... left to machines , man is not a machine ... lol :)

Indeed, I like to see robots doing this process work, and while they are at it, clean my house, and cook dinner. I hate the repentetence of processes. Still, it’s a nessessary evil, or the best we can do at the moment. Maybe one day......

Yes, but it is good to make some rules or there will be chaos.

This post has received a 6.94% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Thank you so much for this. I don't know how I got to your post (I'm in a steemit rabbithole right now...), but I think this is great advice for anyone who wants more productive, achieving personal life as well.

I have the perfect person to show this to...

Thank you. Maybe you have advice how I can tag my post better. If it takes to be in steemit rabbit hole I sure need some help :-)

I was in a rabbit hole because I'm new at Steemit, and I was just exploring! No fault of yours:) I think you can have one more tag, since Steemit allows 5 max. :D Hope it helps.

Well Im glad you stoppen by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51