Something to think about for community leaders and someone to admire for their wisdom...

in #leadership7 years ago (edited)

Hey Again, Steemitizens,

I recently departed a role in a community leadership team which some of you are aware of and some of you aren't. I am not going to elaborate on that now, but in light of that, this quote crossed my desk while reading an article on Forbes.com earlier this evening and it caught my attention.

I just want to stash it into the eternal memory of the block chain. It's a lesson I see many needing to learn. A lesson I have experienced in organizations throughout my 35 year career and seen failed many a time by those above and around me I have called superiors and peers.

So, here is some wisdom from one of the most successful leaders on the Forbes list of 100.

Meet Martine Rothblatt.

Martine founded SiriusXM, a religion and a biotech and that was just getting warmed up.

Probably not a perfect human herself, all the time, but definitely self-aware and quite capable at the skill I myself have made a large portion of my career studying and performing. Martine is known as a top leader and exemplary role model for the fine arts of team building and organizational management. Crafts which many attempt to perform but at which only a few will ever really excel.

Hopefully all the right minds will see these words and embrace this quote from Ms. Rothblatt.


(source: linkedin)


(source: twitter)

I've heard this quote many times before, and other variations, especially about the "walking around" bit, where you really have to have your boots on the ground in an organization.

So remember kids, before you try this all at home...

You cannot manage anything from the top down. You must begin by understanding it from the ground up.

Or else you will end up tore up from the floor up.

Also, as I have said since I first arrived here and took a role helping to build the largest community in the steem ecosystem from it's infancy into the large scale group it is today which I have now departed because not everyone could embrace this wisdom there holistically and take it to heart, to put it to work...

Teemwork makes the steem dreem work!

And just like that, this post is over!

Yours in service,
@SirCork
Steem Witness #89


Believe in me and my values and principles also?

Well, I'm a witness (presently #89, thank you voters!) who believes in steem, steemit and YOU!

Vote for me, @SirCork, as witness to show your support.

Witnesses I support:

@anarcho-andrei, @clayop, @dragosroua, @drakos, @followbtcnews ( co-witness partner with @crimsonclad ), @good-karma, @gtg, @jesta, @timcliff, @lukestokes.mhth, @neoxian, @netuoso, @pharesim, @reggaemuffin, @roelandp, @rycharde, @someguy123, @steemed, @swelker101, @teamsteem, @thecryptodrive, @blueorgy, @theprophet0, @themarkymark, @sc-steemit

Think you deserve to be on this list too?

Earn my vote. Tell me why!

Be sure to learn what witnesses are and vote here!

All Steemitzens should be choosing their preferred representatives to make reliable, positive, growth oriented steemit.com and steem network decisions for us!

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-10-11-17

You have received a Whaleshare Token upvote (@officialfuzzy) thanks to @akrid.

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

I saw that, and it brought me to my knees, so nice of you guys. Thank you!

Of course man, well deserved.

Teemwork makes the Steem Dream work

Your friend and brother like,
Rougebot [2D2]

All my brotherly love is yours. My metallic botnik brotha!

Hi @sircork, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic response so that I may respond to your mention later.

On c'mon blue! :) We talked about this! Fix the thing, brotha!

Hey, I didn't know you were a witness. You got my vote. ^_^

Why thank you! It's always good to have a pegasus on your side!

😁

How do you vote for someone?

Go here.
If the person for whom you want to vote isn't in that top 50 list, scroll down to the box below it (where it says: "If you would like to vote for a witness outside of the top 50, enter the account name below to cast a vote.") and put the steemit name of the witness you want to vote for in that box.
Click VOTE.
Done. ^_^

Easy peasy. OK

This post has received a 2.75 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @sircork. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I like this quote. The last sentence kind of caught me by surprise. But it makes sense. When you walk you can't worry that much or think about stuff you can't control. It is good therapy. I just thought of something, what if there is an electromagnetic pulse attack or some servers get wiped out by a hurricane, will that remove stuff from the blockchain?

Theoretically it's possible if ALL of them got hit, but all servers on the block chain maintain a complete copy of the whole thing and there are hundreds of them worldwide, so in theory, only one need survive. However if that happens? Your blog is the last thing you'll be worried about, and your crypto may be on a short list of priorities that might have to wait a bit for recovery if possible. You will likely have 3 days to live or find means of survival in the event of a widespread event like a war scale EMP that obliterates enough of the block chain to raise this concern, so don't sweat it.

Yeah that is true we will have to find fresh water fast.

EMP will not affect natural water sources, but I hope you have more than a microwave to cook in.

I just voted for you sircork...

Please accept my gratitude in return, and I will do my best to serve to the requisite expectations for the good of the future of the blockchain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57372.40
ETH 2456.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41