I've Joined the LBRY Network

in #lbry7 years ago (edited)

As of today, you can now find my videos on LBRY. I've been looking for an alternative to YouTube for a while now, and when I heard about LBRY, I thought it sounded like a great option.

I'll continue publishing on YouTube since it will give me a bigger audience and allow for more embed options, but I'll also be putting my content onto the LBRY blockchain.

As of this moment, I've only published the English and Spanish versions of the first episode of my STEEMIT EXPLAINED! webseries. But I plan to upload all of my original content.

What is LBRY?

I imagine there are many here who have never heard of LBRY. Or maybe you've heard of it, but don't understand it. Let me give you a brief rundown:

We don't live in a post-scarcity world. Maybe we never will. All resources are in limited supply with the exception of digital assets. Blockchain applications like Steemit and Synerio attempt to address this new reality by rewarding creators and curators without demanding any purchase or investment. It's a new and elegant solution.

LBRY, a blockchain-based video service, is also an answer to the post-scarcity digital world. From their website:

 LBRY is the first digital marketplace to be controlled by the market’s participants rather than a corporation or other 3rd-party. It is the most open, fair, and efficient marketplace for digital goods ever created, with an incentive design encouraging it to become the most complete. 

The LBRY team seeks to create a fair and user-controlled distribution network. Their network is different from other media websites in 3 ways:

  1. Coupled payment and access. A user can choose to charge a fee to view his/her content.
  2. Decentralized and distributed. Content is not stored on a centralized server, it's distributed across the network.
  3. Community controlled. No one other than the publisher can remove content from the blockchain. This prevents the kind of censorship that's becoming a big problem on sites like Facebook and YouTube.

Rewards and payments are made using LBRY Credits (LBC). At the time of writing, the LBC token is worth about 0.000145 BTC. That's close to 50 cents USD. Users can access LBC rewards through adoption programs. For instance, you're rewarded for your first stream, first publication, creating a channel, etc. 

My 2 LBC...

I prefer using the attention economy to reward content, like how Steemit works. I don't want to start publishing videos on LBC that charge a fee to view. Paywalls of any kind discourage viewership. The platform itself also leaves much to be desired. But it's still a work in progress. I'm sure it will get better over time!

I would love to see a video platform similar to Steemit, maybe even built on the Steem blockchain. I don't the LBRY is perfect, but it's a step in the right direction!

Find my videos on LBRY under the channel SikeAndMeth.

~Seth


Sort:  

My buddy just mentioned this to me the other day. Seems like a good idea. I foresee this type of application and many others ALL on the Steem BC at some point. The infrastructure is already here and the member/user base is increasing daily. I see an uphill battle for all these new platforms that solve a 'single' issue when Steemit already exists to fulfill it all.

Look no further than DTUBE -
https://steemit.com/video/@heimindanger/introducing-dtube-a-decentralized-video-platform-using-steem-and-ipfs

I posted a video that didn't quite upload right, but I'm excited about this bad boy! :)

https://steemit.com/dtube/@oddnugget/qgkah7dz

It's a pretty impressive feat, considering a single coder put it together on their own in 4 months.

I was waiting for view.ly but they'll need to pick up the pace haha.

Way ahead of you my friend ;)

Awesome haha

I love the idea of LBRY. Sadly I cannot access it for two months now. The clienbt is just crushing with every single version before I even get a peek at it. So I gave up on it.

They have a long way to go.

Why don't you want to purchase a video? I am a professional online course creator and i will certainly not invest 8 months work for one course to give it for free away.

I never said I don't want to purchase a video. But it's a known fact that any price, even as little as 1 cent creates a huge drop in user interraction. People would rather have things free.

That's why I would rather see a video platform build on Steem. It's the best of both words: users get content for free and creators still get paid.

That is exactly what View.ly does. Can't wait for it to open its doors.

I haven't heard of that one. I should check it out!

Yeah it is pretty new and so far you can only upload videos but not create an account. But they seem to work hard on the project and I hope it will come out this year already. Sounds like a marvelous idea. MAybe you also want to check out @steemdevelopers who create a learning platform for students and educators based on Steem.

YouTube nowadays is full of errors, full of kids making videos for kids and good content is undervalued day after day. LBRY is a really interesting option I think. Good luck :)

LBC is going to moon, triangle ending soon
see my profile for technical analysis on LBC

I'll take a look at it.

This sounds awesome. Is there any way to earn LBC without a paywall? Did I miss some information in your post? I know a few content creators who might be interested in such a platform.

Also as an aside, do you know if Synereo is a usable platform right now, or are they just looking for early signups?

I'm pretty new to it, but other than the occasional rewards you might be able to claim for completing tasks, the answer is no. You only earn LBC by charging for your content. At least that's how I understand it. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Ok thanks! I'm sure they will still enjoy a widened audience. (some of the creators I know don't have ads on channel anyways, so it's not like a loss)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60