Dovercourt Lighthouse | Entry for LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE CONTEST WEEK #001

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Dovercourt Lighthouse



Dovercourt.jpg Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


CategorySeascape Minimalist
Settings15 sec | f/16 | ISO 200 | 40mm
CameraOlympus OMD EM1 Mark 2
LensOlympus 12-40mm F/2.8 Pro
LocationDovercourt, Essex, UK

This shot took me two visits, a 90 mile drive from home, so a 360 mile total round journey.

My first visit was made early morning to get there for dawn and at my arrival the tide was out and the Lighthouse was not in water, you could walk out to it without getting your feet too wet. I did wait for the tide to come in and thought I had what I needed. On closer inspection when I got home I found the light was poor as the sun was almost behind my subject, making it a little bit like a silhouette. I thought I'd be able to lift it in editing but doing that revealed too much noise and too much definition was lost.

EDIT: The above is not quite correct, on my first visit the tide was in but I did have the difficulty of silhouetting. On my arrival for my second visit the tide was out, but I arrived about midday to give me plenty of time to prepare for later when the tide and light was right for the shot. My old man memory of it all was muddled, but the EXIF data in Lightroom corrected that.

Armed with knowledge from my first visit I took a little care in planning my second visit. I checked up on tide times and knew that the light would be coming from behind me and to the right come evening time. So I timed my visit to coincide with the tide being in, the weather forecast looked good, even though it was a bitterly cold day in February, everything was set, so back I went.

I took inspiration for this shot from a photographer called Neil Burnell. Here's a link, to one of his Galleries on his website, he made me fall in love with minimalist monochrome photography. If you're like this kind of thing his work is well worth a look, I think it's stunning.

Thanks for reading

Richee

Website https://www.richeewilson.com/
Instagram

Sort:  

Lovely photography @richee lighting and composition on subject really stands out in monochrome, well done.

Thank you

Love the shot and especially the mood here!

You're welcome! :)

love the tone and lights play in the picture ,,, Awesome shot

Thank you

Very nice, loneliness showing pic

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=richee
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dovercourt-lighthouse-or-entry-for-landscape-seascape-contest-week-001


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @richee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh yes. Happy I clicked on the link from your other light house post. Both very nice photo's, what a great object for photographing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41