Climb - Landscapephotography + Giveaway

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Facing down towards the car park, climbing Uluru for #landscapephotography.


DSC_0545b.jpg
Click on the image to view in full screen.


Giveaway

Prize #1 - 2 x Steem Basic Income share.
Prize #2 - 1 x Steem Basic Income share.
Name(s) will be chosen randomly by my script, and prizes will given in the order chosen. Results will be left as a reply to this post after seven days.

Rules:
  • Comment a reply directly to this post within 7 days. A genuine (family friendly) comment responding to the theme / prompt is required.
  • Posted or Commented 5 or more times during the week this post is active.
  • Not be on @cheetah's blacklist.

Prompt / Theme: Climb - Share a highlight of a recent hiking trip, if you have been on one, or from a recent walk in town.


Categorylandscapephotography
Camera ~ LensNikon D3400 DSLR ~ 18-55 mm
LocationUluṟu-Kata Tjuṯa National Park, Northen Territory, Australia


Thanks for having a look :)

If you liked this photo follow @kiokizz for more.

Sort:  

I'm in a new town - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I live 30 minutes out of the city center, in a vibrant, multi-cultural neighborhood. I've been here a couple of weeks now and will stay six months or longer.

Every time I step outside my door is a new experience. I am not familiar with the location, the food, the customs, the transport, the clothing, the language, or anything else. As an old white lady alone, I stand out like a sore thumb.

I watch people's faces have a little moment of shock when they see me. This is right before they give me a big smile of welcome as we pass each other. Often I am stopped to find out why I am here, what I am doing, and if I need help. When I tell them I work on the internet, and I live here now, they can't believe it, and welcome me even more.

I walk at night most nights. I like to go out after dark and wander around no matter where I am, and this place is fantastic for my endeavor. This past Friday night was a recent highlight. People were gathered in various odd locations, burning things that may or may not have been incense, offerings, or possibly prayers. I saw sticks being burned and papers; and people fanning the flames and smoke.

When I say odd locations, I mean that they were in the medians of the road, the corners of buildings, and in the back of stores. I passed very close to some of them squatting over their fires, and people looked up at me to smile.

Do they burn things here every Friday night? Was this a special night? Do they only burn at night? I have no idea and maybe I never will. But the next night the ashes were still there, and tonight they are mostly gone.

Thanks for sharing your story :) The world is quite diverse.

Went on a roadtrip down the west coast of america last year. Myself and 4 friends. After three nights in vegas we spent the next two days hiking the rocky mountains and camped on the slopes of big Sur. It was a surreal experience but a totally different landscape to your photo. We took one trail up to this beautiful waterfall that created a rainbow in the mists and have to say that it was spectacular.

Congratulations @niallon11 on winning Prize #1 - 2 x Steem Basic Income share. Please allow several days for SBI to process your shares.


Thanks for that, really appreciate it.

Your welcome :) I look forward to your future responses.

Sounds like you had a variety of fun on your trip :)
I haven't walked to a waterfall in a while. Definitely a different environment to this though.

It was an amazing trip. we spent 3 weeks driving the west coast and hitting all the main spots along the way. I can't go into the full details but good fun was had by all.

Congratulations on winning this contest!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @kenny-crane. I saw that you had a great entry as well, so congrats.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have always walked a lot, but now with @actifit incentivizing me, I walk even more! I usually just walk the streets of my community. But sometimes I go across the street and enter the 200 acre undeveloped park over there, for some hiking. There are bike trails and walking trails. There are flat parts and hilly parts. There are streams and 2 lakes. I see deer and squirrels and I hear wood peckers. It's a great place for a hike! Nothing like climbing Uluru though. I'm glad you got to visit such a cool landmark. :)

👍

How close do you live to this park? I need to start track some more steps with @actifit. It doesn't seem to stay open in the background as well recently. Have you noticed a changed?

I can go out my front door and be walking in the park in 3 minutes! @actifit is working well for me. if I need both hands then I will put it into aggressive tracking mode and put it in my pocket or sock. But if I can have my phone in my hand then I just leave the app on and I don't go to my lock screen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your definitely in a nice position :) Keep up the steps.

Posted using Partiko Android

hey @kiokizz,
please download the latest version and let us know if you still face issues with it
Join us on Discord

I've got it running fine now. Ill let you know if I have any issues :) Thanks

it's really because of this that we created Actifit. So happy to read those words :) :)

Congratulations @kenny-crane on winning Prize #2 - 1 x Steem Basic Income share. Please allow several days for SBI to process your shares.


Wow that's great news! Thank you so much! 👍😀

Posted using Partiko Android

:) Seeyou for the next one 👍

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-21T04:00:30
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2285.78/3200.00
Total Photos: 180
Total comments: 149
Total contest wins: 25
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Never been to Uluru, but I know for sure you can create some amazing landscape photography there!

It sure offers some nice view :)

Congratulations @kiokizz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Man, who does not like hikes. Even though I prefer bike rides, it is always great when you can enjoy the landscape and nature and try not to think of the problems and life ...just enjoy

Congratulations @kiokizz! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

test comment (outside of entry time) - checking validation of entry

ContestEligibility.html:239 (8) ["photocontests3 has 27+ activities during time frame", "bjornb has 66+ activities during time frame", "steemitboard has 0+ activities during time frame", "niallon11 has 102+ activities during time frame", "psyceratopsb has 63+ activities during time frame", "steemitboard has 0+ activities during time frame", "kenny-crane has 39+ activities during time frame", "fitinfun has 111+ activities during time frame"]
20:24:54.664 ContestEligibility.html:259 The winners are: Raffle winners:
niallon11
kenny-crane

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50