Oh, How Times Change (Poetry)

in #kudospoetry6 years ago (edited)

Oh, How Times Change

Your body nailing me against the wall;
heaved breaths trickling down my neck
as nails dig their way through skin.

Oh, how times change.

You nail my heart to our front door,
watch my blood trickling under your feet
whilst you dig my grave with cutting words.

heartbreak.png

Image Source: Pixabay

The above poem is an entry to the Kudos Short Poem Contest. The poem has to be 50 words or less, and the contest ends tomorrow. I appreciate the quick feedback that @whack.science from @buddyup has provided on this piece, before submission.


Welcome to the Sombre Days


My poetry collection, Welcome to the Sombre Days, is published as paperback on Amazon and ebook on Kindle. I am also posting the poems on steemit; here are some of the latest poems:

Latest Poems

Ghost
Debris
Skin to Skin


lgbtbanner7.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Beautiful and nice your post

Great stuff Jeremy. It's so hard to create memorable poems when you're working consciously with such a limited word count. The inversion and reflection of this piece (both thematically and literally, with the line breaks) work wonders in structuring your poetic statement. It just feels so complete!

Thank you so much for the feedback! I worked on this piece for hours upon hours until it felt right. I am glad that it came across and worked out just how I planned it out :)

The effort shows - looking forward to reading more.

This is so good!! I really felt the emotion of it! Good luck with the contest :)

Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57