GE Optima 1.5T: An MRI-Inspired Poem

in #kudospoetry6 years ago

GE Optima 1.5T


My body protrudes
from your wedged pillar
of magnetic power.

Your motor pulses
as you probe
my knee, propped
painfully.

Probing, pulsing, popping.

Your rhythms provoke
a migraine's pounding.

The twenty minute procedure
feels horribly prolonged.

Just finish, please!
Before I puke.

Image by OpenIcons on Pixabay


This poem is a bit of a sequel to Accident Prone although both are complete independently. It is also my entry in the kudos contest run by @damianjayclay and @nikisteem.

I actually wrote the first draft of this poem in my head while in the scanner. Playing with the wordings and line breaks helped keep me from throwing up.

I couldn't find a side image I was really happy with. Not one that is legal. The machine I talk about isn't a normal full-body MRI. It's an appendage scanner. More information about similar models can be found here.

My thanks to the crowd at @thewritersblock for help editing this and discussing variations.






Witness banner.jpg


Yes, I have a very virulent strain of Poetry Poxe. Live with it!

Sort:  

You did so great with this, Bex. Poetry Pox indeed.
Hugs

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79