I'll Never Forget That Look

in #krishna23 days ago (edited)

First time I saw my spiritual master, Srila Prabhupada,...MIT classroom lecture 1967.

My friend Danny wanted to go see a swami, I didn't want to. I wanted to smoke pot and go watch Bonnie and Clyde movie for the 3rd time. But he won. The swami lecture was free. I can't remember if we had smoked before going. Since I can't remember we probably did.

The classroom was hot, I think it was July, no AC and filled with young Indian men who didn't use deodorant. That I remember very clearly. Since all the desk seats were taken we sat in the back on the floor near the shoes, more powerful smells.

An elevated seat had been prepared with a cushion on top of the teacher's desk. A door behind the desk opened and light filled the room. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. Short, slight build wearing saffron an elderly Indian gentleman glided in into the room and floated up onto the desk. My first thought was, "Oh My God. He doesn't have any bones." He carried himself so gracefully. It was like he was swimming.
Three or four young American boys dressed in saffron played a bongo while circumambulating him and chanting. To me it looked like maybe a Native American rain dance.

From there I couldn't understand a word he was saying. His accent was foreign to me. But I sat and listened, mesmerized by his presence. My friend Danny asked a question about impersonalism but Prabhupada did not discuss it. I understood him when he said, "I have already discussed this."

A few more questions and it was over. Prabhupada glided off the desk. As he headed for the door behind the desk to exit he turned back to look at those in the room. My friend had asked a question and Prabhupada looked in his direction. Poor Danny. he missed the look since he was bent down tying his shoes. But I got it. Zapped. That look went right through me. I was a deer in the headlights. I'll never forget that look.

The photo kind of captures it...

image.png
open source on internet

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

What an incredible experience you had!
It must have been a truly powerful and transformative moment.
It’s interesting how sometimes the situations we initially don’t want to face turn out to be the most meaningful.

P.S. If you’re posting original content for Steemit, you can add the #steemexclusive tag.
This way, you might attract the attention of Steemit curators who are looking for excellent content and original ideas on the platform.

Yes. Hindsight is 20/20. I can see many such "transformative" events reassuring me that life is mystical and magical. Nuts and bolts are the outer structure, the energy is internal. Thanks for the heads up.. @steemexclusive tag.

Absolutely, hindsight always reveals the magic in life's events.😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45