Dating a racist : Racial stereotypes on Asian women

in #kr7 years ago (edited)

Hello, today I'd like to share a little story about my own life as an Asian woman.

My experience

When I turned 20, I wanted to try out new things in my life. Since I was a French major, I decided to download an app to be friends with French people living in Korea.

One of em was a guy named Maxime ( not the real name) who seemed kind at first. Well, he was a bit flirty but, being 20, my heart easily skipped if a guy showed any affection for me ( Big mistake.) Plus he was pretty good looking.

Problem is, this boy wasn't looking for a true soulmate. This boy was particularly in to.. ' weak, petite, lovely , sexual' Asian girls.

Hell... Sadly, what he didn't know was how diverse the categorization of Asian girls could be. I am in to graphic design, I like to play drum , I like rock music. I can be goofy but I do stuff on my own, and I think I'm a pretty strong person. And I bet there are a plenty of Asian girls who are strong and doesn't go along to the notion on Asian girls.

Anyways, I realized this after dating him like a week. I knew he was racist at that point. But I thought if I talked him out of it, he would change. For example, he would say stuff like ' white girls are too masculine.' And I would say ' That's bullshit. I don't call you feminine because you don't have abs.'

Or as we were walking down the street he would see a Turkish person, shake his head, and say ' ugh, Turkish people.' I would unlock his hands from mine and say ' ugh, French people. Arrogant and noisy .' ( No offense to french people, I just wanted to show him how he was being unfair.)

After a month or so, I decided to break up with him , but after a week he promised that he would change, so I took him back( Second big mistake .)

And the hair talk happened. I told him that I wanted to cut my hair and it's gonna happen soon. He pleaded me not to, saying don't cut your hair, and we will be happy if I didn't. He said I wouldn't be a girl anymore, but a boy with skirts. He held my head and said ' don't be a white woman.' He even cried over the fact when I repeated that I was going to cut my hair. To think about it, I think that was the tears of a person who couldn't fulfill their fantasy of having complete power over someone.

Well, I did it anyway. Partially because I wanted to try that kind of hair cut, and partially because I just wanted to get done with this relationship. I've always had a feeling that he didn't like me as who I am, and wanted to get rid of the weird/ independent/ wild side of me.

Anyways, when I was done with the haircut, he wanted a break up. But being the complicated person I am, I didn't want a break up at that moment. It's hard to explain, but I didn't want to admit that I have loved a worthless person. So I asked him not to leave, and he didn't. Then he didn't want to come to my birthday, so I dumped him.

So, that was the worst two months of my life time. What did I learn after this experience? I've learned that racial stereotypes blind people from knowing the person entirely. And being an Asian woman, sexualisation of Asian women is a problem for me. I'm not criticizing white people only. My African American friend told me that his friends say Asian girls are like trophies if you get one.
IMG_0211.PNG

After my dating experience, I've began to think of the society's wrong perception on Asian girls. The girls on the ads for dating, the girls who are submissive ( Check out Katy perry's performance on the song 'unconditionally' wearing a traditional Japanese outfit), the ' kawai 'girls, the girls who need to be protected .

The moral of the story is not ' Watch out when you meet foreign guys . ' I'm dating a New Zealand guy now and I'm feeling better than ever.
It is to clean out the stereotypes and see who the person truly is. After all, we are all human.

Sort:  

Très bon article. Mais, bien sûr, tous les français ne sont pas racistes.

Very good article. But, of course, not all French guys are racist.

Oui, je sais :) J'ai deux amis français et ils sont très sympas. Les racists sont partout.

This and the comments are very interesting! I married an asian girl...but because I saw her as strong and capable, not for weakness. :-/

As a teenager I first got interested in Asian women when I saw one that was a secret agent in a Bruce Lee movie. Later when I married my wife an old friend (that I had watched the movie with) reminded me of this moment.

Take care and thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading :) Yeah, stereotypes suck don't they..

Even though they're racist, they're still hot! Won't you agree ?:)

Can I ask who you are referring as ' they' ? Racists in general? I believe that anyone can have a pretty face and an ugly soul. These kinda people look attractive at first, but soon, they lose their appeal.
If you were referring to french people.. It depends on the person really.

Loading...

Wow...have you lived my life? When I was a teenager I dated a half-chinese half-white dude. I'm white. I also got the "white girls are too masculine" so I tried to change myself to seem more Asian (submissive etc.) in order to make him happy also by not cutting my hair. This got him all the more angry. He ended up marrying one of the Asian stereotypical girls and I Iaughed because it was an arranged marriage through his mother's side of the family. Long story short, she got tired of him, left him and married someone else from I believe to be a middle-eastern background. So, I don't know which side of him was talking to me all those years ago but after your post I'm now wondering if it was his Canadian side.

Hm, I don't know him very well so I can't say much. But really, the ' masculine' thing is bullshit. ( quote from my black friend) Black girls are masculine. ( quote from my white ex) White girls are masculine.
( quote from some Korean boys .) Korean girls are masculine! Japanese girls are better.
When will it stop? Let us be who we are , and we stay strong as who we are :) Thanks for sharing your experience, I felt like you healed my scar.

Loved this article - I totally agree with doing away with stereotyping - resteeming

Yeah , stereotypes suck. Hopefully the future would be brighter, and thank you :)

Great article, my ex-wife is Korean and she put all these stereotypes to shame. First she could kick my butt no problem. She was definitely not submissive or timid. She totally took charge in any situation she was in. Thank you for the great read.

Thank you :) In this great world people are diverse!

This is an interesting viewpoint. Not only because I never imagine Asian girls/women stereotypically as weak and helpless, but strong and determined.

The best thing in bad experiences is to learn something from them - at least when we others can learn from your experiences. Thank you for sharing this :)

Yeah :) I think so too , I've learned quite a lot from that experience.

Thank you @ziethehedgehog

I have encountered the same thing like you describe here:

I told him that I wanted to cut my hair and it's gonna happen soon. He pleaded me not to, saying don't cut your hair, and we will be happy if I didn't. He said I wouldn't be a girl anymore, but a boy with skirts. He held my head and said ' don't be a white woman.'

The guy was telling me that he thinks that he is laying in bed with a guy once the light is turned off and he feels my short hair. How is this possible?
I also cut the relationship rather quickly.

Thank you for this insight. I'm so glad to read that you found somebody great now! You deserve it.

xx
Elena

P.S.: Upvoted! And Following you from now on - I really appreciate this post.

Thank you ! Yeah.. it's really bizarre to think of it. It's just hair. We have hair all over the body, but why do humans care so much about the hair on the head only..? Why does it define how feminine / masculine the person is. Endless questions..

I cringed and nodded reading your post because as a Korean American, I've experienced similar situations with men (mostly white) fetishizing being with me as an Asian woman. On first dates or even before them, if I sense they're one of those fetish dudes, I'm out. I don't fit the stereotype and don't subscribe to those beliefs of putting any women or really people into racial or stereotyped buckets. That being said, I have over the past few years had to turn the examination light onto myself and wonder if my pattern/history of dating more white men than Asian men meant I am subconsciously making similar stereotypes of men. I have always been open to dating across all races, however, my pattern and often preference have been white men. And that makes me put into question if that's based on biases that are deeply held on my own. I'd like to believe that's not the case, but I think it's important to keep checking within ourselves on these type of questions. Following and upvoted.

Yeah, I admit I have that trait too. Partially because I was bullied by a bunch of guys in middle school pretty badly, and partially because of my dad . Or I could be subconsciously racist too. I have to keep looking in to myself, that's for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65189.35
ETH 3155.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60