We Sailed To An Island And Played with Fire #2

in #knot6 years ago

a.JPG

I've been working on longer exposure shots at night. I really enjoy the practice of setting up and being present for the shot. These photos are from an overnight sail to Sidney Spit where we tried out a method called steel wool spinning. You can read the first post here

It's pretty neat to see what people do when you ask them to play with fire. The whisk becomes a brush of sorts and oh boy do the sparks fly!

b.JPG

Once we'd used up the last of the steel wool, we rowed back to the boats and enjoyed a pretty peaceful night on the mooring buoy. The next morning's sunrise was a treat to beholden.

sunrise1.jpg

It was a true challenge not to linger, but we had to sail back to the reality of Monday. The one upside of heading home from one adventure, is that you're that much closer to the next one!

all content is my own unless otherwise noted
Thanks for the support Steemit!

Sort:  

good times :) i like the reflection on the water in the first pic, and the moon hiding in the clouds on the second one. what camera do you use?

reflections are pretty dang cool eh? I shoot with a Nikon D7000. I've had her a month. prior to that it was a Nikon D40, and an old Nikon Film camera.

duuude I love film photography, not knowing how the photos come out lol. I still have an old film Canon Rebel 2000, and lots of empty film rolls lying that i haven't used up yet... last time i used it was 2011 when i went to turkey just to stand out against all the iphone tourists... of course now a days even my phone can take a better photo... but i still love the physicality and patience of film photography.

Looks awesome. I'd love to give this a go one day soon. And I know what you mean about being present. Long exposures are so good for that

Thanks Jessica! You know there might be some pretty primo spots to try this out on your upcoming journey...

Absolutely. I'm actually really lookong forward to areas like Utah and Arizona this time around. The night skies out that way are incredible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81