Sandy Shoreline Triptych For @killerwhale's #killerpix Sand Contest

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

Abstract photography is a lot of fun! Unfortunately, it never sells as well for me as big wide angle awsome scenic prints but I still enjoy shooting abstracts. This abstract triptych (a work of art that is divided into 3 pieces) is of a sandy shoreline at Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe. Most of the sand at Lake Tahoe is a normal light brown color but there are certain areas that get black sand as well and it can be a pretty cool look.

This is an entry for @killerwhale's #killerpix Sand contest. I have no idea if I'm breaking the rules by posting a triptych, but if you know me, you know I don't really care for rules. I play these contests and games for the fun of it and they can be great post prompts. If I happen to win, then bonus!

sand.jpg click to view large

I'm not going to go into detail about camera setting on these, they were pretty basic shots. I was standing on the main big dock in Kings Beach, pointing the camera straight down at the shoreline. They were three individual shots, and I took them with the intent of producing a triptych.

I like this look a lot but it has never sold, what do you think of this look? Don't worry about hurting my feelings with your answer, hahaha!



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

I like it! How did you decide on the order they were put in? When I first looked at it I felt like the right frame should have been in the middle and all of the frames flipped horizontally. It creates a cool gradient effect with the sand going from smooth to chaotic going into the water. But then again gradients are kind of overrated nowadays. 🤷‍♀️

  • Iris

Thank you Iris! They were placed in the order they were shot. The left one was just past the shoreline, the middle was the water's edge, and the right one was sand under the water. That's cool that you saw it differently and that's part of the fun of abstracts, they can leave a lot to the imagination. Glad you like the gradient look! Cheers!

Ahh I see! I agree it's really cool to see the different ways different people can interpret an image, one of the many reasons why I love abstracts!

  • Iris

Yup, they are fun for conversation for sure!

I thought it was bits of wood before reading the text. It's interesting but I wouldn't buy it. Textures can sell well as stock photos. I use alamy for higher priced images and the microstock sites for more common ones. I'm not making a lot but it's nice to be able to make something from almost everything I like taking photos of. Would be good if there was a good stock photography site that used steem. Perhaps there will be when SMT's start?

Ah, interesting. Yup, I can see how you thought it was wood. As far as buying prints, yeah, you and everybody else haha! Actually, I have licensed the one on the right before, just haven't sold prints. Funny you mention stock photography sites accepting crypto... I was recently contacted by https://demo.photochain.io/#/ and am considering giving them a try. It's not steem but very interesting... As of now, I just license through my website or via email requests.

I've wasted time on so many new stock sites, I'll wait and see if any of the crypto ones can get buyers interested. There's lots of them now, I did upload a few photos here but I'm waiting to see how they deal with the EU VAT rules for selling digital goods https://www.wemark.com/

Ah, interesting. Yeah, I might hold off on uploading as I wasted a good amount of time back in the day with sites that never went anywhere and never made me $. For now, I license using my website and it works out good for me. We'll see though, I like the idea of getting paid in crypto...

Great entry for the contest ;)

Thank you @asgarth!!! Fingers crossed.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66