#KillerPix Photography Contest - Bees - Where Life Begins

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

Here's my entry into this weeks KillerPixContest run by @killerwhale. This week's theme is Bees!!

IMG_1370a.jpg

I'm going to take this week's challenge as an opportunity to go inside the brood box, this is where all life begins for a bee. The brood box is the box that sits on the bottom on the hive, the box/es that sit above the brood box are usually honey supers. Honey supers are where the bees store most of their honey. The photos below show you the difference between a honey frame from the honey super and a frame from the brood box.

Most of the honey on this frame has been capped off with a thin layer of wax with a few cells around the edges left to fill.

IMG_9063.JPG

IMG_1367a1.jpg

This is a frame from the brood box. The brood box is where the queen bee lives, lays and feeds. By placing an excluder between the brood box and the honey supers, this allows the bees to still pass through to work and store honey but restricts the queen to the brood box as she is too big to pass through (see the photo below of the excluder). This ensures all the honey storage stays on top and keeps the queen safe in one location to lay her eggs.

Honey can also be stored on brood frames as you can see this with frame on the left as well as pollen if they start storing it for the winter. All production slows down over winter (laying of eggs and honey production) as bees don't like the cold.

IMG_1320a.jpg

So lets get a closer look at a brood frame...

IMG_1368b1.jpg

I'll concentrate on the female worker bees as there is usually only one queen present in a hive and male bees which are called drones are only produced by the queen as required. The main job of a drone is to service the queen. Once a drone has mated with the queen, he dies. All the other bees are female worker bees, the cells pictured here are of worker bees.

The queen lays one single egg in each empty cells, the cell must be spotlessly clean too or the queen will move onto the next cell. Her eggs are tiny (about 1.7mm long) and can be quite difficult to see at this stage as they look like a small strand of hair that stands up inside the cell. In approximately 3 days that egg grows into a tiny larvae which look like small white grub. Nurse bees feed and care for the larvae as they continue to grow bigger and bigger in their cells which is what you can see in this photo. If you look closely you can see them at slightly different stages (some bigger, some smaller). On the 9th day the nurse bees cap the larvae inside their cells where they spin a cocoon around their bodies and are left to transform to pupae. These are the cells with the brown capping over the top of them, you can also see one cell in this photo where they've not finished the capping yet. After 12 days the now adult bee chews her way through the wax capping to join the hive. All together, it takes approximately 21 days for a worker bee to grow from laying of the egg to bee.

IMG_1372a1.jpg

A queen can live three to four years on average, drones usually die upon mating or they are forced out of the hive before winter. The lifespan of a worker bee can vary, a worker bee may live for just a few weeks in the summer but can live for several months through winter.

Check out my other entry here...
https://steemit.com/killerpix/@jayclar30/killerpix-photography-contest-bees

Sort:  

Bee keeping is a hobby I want to learn more about but I am not sure if I can keep bees legally in my town. I will have to find out. Thank you for sharing this very informative post!

You're most welcome @cryptogangz. Just check with your local council as to what the rules are for where you live. I don't live on a big block, I'm allowed 2 hives where I am. I have just placed my hives close to the fence facing out so that encourages the bees to fly straight up, that way they don't bother you in your yard or your neighbours! : )

They're a wonderful thing to have and to look after. And they're really not difficult to care for, the bees do most of the work, it's really just keeping an eye on the health of the hive : )

If i wasn't so averse to bees i'd head to go photograph my friends hives ... but i'll leave it up to you ;)

Lol, I have to admit I was rather scared in the beginning but I'm getting more and more confident around them now. My son is always suited up but we only have the one suit so I am never protected.

Our bees are pretty calm, we must have a good queen. If they start getting a little antsy I'll back away but they're usually pretty good. They'll only sting if they feel like they absolutely must, since that will kill them. They can give you a bump and that is their warning that they're not happy, if I start getting bumped a lot, which I can at times (or I could be just in their flight path, lol) I will back away.

I take photos every time we open them up though, it's a great way to keep records and watch their progress. It's also a great learning tool, we often see so much more in the photos.

Well ... hmmm... i just wanna keep my streak alive of no bee stings ever. (knock on wood)

Says the man out in the wilderness... lol

In the 7 months we've had them, we've had one sting only. That was to my son. It was a crazy bee that was confused we think...

We're only on a 600msq block, with not a huge yard, my daughter plays out there all the time, swings on her swings which are right next to them. They're not at all bothered by us at all.

However... don't consume honey beforehand as they can smell it and they will hang around you if they can smell it. And don't wear any essential oils as they are also attracted to a number of them... so we have learnt!

I don't think we give bees enough credit for our own fears of them. : )

That's really awesome! And great for the kids to grow up to that and be exposed to it and just kinda not even worry. Awesome.

My daughter can be a little blasé about them at times and I need to remind her but having them has certainly taught me differently. When we first got them, I use to stay inside behind glass and watch... I know I don't need to do that now. They put up with me and my macro now, so they're not too bad! Shows how far I've come with them too! : )

It seems I may have jinxed myself... I was stung today. On the ear of all places, ouch. She kept wanting to get stuck in my hair (rogue bee), we'd get her out and she go straight back in... it was when I was walking away (well away from the hive) that she came and got me. Seems I had better knock on wood! I missed out on seeing one hatch, I was just about to take the photo when she started bothering me.

Hahah oh the irony!! Sorry about that.

I know right! I couldn't believe it... damn thing! Thankfully it didn't hurt for too long.

WOW!!!! @jayclar30 this is really awesome!!!!! I was waiting for you to make a post about your bees. Love it!

Lol, hey Gaby : ) I know I was thinking of you when I started. I was going to make it bigger and have all the basics in there but decided just the brood box alone was going to be enough. I was thinking I should be putting all the bee links together... but haven't. Thank you though! : )

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-01T01:05:03
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 934.72/1600.00
Total Photos: 127
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you kindly!!! : )

Hi jayclar30,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much @curie, very much appreciated!! As soon as I'm able to join Discord I shall! : )

and you got the curie vote!!!! Told you, you had to make a post about your bees!!! Congratulations. You totally deserved it.

I know!!!! Just a little bit exciting!!!! :D
Thank you : ) After I did the last bee post I had these brood box photos left over and I knew what I wanted to do with them but I just wanted to leave some time from the last bee post... but when this comp came up I thought this is the perfect time. It made me do it. I quite like it when that happens though. I feel like I'm writing for more of a purpose. Thanks heaps Gaby!

cool photos

Thank you!! : )

Felicidades @jayclar30 son excelentes fotos como siempre. Todas las fotos que he visto tuyas son un premio seguro. Mis respetos por tu extraordinario trabajo.

Thank you so much @isabelpena for your kind words and very high praise!! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68