Six Weeks of Summer - Week 6: Gold Medals for Summer Reading Challenge

in #kids7 years ago

IMG_2735.JPG

Gold medals

In week 1 of my Six Weeks of Summer posts I wrote about the Summer Reading Challenge at libraries across the UK.
https://steemit.com/kids/@mummyimperfect/six-weeks-of-summer-week-1-summer-reading-challenge - This week my two elder daughters completed the reading challenge and received their gold medals and wristbands.

IMG_2736.JPG

Needed a push

I know that lots of people sat with their kids and studied during the holidays, especially those who are preparing for their 11 plus exams. I had visions of turning Mini Me 1 and Mini Me 2 into mathematical geniuses during the summer break and teaching the baby to count to 20! It was a bit unrealistic trying to study much with a one year old running around at home. I think one day we went over some timetables but that was about the extent of our holiday maths sessions! One thing I'm glad about though is that my kids took part in the Summer Reading Challenge. Mini 1 was super excited to read all 6 books and get her gold medal. Mini Me 2 needed a bit of push still but when she read aloud to me I realised she is great at reading and gets into the story once she gets going.

IMG_2900.JPG

Sense of achievement

While I feel like my kids did learn a lot of non-academic stuff during the six week holidays I'm still glad they kept one foot in the world of academia! I think more public funding should be given to schemes like this. It gives children a sense of achievement and keeps their interest in books alive.

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

Well done!!
Honestly, my first reaction reading the title of your post - Oh, God, summer's over...cause I remember when you started the challenge.
At least, it was a good summer!
(We had the same amount of math studies over summer with my son - just one day when I got upset over something and handed him a random math book and told him to solve some problems...)

Lol! That makes me a feel a whole lot better about the lack of homework I did with the kids!
The summer went so quick! My two eldest kids went back to school today and I actually missed them (the baby definitely did!). I'm sure I'll get used to the relative peace and quiet in the days soon! :)

Congratulations to both of them keep it up

yeah sure , that's motivating :)

I'm new in steemit. not daring to say much. I just said a very good post. always success,! thank you!
if any time see my introductory post is really the way of introduction in @steemit.

cool post I really like him and I always follow your post.teryata after I read some of your post stout ways and knowledge that I can to produce a cool post, I always share your posts to other friends so they can learn from you. visit also my post

Follow en vot me
https://steemit.com/foot/@imranroza/ikan-lele-yang-banyak-mengandung-hormom-201798t23336122z

Nice topic...

right , those kids are so smart and they worked hard to take this ideal thank's for share it with us , I ve followed you !

Thanks so much.

Thats nice. Keep it up.

Very awesom congrats to you and there kids happy gold medal 💘

Thanks for reading :)

Such a proud moment awwww! :D

I think it is a great program. My child loves incentive based learning.
I wish that they had a program like this in Canada.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of steemparents and #teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84