The Odd Woods -

in #jutbecause5 years ago

8-3-2019

Legend of the Odd Woods

         The trail I had been following came to a sudden end. No warning, no gradual overgrowth of plant material prior to the ending, just boom, end of trail. I looked back just to make sure I had not been sleep walking and left the trail. It was there behind me, clear as day, blue skies and cumulus clouds. I turned back the way I had been going hoping that my mind was just playing tricks on me and that the trail really had not ended. Nope, no such luck, it was still the end of the trail. Looking ahead the sky had a low stratus overcast layer blocking view of any large hills or mountains in the distance. Visibility was not that good, maybe five miles at most.

trailsend small.jpg

         I did not like the purplish tint to the sky, it did not look very good, rather ominous. I decided to check the base of the trail. All this walking and I hardly ever looked down at the trail. It seemed to be an animal trail, but with such an abrupt ending I was beginning to question that. The trail was only a couple of feet wide, with low grasses at the edges and then a gradual increase in size and height of the plant materials. There were a few smallish rocks and pebbles, nothing bigger than a thumb size, and a bit of what looked like crushed leaf material. No real dirt visible.

         I got down closer to the ground and brushed some of the small rocks and leafs away to see what lay underneath. Some hard almost brittle hard pan broken up with some sand, moss and loam mixed in. It did not feel moist at all, just very dry. I found this rather odd since the leaf matter and the grasses had some lingering moisture on them. I stood back up to get another look around.

         When I turned around the trail was gone. No trail in any direction. I could not even distinguish my own foot prints looking back. Going back was out of the question, two days following this disappeared trail left that option out, along with the fact I was not sure I could follow it back, there were several twist and turns in the trail. Left and or right were option, but I could see little in either of those directions, at least looking forward I could detect what looked like a smoke stream. It was hard to tell for sure, it was pretty distant and disappeared into the overcast pretty quickly.

         It was approaching day four for me in these odd woods. There was plenty of berries and tubers to eat and even some safe fungi, so I was doing okay food wise, water surprisingly seemed easy to find. I had found an artesian well yesterday, and it looks like a small stream up ahead, so I will camp the night there. I do not really understand how I had become so disoriented on my hike, but lost in these odd woods I was. Myth and Legends, I only hope I can survive and write about the disappearing trail, and what I find up ahead.

Sort:  

There was a glimpse of purple fungi that could turn the sky
ah-rye, but that path does sound like some very odd grasses!

Yes, and I am thinking that artesian well may have been spiked, not sure about that yet, but a good possibility.

Have you made it out yet @shadowmask? Are you still there?
There must be good WiFi out there!! lol

There sure are some strange sounds coming from behind, another reason to not try and retrace my steps, so it's onward, rest by the creek, and get some sleep. May or may not have a part two, you just never know.

Oh dear, need some deer to eat the spooky weed, spooky weed
will smoke when it grows so fast! Was it sending out the twisted
vines?

You just never know what you will find in an Odd Woods, with a disappearing trail, there is some fungi about after all.

The odds are good but the goods are odd!? :-)

Wow - this sounds like LIFE sometimes - the ultimate metaphor. No idea where I am, where it's going, how the traildisappeared when it seemed so very clear but then poof! it's gone and the Odd Woods feel a little ominous.

I liked the berries, tubers and mushrooms on hand to sustain you. :)

Your writing reminded me very much of a dream.

Next episode?

Sending you encouragement from Northern Thailand.

I am not sure there will be a next episode. I'm not a very consistent poster on this blog, I did notice It had been 8 days since my last post, so may have had a bit of life in the story about fear of disappearing from steem. It is the little fruits and fungi, and what ever we can dig up, that keep us alive on steem. So like in the story, at a place to rest, evaluate, and look forward. No desire at all to step back or back track or to swerve to the left or the right, just straight on til we find what we are looking for.

Ahh don't you hate it when trails not only rudely abruptly drop but then just up and disappear on you like that XD Hope you survive to tell the rest of the tale ;D

It was fun to write, I like using a picture sometimes to prompt me along. I don't know that there will be a part two, but there might be. That's about all I can really say, is maybe.

Great story. That's how old Riv Van Winkle must have felt :)
Your story has the eerie feeling of some of my nightmares. i wonder if you got the idea form any of yours.
I usually dream that get to a rather familiar place that all of a sudden becomes unrecognizable, or I just can't find my way back or out, even though in the dream it is kind of obvious.
Your character obviously survived to tell the tale. I wonder if there is more to fill in the gap

I am not sure if there will be a part two or not. I could take it in a few different directions, just not sure which if any to choose. I can see it taking a Dante's Virgil type of twist, or an alien abduction type twist, or...well so many different directions, the hazard of just picking the keyboard up and going with a picture, every viewer has a different view of the picture, of parts they like, of parts they don't and of parts that sing to them. It was a fun write for me though.

Hi shadowmask,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for the vote, please relay my gratitude to the curator.

Thank you for the vote,
Please relay my gratitude
To the curator.

                 - shadowmask


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @shadowmask! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Pretty amazing one post and I got half of the 2000 votes on it. Thank you for the notification.

Interesting writing, very captivating and attractive to continue reading. Congratulations :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82