My SteemIt Heroes (Entry For @apolymask's Heroes Contest)

in #justbecause6 years ago (edited)

Heroes on SteemIt, they come in many forms and shapes. And if you are still here, in spite of all the bumps and setbacks, you are one of them...

superheroes-534104_1920.jpg
Source

Contest

Just now, I bumped into @apolymask’s contest ‘Who are the heroes on steemit?’ and although writing a full-length post is still not very easy, I wanted to enter.

You see, although I organized the ‘Appreciation Contest’ a while back, I never got to write my own appreciation post. I thought this would be an excellent alternative.

DQmZVTiP9VjMhHPzptTPFXBiYAdMnLYHvfLEyofzAW7qNPp.gif

You Are All My Heroes

Before I get started, I’d like to point out that you are all heroes to me. Ever since I joined SteemIt, I met so many good-hearted people and the feeling of community is stronger than I could have ever dreamed of.

However, the assignment said I could pick only 3. So, if you’re not on the list, please blame @apolymask, and not me... ;0)

DQmZVTiP9VjMhHPzptTPFXBiYAdMnLYHvfLEyofzAW7qNPp.gif

My Heroes

My first name won’t be a surprise to you. I assume it will be on many lists, simply because many of us would probably have left a long time ago if it hadn’t been for him.



My first two months on SteemIt, I was flying solo, and was about to get completely lost. Then I bumped into @davemccoy and my entire SteemIt experience changed.

Not only does he come up with idea after idea to make SteemIt a better place for redfish and minnows, he’s also the one that can make you smile with one of his ultra-friendly comments, no matter how bad you are feeling.

He’s always there if you need some advice, and really cares. SteemIt would definitely be a different place without him. Thanks for everything, @davemccoy.

DQmZVTiP9VjMhHPzptTPFXBiYAdMnLYHvfLEyofzAW7qNPp.gif

Another hero of mine is @abh12345.
At first, I was a little scared of approaching him. After all, with his reputation score of 68, he plays in a completely different league than I do.

But then I joined his Leagues of Engagement and got to know him a little better.
Nothing to be scared about, lol.

He’s not only the wizard of stats, but he also has his ways to ask the right questions when they need to be asked.
I admire his dedication to the community, and his willingness to help us little guys any way he can.

I’ve said it before, Asher, and I’ll say it again: you’re a great guy! And don’t BS me this time by replying that ‘SteemIt is full of great guys’, lol. Just accept a compliment when you get one ;0)

DQmZVTiP9VjMhHPzptTPFXBiYAdMnLYHvfLEyofzAW7qNPp.gif

I hope you don’t mind, @apolymask, but I’ll make my third choice a double one. I think the reason for that is obvious.

Both @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1 are an inspiration to me every single day.


The incredible power that goes out from them is something that has changed me; not only on SteemIt, but also in real life.



‘Meeting’ them here on SteemIt and getting a glimpse of their love, courage and positivity,... it will be something I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

I think many people will feel the same and no further explanation is necessary.

I could have never imagined I would feel this way about people I had never met in person, but I do. And I hope they do know this.


signature2.gif

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter

More Posts You Might Like


Minds & Yours: Will They Be The First Steemit Competitors?

Steem Share - Bookmark, Organize And Share Your Favorite SteemIt Links

@newbiegames' Featured Games & Contests For Week 22. Play And WIN!!

Images have been taken from the individuals' profiles or posts. I hope you guys don't mind



Sort:  

I could have never imagined I would feel this way about people I had never met in person, but I do. And I hope they do know this.

I feel the exact same way about you.

Seriously. I was just crying when I read your post. @davemccoy and @abh12345 ... superb choices. I'm still in disbelief that I have such feelings for what typically would be described as complete strangers, but you, Dave, Ash and so many others occupy my waking mind regularly.

Thank you for this :)

Weird, isn’t it? Weird, but nice :0)

Weird, but nice. That's it exactly!

<3 to you too guys!

aww @simplymike :)

You are too kind to mention me along with these guys.

And don’t BS me this time...

haha, well... it is! But I gratefully accept your kind words, and hope I can continue to live up to expectations!

Thank you!

You are more than welcome. You simply belong in this list, humble as you are. That’s one of the things I like so much about you: the fact that you’re very down to earth (or you can make it look so, haha)

Since I have taught myself not to have expectations towards people, living up to them won’t be that hard, lol

It's easy to be humble when you don't have much :)

Since I have taught myself not to have expectations towards people, living up to them won’t be that hard

This sounds like the way to go, I think I've inadvertently followed the same path :)

Thanks again!

It’s not what you have, but it’s all about what you ARE, my friend!! ;0)

Thanks.
I took the liberty to take a look at your comment history and noticed you use this type of comment quite often.
I just want to warn you this could easily be considered as a spam comment and could result in downvotes, which will damage your reputation score.

I just don’t want you to get into any trouble, so my advice would be to make your comments a little more specific towards the post you’re commenting on.
You could for example say what it was that you liked in particular...

I completely agree with your choices @simplymike!! Each has been so helpful in many ways to so many of us :)

Thanks, @tryskele.
It wasn’t really hard to come up with the names. Although I have a lot more so called SteemIt heroes, I really wanted to put these ones in the spotlight :0)

@simplymike I didn't think it was. At first thought those are the ones that jump into my head. If I get time tonight I'll mention a few more that sometimes get overlooked too and need to have that little reminder we appreciate them too.

Great idea. I went for the ‘obvious ones’, but of course there are many more. Maybe I should run another edition of the Appreciation Contest in a week or two. That was so much fun. Not just for me, but for everyone. So much appreciation going around, so many different people that were put into the spotlight... :0)
Since I hosted the contest back then, I didn’t put up an entry myself. So this was my first one up.
Maybe we should turn it into a weekly thing... I could probably go on for months :0)

I like that Idea. I'll help anyway I can. We do A LOT to help the newbies, but I think those like yourself that run the contests, give their time to coach and such need a little sunshine too :D

Doesn’t everybody need/deserve a little sunshine every once in a while ;0D

wonderful post!

Thanks, @gabriel.ncl
I took the liberty to go and take a look at your comments history, because this really looked like a spam comment to me.
From that, I know you can do better than this :0)

be sure of that, but English it.s not my language! that is why I posted only wonderful!

Okay, got it.
Just be careful, because such comments can be easily mistaken for spam.
Maybe you could write something in your own language, then...

Modern technology allows us to translate more or less and get an idea of what you mean :0)

It really can be hard to narrow down to 3 people, but for this type of post with so many people to choose, it was not an easy thing to do. There are so many "heroes" out there. A very good set of heroic choices. I love them all.

That’s exactly why I thought it was important to point out that there are a lot more people I consider to be heroes, and that it was not my fault people didn’t make the list. It was @apolymask’s for setting a limit ;0)

Initially I thought I would have a hard time deciding, but once I started writing it appeared to be easier than I thought. :0)

Just for the record: you’re one of mine too. ;0)

Thank you, but yeah think of how long it would take us to profile all of our heroes on steemit, it would be a never ending post. There are so many, it was not easy stopping at three, (or four), but we needed to.

True!
Even if i would make it a weekly thing i would probably be good for a couple of months :0)

I should be going to sleep but I just saw your post and couldn't help but give it a gander and.. Great picks!! I am familiar with all of them, they all deserve more recognition and I think you did an amazing job writing about each of them. I have a feeling they will appreciate what you have said when they read it. :)
So far davemccoy has been mentioned the most I think. We should probably try to think of something special we could try to do for him. :)
Thanks for the awesome entry!

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to write me own appreciation post. I read so many during my contest a while back, but I never got to it to write my own.

At first, it seemed like a very difficult task to choose only 3 people out of all the amazing people I’ve met so far here, but once I started writing, I didn’t even have to think twice about these 4 people :0)

It’s no surprise to me @davemccoy comes up in so many lists. I think his ideas, initiatives, enthusiasm and friendlyness have made a big impact on a lot of people. (I’m surprised he’s not acting bigheaded yet, with all that praise that’s going his way every time, lol)

I will resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. Read my profile @a-0-0

Awe!!!!! What a wonderful initiative & such a good group of selections 🍉🥕🐛🦋 Asher is right though, there is a great collective of Spirits dancing among our community!!!! It'a awesome! Peace, Love & Joy --- all around 💜💛💚💙

Of course he’s right. This place is full of awesome people 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51