Nest Egg

in #journal7 years ago

I have just been amazed at the increasing interest in and value of cryptocurrencies. It has been just unreal lately yet very difficult to tell where things are headed. I’m just feeling very fortunate to be involved with things at what feels like the right place and the right time.

It seems like a very large shift is happening in many ways and it is opening up a chance for lots more people to live comfortably. Bitcoins market dominance is lowering and many of the alt coins are gaining in value. I’m personally having a great time.

In case you don’t know what a nest egg is, it is the concept of making a good safe long term investment that pays you enough every month to make your life more comfortable. As long as you don’t spend the principle of this investment, the interest or other dividends can keep giving you a steady income. It also gives you some security so if anything does happen in your life unexpected expenses can be paid.

Steemit and other crypto’s are turning into my nest egg. My hope is that everyone can build such an egg for themselves. Small investments in time or money can really grow in a short period of time.

I am so thankful for all the support that I have had from so many people here. (I’m sorry if I did not answer all of your comments but I read and value them all.) If feels like a major milestone has been reached for me in the way that I can now post articles and expect to earn some return.

More and more very good content is being posted here and this is improving the system as a whole for all of us. I hope this continues to gain momentum in the future.

It is pretty exciting to be able to do all the variety of different things that I enjoy doing and feel like in some way my efforts are making a contribution.

Rainy day

It has been raining a lot lately. As I was walking along I spotted a bright red leaf. Dog-oh was cold and wet and kind of booking along back towards the house so I went right past it, getting pulled along by him.

I thought to myself that it looked so pretty reflecting the sky that I wanted to take a picture of it and use it for a texture in a 3D scene or at least post it on Steemit. So I turned around and went out of my way to get the picture. Steemit is certainly changing my life and making me more interested in doing things that others might enjoy.

RedLeaf.jpg

Egg Animation

Here’s an animation that I made in Softimage a while back. It’s meant to show the passing of time and the egg slowly changing.

It reminds me of building a nest egg. As with anything you want to achieve, patience and time can be on your side.

Egg1.gif

These animations take me a long time to do. I may try to do something else with the leaf picture above to make another animation but I’m not sure.

I feel very fortunate in my life to be able to pick and choose what I want to do with my time. I’ve heard someone say that if you make your work into play you never have to work a day in your life. I hope everyone can build a nest egg for themselves. At a time of increasing automation and insecure employment opportunities I believe this is important.


Thanks for reading! The picture was taken by me with my Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

I Know what you mean when you say unreal.When you talk about safe , long term investments I feel fear creep up from the bottom of my feet, up my spine. Crypto is a risk , a risk that has paid off so far but how long will this train ride last? I have recently started to take some of my crypto profits and started buying gold and silver. My gut tells me this is a good idea, and my ferar agrees. My greed says to just keep taking risks and let it ride. The best gift of all is to be able to do what you want with your time, priceless! I can't belive you got that leaf shot with your s7. I recentlly picked up an s8 and you have inspired me to experiment more.

I know what you mean about "fear creeping up your spine" but for me it has more to do with environmental disaster, and gold and silver investment won't really help that. That, or major governmental intervention and 'gasp' cooperation between world governments could derail the crypto train imho. Sometimes I feel like I just have to let those fears go, the more you think about it the more little things you think of that could become an issue.

Crypto is a major economic activity that has benefited and continues to benefit many people. I doubt governments are going to want to put a stop to it. Much of the negative press seems focused around illicit issues that plague cash as well but nobody talks seriously about banning cash transactions. I heard that apparently North Korea is a leading counterfeiter of hundred dollar bills but that fact is seldom talked about. Forcing regulations that try to ban crypto transactions could just push everything to decentralized exchanges and street level bartering - which I don't think will be really helpful if your trying to prevent illicit use.

Thanks a bunch for your comment and support! I hope you find the time to play around with your S8. I find a camera that I'm always carrying around much more easy to use.

Such a wonderful article @lightsplasher. Informative and flowing: You've made so many points that I resonate with.

Love how you described turning around to capture the brilliant leaf that had drawn your attention. The more we can listen to these impulses the more fulfilling our lives will become.

A wonderful animation too. A great concept. I tend to work/think in series so I can see that you could make so many fantastic variations on this theme. However I also appreciate the time an animation like this can take.

I've been slowly introduced to the whole cryptocurrency world through my involvement with a company that has its own cryptocurrency. Talk about a journey of continual change, of high expectations and bitter disappointments. But the determination to succeed has always won the day. One of the reasons I've been so interested in Steemit is that, like this company, their cryptocurrency rewards the 'work' that its members do.

Earning less than 1SDB for an article that I may have spent many an hour preparing hasn't bothered me all that much, as I love the format of Steemit posts and some of the connections I've made here are amazing. Until recently when something happened that made me realize I DO need to have that 'Nest Egg.'

How we see ourselves and having a grateful heart are so integral with our 'success:' I now see myself as someone who IS earning an income here ~ No matter how much. And thanks to people like yourself I feel encouraged to stay and share. Thanks SO much for your encouragement. 🦋♥︎🦋

Thank you much for you comment and support! It never really occurred to me to make a series and variations on the animation. Most of the work is setting things up with the timing and lighting. I might think about adding some new effects.

It is really tough getting to know people and figure out what works on Steemit. I've spent way too much time on articles that earn less than 1 SBD too. It has been really fun though.

I've had my share of bitter disappointments in crypto as well but at this point I'm so grateful that these things are easy to let go of.

So cool nice one have a nice day.

Understand the time that's needed in preparation. May not be seen, but essential for the finished piece to work.

One way I've found to justify the time spent on articles at Steemit is that I then post them to my own blog. Which also earns nothing. 😊 But it's deemed necessary for an artist to share what they do. Which I question all the time.

I'd love to live in an ideal world where every single being had their essential needs met and could do what they loved doing. What they are meant to be doing while on this planet. Artists could paint, musicians play, gardeners garden. Trouble is who would work in all the offices?

Next best thing is for the crypto world to attract people who care and want the best for not just themselves and family ~ But everyone. 🎻

amazing .. I also have the same principles with you, I want to invest in steemit, I see the opportunity of cryptocurrency in Steem and SBD is very bright forward, in addition we build community network in steemit .. we also can make steemit as source of income every month.
I am very grateful to join steemit and can invest here.
greetings @lightsplasher

It is exciting to see all these changes. I really don't know where it will go but I'm happy now with the way things are at this point. Greeting to you too!

wow nice photography good click great article thanks for shere my dear @lightsplasher maybe you forget me brother but i am waiting for your new post go ahead and carry on???

How could I forget you @naeemahmedd ? :)

I feel very happy to hear me remember me. I missed you every day. Every day I visit your blog but you can not get any new post. so i miss you so much brother??

dear @lightsplasher wonderful post
thank you for sharing a nice post
i like all time your post
you are one of my best writer
keep it up
and be healthy,welthy,and wise
all time i miss your post
thank you so much.
and i resteemed it.
. .......... .

Thanks for your support! I'm glad you liked the post.

A very good experience and very useful for me for the future, I will follow the instructions in your post. Thank you very much @lightsplasher

Thank you @ades your wonderful nature photography is a real plus for everyone!

Actually, the natural location anywhere is very beautiful. just depends we can use it and enjoy, I like looking for experience.... thanks @lightsplasher

Nice animation, i impressed to see it.. thanks for your post.

Thanks, I'm glad you liked the animation!

wow! nice post
I love your post
all time waiting for your post
thank you for another wonderful post
love you dear @lightsplasher
and resteemed.. 👌👌👌

Thank you! I appreciate your support and feedback. :)

U5drqvCRHg1xP5AixKbWz3GdanpRppv.gif

dear @liightsplasher
I follow your post all the time, because I love you very much, and your post feels good to me, please remember me a little bit please.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46