The company I work for is being bought out. Stress!!! Has your job ever been at risk? What is your story?

in #job7 years ago (edited)

So I and others are unsure if our jobs are on the line. One never knows when it comes to these things. I might be ok in all honesty, because I am a younger person and don't have much vacation time/benefits, the older coworkers might have a rough go... Or maybe they will gut it all... One never knows...

I am a little concerned about it, but not entirely. See my plan was always to switch to another job any way because I am stagnated at this current job(no positions to be promoted to), so if something happens I might be ok with that any ways. BUT if there are no other positions available at other places I might not be... Good ol Stress!!! The fear of not knowing what will happen... A great feeling...

So what will I be doing more of now?Wellllll... posting on here! building a following and trying to future proof myself a bit. By posting more here and growing I am giving myself some stability as at least I can count on some income from this(even if it is not that much right now) + what I do over on bitcointalk forums.

On the BTC forums I make about 90 to 100 USD a week by commenting/posting with a signature campaign. Have been thinking about this for awhile, but it seems to me I should ramp up my efforts over there...Look for more ways to earn money.

Well anyway, what is your story? Are you building here to help prevent against loss of job/income in the future? Do you post here for money?For fun? For fun and money? Have you lost your job before? What happened with you?

Sort:  

Alternative sources of income definitely help.

I'm following you on similar path. Build up a following and post content which interests you. Eventually build your wealth, and invest in income producing assets which are safe!

Then you get FU money and you're never beholden to anyone!

My company got bought out as it was following a path which inevitably would have lead to bankruptcy. In some cases, it takes a big brother to come in and solve the problems your management cannot. I'm still watching whats going on above me, but in my case I feel more secure. When you identify problems and no one in the company knows how to solve them, you're clearly not on the path of success. Hopefully your new parents know what they are doing.

Hope things turn out well for you! Praying for you Good sir :)

Wish you good luck brother. Yes I have lost my job before but I was never stressed. I live a simple life with minimal expenses and always had secondary sources of income.. Well, not actually simple, it's just that my hobbies are free, think stuff like gardening & hiking.

As of my story here on steemit.. Well, both money and fun. I mean.. Getting paid to post memes and my favorite news-headlines? Sign me up! Hopefully I ll manage to get a big following in the months to come, but if I don't who cares ^_^

If you don't mind, can you tell me which signature campaign are you promoting on btc?

Resteemed, upvoted, yada yada

PRAISE KEK

Yep! Upvotec, and now following both of you!👌🐸

Followed back cause I like your content :) Btw, maybe you wanna have a look at my giveaway :) https://steemit.com/giveaway/@trumpman/maga-giveaway-5-prizes-to-win

I will check it out! Thanks @trumpman. Post good content!👌🐸

Hey yo. I have a separate name that I post under that is completely different and I keep it under the radar.

the best things to do are to join altcoin campaigns. Like someone starts a new coin, and you get paid every week with that coin. make sure it is a coin that is already listed on at least 1 exchange so you can sell it. Ihave seen people make .5 BTC in a week because the coin was just worth so much for the first months it was out. some coins people come up with are priced high to begin with and selling 100 of those coins might get you .5 btc or more.

check out the altcoin section and look under marketplace or services, it is somewhere in there.

Cool I will thanks :)

Good luck figuring it out man. As far as job struggles I had to carve a path to where I am now, a never quit attitude and a bit of hard headedness was my formula. Just don't quit and forget all the bull the haters throw at you. Follow your gut instincts!

I'm here to talk to people about stuff im interested in and if I make a few bucks that'll be real sweet.

Yes! The path forward is what we all should focus on. Improving our skills so that we are able to make an income is a good idea. I see a lot of people who do not do that and they are left behind in this world.

Many improvements happen so fast in this age of computers/smartphones and big data systems.

Steemit is a nice place to post and have some income.

You can always fall back on coding... I would suggest starting at code academy for free online courses.

Always remember when doors close others open and I am sure you will end up in a better place eventually.

I think I will be ok. I am still young, between age 24 - 29. I have over 4 years exp and certifications and all that. I could likely get another job relatively quickly if I absolutely had to. But I really didn't want to leave this one just yet because it is a decent job.

You know what I mean? Like, everyone is nice, good friendly culture, meetings go well and people just want to do beetter and they like data/results.

We will see though!

This is a wonderful opportunity to escape Dullsville for Steem, while making your CV look as if you were heart-broken to leave. Ha! See you online (and please donate me some crypto when you're a whale).

With me, i'm a crypto trader too. I use to spend all day trading and studying coins on bittrex but ever since i joined steemit, crypto trading for me just about placing orders.
My aim of joining steemit was to make money. So, i never planned or think of a strategy but right now, steemit for me all about building followers and SP. I believe money will come in doing so.

When one door closes another opens. You might have to lower your standards and get a pizza delivery job. I know that you can get through this. Steen on bro.

steemit.png

I do agree! Nothing can be the same forever! The best way is to save money for the future!

I left my first job because of the continuous stress and No growth.

Yes. That is a good thing. Being stressed out every day is not worth the money. Mental health is very important !!!

Did you find something better?

Yeah i found a good job which i can work from home at reasonable hours. But only thing is i am getting more weight. :-)

good to hear! The weight problem is something I have been working on as well. I used to weigh about 230 pounds and have dropped down to 190. It has taken over 3 years.

The things I changed. I stopped drinking regular Soda(Pop as we call it). I stopped drinking Juice or anything with calories in it for the most part. Only occasionaly had a few beers or alcoholic drinks. I stopped eating foods that have sugar in them, I am talking quitting sugar completley almost. On any given day the food I eat either has 0 grams of sugar or 1 or 2 grams(you should not have more than 40 grams per day as an adult male). I also do not usually eat more than 2,000 calories in a day.

Doing those things has helped me lose a lot of weight! Also save money on not buying soda/beer so much too :)

As a nutritionist I agree that going low carb can have fantastic results. Zero carbs though is not for everybody. Not all bodies can handle it and frankly eating just meats and salads gets dull very fast. Personally what has worked for me is getting all my carbs purely from fruits, about three a day. And no beer anymore. Only red wine, whiskey and vodka :)

The russians i collude with send me this.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

I post here for fun and for money. And in my case there is a third reason: to learn and/or improve my english language skills.

Yes! That is a great thing to improve on. Is English your native langauge that you write/speak in?

I have been thinking about my need to improve my writing. I have no background in writing anything and probably make tons of grammar mistakes hehe.

No, english is no my native language, but the secret code called portuguese.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62797.54
ETH 2442.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68