Dreams of Illumination: My Entry for the @jerrybanfield Supernatural Writing Contest

What Do Our Dreams Tell Us?

It's odd that this contest came up a couple of days after I posted an entry about dream meanings (https://steemit.com/psychology/@theinsideout/have-your-dreams-ever-predicted-the-future), In that post, I included one of my own dreams that appeared to predict a future event. However, the dream I want to recount in this post is more spiritual and entirely different.

My Mental State Before the Dream

I had been reading some books about spiritual meditation. I had also practiced the simpler meditations, usually before I went to bed or when I had a chance to retreat to a quiet room during the day. I'm not sure exactly what I was looking for, but I was looking for something. Maybe I wanted peace or some magic epiphany.

I also have to say that I was sad because my father had passed away recently. This might sound silly, but I just wanted to pick up my phone and call his last phone number for one more chat. I even did it once, but of course, I hung up quickly when a stranger answered the phone. Sadly, my dad's number had not been forwarded to wherever he was then. Maybe I thought I could communicate with him through this kind of meditation somehow.

About the Dream

Anyway, I went to sleep after several days of practicing this type of spiritual meditation. I don't care what people say about people dreaming in black and white; this dream was in vivid, sharp colors. I found myself in a small room that I understood was a sort of a lab.

A robust man with gray hair and a white lab coat smiled at me in a friendly way. I peered at his face, trying to see if it was my father. He looked more like my chemistry teacher from high school, but I can't say I exactly recognized his features. He had the appearance of a sort of kindly uncle, but again, he wasn't somebody I could place.

I asked him, "So, what happens when people die?"

He showed me a large, glass globe. The globe looked dark, and I remember feeling so disappointed. There was nothing.

Then he said, "No, don't be impatient. Look closer."

Out of the darkness, I started to make out pinpoints of light. They looked like stars. Suddenly, I was moving through space towards the flickering stars.

The last thing the man said was, "The difference between the universes is illumination."

If nothing else, this made me believe there was more to our existence than what we can see or test with current scientific methods. It was interesting that the dream began in a science lab, and the man looked like a scientist in a white coat. The globe, however, looked more like some kind of fanciful crystal ball.

Then I woke up. Still, this is a dream I've thought about a lot. Do you have any interpretations?

Have You Ever Had a Really Vivid Dream?

If so, please tell me about it in the comments. I'll almost always spare you a vote and probably a comment. Thanks for letting me share this.

Sort:  

Mimpi adalah kembang tidur tapih besar kemungkinan mimpi itu adalah sebuah pirasat akan kehidupan kita di masa depan semoga mimpimu
Sangat baik untuk masa depan kamu

If Google translated this correctly, thanks!

That is interesting -- even scientifically -- if you sub a word like "energy" for illumination.

Yes, I did a lot of research to try to figure something out. The choice of words is interesting. You can sub in energy or just "light" or something.

Yes @theinsideout, in fact my participation in this contest is also about a dream, more than a premonitory dream I think it was something that happened while my mother and I were sleeping, because to my surprise what I consider or remember as a dream, when I wake up Mom told me her dream and in essence it was very similar, someone very dear who had already started from this earthly plane came to visit us. If you want to read the whole story here I leave the link to my blog https://steemit.com/jerrybanfield/@carrilloisa/while-i-sleeped-supernatural-writing-contest-swc
I hope than you like it...

Thanks for sharing. That was a very moving story. I'm sorry for your loss, but I'm glad you and your mother got comforted by that visit from your brother.

yes @theinsideout was pretty... thanks for read me

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post has received a 9.05 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @theinsideout.

Congratulations @theinsideout! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 3.15 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @theinsideout.

This post has received a 54.30 % upvote from @steemfeed thanks to: @theinsideout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46