Have Your Dreams Ever Predicted the Future?

in #psychology7 years ago

Is There Any Science to Back Up Dream Predictions?

The fact that science actually has a term for dream predictions might surprise you. It's called precognitive dreaming. In other words, you learn something in your dreams before you are consciously aware of it. Some otherwise skeptical people, like scientists, have taken dream predictions pretty seriously.

You don't really know me, but I can tell you that I'm not somebody who pays attention to mystics. At the same time, I can tell you that I believe I have had at least one precognitive dream.

My Precognitive Dream

When I was in the first weeks of pregnancy the second time, I dreamed of a pair of curly haired, blonde twin toddlers on a cruise ship with me. I'm not sure where the cruise ship came from; however, I had an ultrasound a few weeks later that confirmed that I was, indeed, pregnant with twins. A few years later, that pair did have blonde, curly hair. The dream stuck with me so much that I made a pair of stuffed dolls that resembled the dream twins.

My older sister had twins, so perhaps it was just a coincidence or my mind exploring the possibility. Still, I remember that dream. I've still never been on a cruise ship, but whatever.

Other Skeptical People Have Believed in Their Dream Predictions

In fact, Psychology Today reported upon a study that found at least half of the population believes that they have had at least one dream that predicted true events. (https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/dream-catcher/201107/precognitive-dreams) A 1989 study at a New York hospital used very controlled conditions to see if "receivers" could pick up imagines from "senders" in their dreams and yielded very significant results. Later studies sometimes yielded similar results and sometimes did not.

This Guy Would Not Lie

Famously, President Abraham Lincoln experienced a disturbing dream shortly before his assassination. Later, the few people who knew about the dream believed it could have only have come from prescience. The president found himself in the White House, and he heard the sounds of crying and mourning. He found guards who stood over a body, and one of the guards told him that the president had been assassinated. Now it's possible that President Lincoln knew that a lot of people didn't like him, so this dream was only an expression of his anxieties. (http://www.historydisclosure.com/lincoln-had-a-precognitive-dream/)

Sources:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/dream-catcher/201107/precognitive-dreams
http://www.historydisclosure.com/lincoln-had-a-precognitive-dream/
Pictures: Pixabay

I want to Hear About Your Dream Predictions

Most experts say that precognitive dreaming comes from coincidence, a faulty memory either about learning something or the dream, or the unconscious mind tying together information that we're not consciously aware of yet. Others say that our sleeping minds are tuned more into the energy around us and can pick up on things that our conscious mind filters out. I consider my self a sensible skeptic, but I'm not sure what I believe.

Look, don't lose sleep about this. I've also had dreams that showed me in an out-of-control car, falling out of trees, visiting dead relatives in their kitchens, and getting kissed by somebody I would never kiss. I don't believe these were precognitive at all but from something else going on in my cluttered mind.

Have you ever dreamed clearly about events that later proved true or came true?

I'm really curious to read your experiences. If you have any theories about precognitive dreaming, I'm interested in them as well. I almost always vote upon and comment upon RELEVANT comments. Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

I think you should read some Carl Sagan! In particular Demon-Haunted World (But Cosmos too or even Broca's Brain) go a long way in explaining how our brain plays tricks on us (things like selection bias or memory bias) and give a better perspective on chance and statistics.

Ah, I remember Sagan's boloney detection kit! Yup, I guess I do need to engage one of those. :)

I don't think I've ever had a precognitive dream like you describe. However, I've had some dreams that seemed to uncover things I had missed when I was waking that later seemed true when I thought about them. Also, I had a recurring dream when I was a child that I later uncovered in a photo my parents had. i..e. it was something that really happened, but I didn't remember it consciously. Dreams are weird, no doubt. :)

Yes, I've experienced similar things. I think those can be explained away more easily.

I do think that in the universe there are some things happening we call "mystics" but it could just be something we haven't learned to understand yet. We can easily say that dreams are our brain's work and it has no relation to the "real" world but I do not think that's really true.

I haven't really had any experiences in my dreams where the dreams have predicted my future. Usually my dreams consist of some extra random thoughts and also some of my deepest fears/insecurities but there have been some cases where I have sensed person's vibe or feelings. This has happened many times where I just see that a person is upset or angry at something and the next day when I meet that person he's vibrating exactly the same vibes - feeling low, angry.

Yeah, I had a dream when a couple of coworkers were acting overtly competitive with me, though I hadn't really consciously noticed it during work before. Over the next few days, I did tend to pick up on more of their subtle nastiness and changed the way I dealt with them somewhat ... and actually became better friends with one of them. I'm not sure sure if it was a subconscious message or a self-fulfilling prophecy.

I'm glad you were able to maintain that this is very likely coincidental. I had a lucid dream, in which I was walking down the street where I lived. As I walked, I passed a red truck and a blonde woman inside the truck put her hand on the glass and startled me awake. Several months later, I split up with my ex and the only vehicle I could afford was an old red truck. Later on I began seeing someone (a blonde) and one day as we were driving, I looked over and it just clicked; the truck the blonde... Whoa.

I think there are a lot of factors at play; coincidence, self-fulfilling prophecies, false memories, deja vu (or deja reve), people's inability to remember dreams clearly in general, their propensity for remembering this differently than they were, etc. Still, very interesting stuff.

Thanks for sharing this. That is an interesting coincidence about the red truck and the blonde. Yet, red trucks and blondes aren't so uncommon, so it's hard to say.

This post has received a 7.58 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @theinsideout.

You got a 4.54% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @theinsideout!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Very interesting topic 👍 unfortunately I've never had any of those dreams, I hardly ever dream..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46