SUPERNATURAL WRITING CONTEST: I Saw a UFO in the Middle of the Day, in Chicago. I'm serious.

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago

This is the first time I have sat down and written about my encounter, but I have been thinking about it constantly since 2011.

This is so similiar to what I remember it gives me goosebumps!
source

My father is a retired Forensic Chemist. I remember him talking about everything having to do with science, like the universe and its vastness since I was old enough to listen. He would (and still does) talk about the high probability that life exists on other planets, because we exist here on Earth. There are billions of galaxies, billions of stars in each of them, with countless planets. For life to not exist anywhere but Earth, seems mathematically impossible with those odds.

Still, while I believed that life exists in galaxies far away, I never truly gave it much thought, it’s not like they were here. The chance that I would see them in my lifetime was so little that I never really pondered it. That all changed one afternoon 7 years ago.

I was renting a townhouse at the time in Chicago, in a peaceful quiet neighborhood called Norwood Park, only about a mile from where I live now. It is located near O’hare airport, and I see planes flying over my neighborhood in a steady stream all day and all night. Little did I know, O’hare Airport has had a lot of UFO related sightings over the years.

It was beautiful out. The perfect day. The sky was speckled with clouds and it was about 1:30 pm. I had let my dogs out to the bathroom, and decided to sit on a bench by my back door enjoying the sun for a couple minutes before I had to head back down to the dark basement where my husband and I ran our business.

I don’t know what made me look up at the sky while I was sitting there. But I did. I saw a neon blue orb. Perfectly still. Silent. Motionless. It wasn’t large at all, about 4-5 feet in diameter. It was about 30 feet away and hovering at a height of about 4 stories. Hovering over the border of my neighbor's back yard. It was blindingly bright blue. It was so bright that I couldn’t actually see what it was made of. I just saw light in the shape of a perfect sphere.

When you see something not from this Earth your brain can not process it fast enough to react. I sat there, for no more that 5 seconds staring at this orb. Before I could even stand up, or say a word, it started moving. It was like it knew I saw it. It shot off into the sky, moving unlike anything I have ever seen before. It sliced through the clouds and off into the distance. The way it moved still gives me goosebumps as I type this. I have never seen something glide so smoothly and so fast. I tracked it with my eyes as much as I could as it flew into the distance. Within a couple of moments, it was gone.

My mouth dropped. I felt the blood draining from my face. I felt a sinking feeling in my stomach. I knew what I saw could not be from this planet. I knew I had seen a UFO. I walked back into the house, shaking. I turned the corner and went back down to the basement, where my husband was busily typing away at his computer. He turned to me, looked at my face and said “What happened?! Did someone die?” I was completely pale. “What’s wrong, tell me!” He demanded.

“I saw something outside but I don’t know how to explain it. I am in shock. I think I just saw a UFO!” I screamed. He believed me. We had been together for 7 years at that time, he knew me well. He could tell I was visibly upset. I tried to wrap my head around what I saw, and explain it the best I could.

This was not in some fog filled meadow in the middle of an abandoned forest. You know, the type of location where movies usually depict an alien encounter. This was in the middle of the day, in Chicago. I felt confused, and alone. I wished that Brad had brought out the dogs with me that time. I wish that I wasn't alone at the time so someone else witnessed it with me. I knew that Brad believed me, but I still needed validation in what I saw.

I started looking on the internet to see if anyone else had any kind of explanation for what I saw. I have to admit, I wanted to be wrong. I wanted to find something that made me doubt what I had just experienced. Unfortunately I dove into hours of reading about these sightings. Some of them sounded exactly like what I experienced. Hundreds if not thousands of posts from all across the world.

It took years of reflecting on that brief encounter to recall how I was feeling in the moment I actually saw the neon orb. When I was actually staring at it I was calm. I did not feel threatened. I was actually in awe. It was only after I got the chance to think about it that I started to feel fear. The more I pondered it, the more I was scared.

I have told people about my sighting before, but I can tell that they don’t really believe me. I don’t want to come off as the crazy guy from Independence Day, so I don’t talk about it too much.

source

It has changed me though. I now believe that extraterrestrial life has been visiting us for some time. I do not think that they are here to hurt us. I think they are quietly observing, seeing the progress of our civilization (or the decay.) I think that they know that we as a society would not be able to handle them simply landing and saying “Hi.” There would be mass panic, looting, riots and possibly the end of the world.

I believe what I saw was a non organic life form. A type of alien who doesn’t have a body, per say. I came to this conclusion after thinking about how small the orb was. It wasn’t a craft. But what if a civilization hundreds of thousands of years ahead of us technologically chose to not have frail organic bodies, but to switch to something else capable of travelling long distances.

I am conflicted about whether or not I want to see it again, especially since I didn’t feel fear when I initially saw the orb. Part of me wants to see it again, or even interact with it. Communicate with them. Be an ambassador for the human race. But the other fearful side of me doesn’t ever want to see it again. In fact since that day 7 years ago, I try my best not to look up at the sky anymore. -Emily

Have you had a supernatural encounter like mine? I'd love to hear it! I'd also like to thank @jerrybanfield for making this contest. I have never entered a Steemit contest before! I am new to Steemit and I am loving it so far!

Sort:  

I mean seriously did you saw ufo!!!

Yes, this story is 100% exactly what happened. It still scares me.

that's a great encounter story. I can understand your mixed feelings about it. the fact that it sensed you is the really interesting bit. the smooth glide is a good detail. It wasn't flying, like we fly. it was moving through space. Who knows what it actually was. perhaps it was an alien, a craft, a projected being, a human soul in out of body state. neon blue is not a common descriptor of UFO's but if you ever watched Close Encounters, there were similar orbs (red one) circling the smaller scout craft when they come in to land. I would have loved to have seen that. like most people the fear comes from seeing something which we are told does not exist. if a nature documentary had shown you this, it would have perhaps been like seeing a rare bird. as to them not just showing up, i think you are probably right. I'm not sure the world would end but we know from experience that when a smaller culture encounters a larger one, the small one is usually destined for extinction.. in our case, that may not be an entirely bad thing ! anyway thanks for sharing that. I enjoyed reading it. I hope you have taken up reading more about the subject. there are probably millions of conscious beings out there wondering just the same as us and others knowing and routinely engaging with others. interstellar travel is our next big achievement (if we survive) after that.. perhaps AI will take over in our search for truth in the galaxy. if we can learn to travel the galaxies, who knows what incredible things we'll find. I'll guess evolution is similar everywhere with species jumbled up based on environmental conditions. your Dad would know this... the basic elements of life are the most common in the universe and distributed equally in every direction. hydrogen, oxygen, carbon, nitrogen. main sequence stars like ours are common (and as we know) pretty nice to live on. they burn stable for many years without giving off too much toxic radiation which would zap us. so there's probably gazillons of earths. on some, dinosaurs still roam, one others, insectoid people have mega high tech. in others again A.I and inorganic lifeforms ponder the philosophical meanings of life. :) to Infinity and Beyond. lightspeed +

Thank you! This is one of the best comments I have received on steemit so far! I have read a lot more about aliens since that day, but sometimes it can keep me up at night! 🙈

Thank you @emmyem84 for submitting your story to the SWC, I love it, it is very well told. I am sending a bid to the bot now for your upvote.

Thank you @gmichelbkk! I don’t know how you can read all of these stories, i cant bring myself to read anymore! Even after i wrote about my encounter I couldn’t sleep that night! 🙈 thanks again!

I enjoy reading them a lot!

I believe you saw something. I'm a huge skeptic on aliens and UFO citings, but I agree with your dad. It's mathematically impossible, given the circumstances, for us to be the only planet capable of hosting advanced life. And I believe you saw SOMETHING that was "otherworldly."

I think we get hung up on the thought of aliens and intelligent life forms as though they'll come visit us in some kind of vehicle, when in reality, if they are advanced enough to visit us at all, this far away, they've probably figured out some kind of transport of a more metaphysical nature.

I mean, hypothetically speaking, if people are seeing things, and those things are not anything we could identify, it doesn't necessarily make it other worldly. It could be a spiritual manifestation of someone or something, or an out of body thing, or some kind of experimental thing.

It doesn't necessarily have to be a visitor from another galaxy for it to be supernatural, does it?

But the fact that it's fairly difficult for you to read all the other stories, and that it's chilling for you to write about is indication that something truly phenomenal and inexplicable happened to you. Which is kinda cool, and scary at the same time.

hi! thanks for your comment, I definitely don't think of myself as a spiritual person...that's probably why I identify what I saw as a UFO rather than something else. But who knows, before 7 years ago I never thought I'd ever see something like that. I actually had some regrets a couple days ago about writing this at all because I have to keep going back to the comments, and while I do usually think about the encounter when I see something related to UFOs, its definitely come back to the top of my mind now.

Why the regret? Have you had negative feedback or something?

Oh, no its not about negative comments or anything, everyone ive talked to on Steemit is super nice! I just find myself thinking about the encounter more now than I did in the last couple years. I would think about it once in a while when I would see or hear anything about aliens. But now I find myself thinking about it all this week since I wrote the post as much as I did when I originally saw it all those years ago. Its tough to explain, lol.

Probably a little traumatized. I can see how that would bring all that back up. Then again, your soul is ready for the discussion now. And more important than what it was is how overwhelmed and vulnerable it made you feel. Maybe you could write another post about that!

Very good writing, and I'm not to much into ufos but my dad has multiple videos of them flying around when he was in the marines and even after he got home, he thinks its more the government then aliens but who really knows

You should upload them to dtube! I bet a lot of people would like to see them! (I might depending if I was about to go to sleep or not) 🙈

"It was like it knew I saw it."-Whoaaa, that sorta gave me chills. You really don't look up at the sky anymore? Why do you think you feel afraid now, but you didn't feel afraid before, besides having more time to think about it?

For some reason...this reminded me of when I was maybe 4 years old, I thought I saw a flying pterodactyl, even though they're extinct.

I probably didn't, of course, because that doesn't make sense. Unless it was a UFO pterodactyl haha.

I

Hi! Yes, I don’t look up at the sky anymore especially if it’s at night or I am alone. I live in the same neighborhood still so I am very close to where I saw it. I think humans tend to fear the unknown, we automatically assume if we don’t know about something it must be bad. (Look at crypto and how someone who hasnt bought some think it’s bad, illegal, a scam etc...) thanks for your comment! :)

Classic trauma response, albeit minor. But classic nonetheless.

@emmyem84 I just read the story and I absolutely love it because I have watched so many shows on UFOs myself and never have seen one firsthand that I know of! I believe every word of your story and feel like we experienced it together the way you wrote it! I will be resteeming this soon!

Thank you so much @jerrybanfield it means a lot coming from you! You are the reason I joined Steemit 😊 thanks so much for the opportunity!

Oh also, how crazy is that that you wanted to be wrong but found tons of others seeing something similar! So eery!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

its really amazing story thanks for sharing with all because I am also a creative writer but most of the people don't know me
I am new here but hope you all are the great people and must support me back thanks for your great attention

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56