This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

A Very Brief In-Between Season


IMG_1496.JPG


Toward the end of August, the rice kernels in Japan begin to change from green to yellow, causing the rice fields to take on a soft yellowish-green color.

Then in September, the color of the rice suddenly deepens to a rich golden hue, which causes the countryside to appear as if it has been covered by a golden blanket. In the evenings, when the sun’s rays shine across the fields at a low angle, they sometimes appear to be lit by fireflies.


IMG_1504.JPG


This season, if you can call it a season, only lasts two to three weeks. Almost as soon as it begins, farmers take to their fields with combine harvesters and, one small paddy at a time, the fields begin to fall. Just like that, these unblemished blankets of golden rice become progressively spotted and checkered until finally they are nothing more than muddy, barren fields marked with the peculiar triangular patterns that harvesters leave behind.


IMG_1607.JPG


I call this an in-between season, a short period of time, unique in its own right, that marks the transition from summer to autumn. It is a time when the days are still hot and summer-like, but the nights are cool and the ceaseless songs of crickets and frogs take on a slightly different tone. It is a time when the days still feel long, yet are noticeably shorter, and the air sometimes has a very delicate softness to it. It is a time that is no longer summer, and yet, not quite autumn.

It is harvest season.


IMG_1490.JPG


Image Credits: The first, second, and fourth images in this post are original. The third image was taken by my wife.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here Wara Art.

Sort:  

This was a great post Box. It's such a huge and overlooked part of Japanese and Asian culture. Maybe because I'm a foreigner I appreciate it more.

As I was leaving Tokyo back in July, the tambo across from my apartment was just being planted. It's crazy to see them amongst houses and mansions. From a time gone by, but holding on. The plots of land where the farmer grows must be worth some serious money, but he still grows on it instead of selling it.

My wife always laughs at me when I go on tangents about how beautiful rice fields are. She always says, It's a rice field.

I think it's easier for us to appreciate their rich colors and cycles because we're not from here.

These tanbos in Tokyo, I can't imagine what they must be worth.

I have a dream to leave in Japan

It is amazing - we have rice fields here too but mostly in the north - so when we travel north, depending on the season, we either see mud (lol), square pools of water... or green carpets, or golden 'waving' fields... I think it's beautiful! :) But equally beautiful, or more to me as we don't have it here, are the rice terraces which I thoroughly enjoyed in Bali recently! Amazing beauty! Thank you for this appreciation of rice fields... :)

I really like the square pool of water season. It makes the land look like it's floating in the air.

When I was in Vietnam, I really wanted to see the terraced rice fields there but never made it. I've seen some smallish ones in Japan. Even those are quite beautiful.

Ohhh yes! I know what you mean... Especially when the sky is reflected ~ land and sky are indistinguishable... I first fell in love with rice terrace pictures when I saw the work by Thierry Bornier (NatGeo) in China - Amazing! That would be quite a sight!

This is why I like Steemit so much. I haven't seen pictures like yours before and it's so nice and also educational, to read your story and see the amazing photographs. Thank you very much!!

Thanks for your great comment. It's really nice to hear that.

I love this season.

I do too. It's the best.

Japan is a beautiful country. The greenery in rice fields spreads a wave of happiness and energy . Sometimes i also visits rice fields grown outside my village .

They are envigorating, aren't they? I love the freeness and then the goldenness of them.

Yes they are, the goldness at the time of cutting is really nice.

Lovely nature, lovely colours 😍

This is one of my favorite times of year and things to see over here.

Yeah, can you imagine ? He gave credits to his wife for the third picture, just imagine japanese hospitality !
Best experience ever !

Japan is an amazing country. I've been there twice in my life, always amazed by their culture and scenery.

I have been to Japan twice too ! Once in Tokyo, the other in Osaka. Best time of my life !
I am going to Osaka again next year, cant wait !

Glad to hear you have another trip planned. Maybe next time you can hit up the northern or southern parts of the country.

I would love to ! But I try to focus on more touristy spots first because I am afraid communication will prove to be a problem in the suburban areas of Japan. Do not get me wrong, I understand that most Japanese try their best to help tourists get around, but I just feel that they may be straining themselves too much trying to speak English, stressing them out in the end.

A lot of people here are more than happy to have the chance to try to use English. And I've found that the English level, for whatever reason, seems to be higher in the south. Places like Hiroshima and Fukuoka are great.

That is very good to hear, I shouldn't have made that assumption. But the trip to Japan will have to wait since my next trip is already fixated onto Osaka itself, will be sure to tag you when I have the opportunity to explore places you mentioned !

Not only do they like to practice their english, but the translating apps on your phone will save you if you're stuck with oji sans. The google translate woks as augmented reality. Hold it over the kanji and it will show you the translation.

The North has some gems too. Lake Towada area is one.

Have fun in Osaka!

Now I think the problem lies with me...not being able to reach out. Hahaha, I am more confident now.

Arigatou !

It varies a lot throughout the year and throughout the country, but it definitely has a lot of beautiful things to see.

So wonderful landscapes! I've never been in Japan, may thans to share these pics :D

It's my pleasure to share them. Thanks for stopping by.

this is something new to me i need to check it out :)
followed and upvoted...

Thank you for the follow. This is a very beautiful time of year to be in the countryside of Japan.

Wow! Great job, it is harvesting time in your country, but ours is only one or two months older plants are there. You are a citizen of developed country's so your every system is systematic. Ours is a poor choice to do every work. Thanks for sharing and making me travel to Japan. Wish you a very good time friend.

Thanks maya7. I'll be dropping by your blog in a bit.

Thanks my dear friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52