This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

Cicadas


IMG_0973.JPG


The cicada, and its loud, incessant mating call is a trademark of late summers in Japan.

Virtually anywhere you go, so long as there are a few trees nearby, you will encounter their ceaseless, high-pitched singing and will most likely be startled at least once or twice as one suddenly pops out of the low branches of a nearby tree and begins clumsily flying down the street bouncing off buildings and electrical poles. Or, you may find yourself surprised when you approach what appears to be a large, dead cicada lying on its back in the road or on a side walk, only to have it suddenly start flapping its wings and chaotically hoping around, desperately trying to right itself.



At the height of the afternoon heat, especially in city parks and rural areas, the noise that these bugs produce is remarkable, almost deafening, and something about the sound seems to make the days feel hotter. As the ringing fills your ears, you may feel yourself compelled to stop somewhere and eat a kaki-gori (Japanese snow cone) or duck into a nearby convenience store for a cheap ice cream bar.


IMG_0119.JPG



Image Credits: All images in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here Nuttari Fighting Festival.

Sort:  

In the USA as well! At least 4 different species. And all can be very loud. Sometimes can be annoying, but I don't mind them at all.

As I kid I played with these guys so much!!

They are fun to chase. A lot people try to catch them here and others get really upset if you do because their life spans are so short. I didn't realize there were four kinds in the States.

Yeah, at least 4 that I know of.

And if these arent in Japan...check them out:
Sphecius speciosus, often simply referred to as the cicada killer or the cicada hawk, is a large digger wasp species.

Cicada killers are large, solitary wasps in the family Crabronidae

Some get really big and scare lots of people...but their only goal is to catch cicadas.

What fascinates me are the different kinds. Here in Niigata I here both the "chattery" calls and also the long, drawn-out miiiiiinnn miiiiiin. In Nagano I heard almost exclusively the latter a couple weeks ago.

That is interesting. I read that the reason they are so loud, or one reason anyway, is to scare birds away. Apparently that's also a reason as to why several species can coexist, their mating calls keep other species away.

And at least 4 species in the USA too!!

I would climb trees and 'hunt' them as a kid!!

Great works, I wish you success ☺

Thank you! What do you like to blog about?

I remember cicadas well from many years of living in Texas-- they could be quite deafening when a whole colony started "competing" in a tree when you walked below.

I've said it before, but I really get the impression that you've lived everywhere.

In the countryside, this sound is really unbelievable. It accompanies you like the climatic sound sequence of a horror film until you just forget that it's even there.

I know we had them in New York, but I never remember them being anything like they are in Japan.

I'll always remember encountering the cicada for the first time in the evening, it really sort of scared me!

I know that feeling:)

Japan looks great :)

It has a lot to offer.

Snow ice!!! How it taste...

It depends on the flavor you order. They are just flavored syrup drizzled over cups of shaved ice. Although, there are more elaborate versions as well.

Ooo yach..thank maybe cam we practice

All that is concerned with japan is very interesting

That's nice to hear. It's definitely a unique place.

I like too Japan, there is different nature and people. AND someday I go there.

I'm glad to hear it. I think coming before the Olympics begin in 2020 will be a good idea. Prices will probably go up after that.

No , not so fast, because I live Estonia, Japan is so far away, I must earn more steem before I can travel to Japan.

I could be wrong. Perhaps, the following year prices will crash. I really have no idea. I sure, though, that around and during the Olympics prices for everything will be high.

It is good for the Japan economy, high prices.

Wow! Beautiful video of the nature and manmade factors. Japan is so beautiful country of islands, I learned from the books various islands are there,Hansu,Hakaedo,seukue etc isn't it. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful video of your country I will go through your previous post to know more about you guys. Thanks, have a great day.

Thanks Maya. The countryside video is from a peninsula in Akita Prefecture called Oga Hantou. The famous Namahage Oni are from there. As you can see though, there isn't much but the mountains, the sea, a few houses, and, in the late summer, cicadas;)

Thanks for the great information about your place. I have also made a video of the effected area of place due to flood ,I think I will able to upload it today. Friend can I invite you to my blog if you like to do, please have a look on my post, thanks again and have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43