You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

In the USA as well! At least 4 different species. And all can be very loud. Sometimes can be annoying, but I don't mind them at all.

As I kid I played with these guys so much!!

Sort:  

They are fun to chase. A lot people try to catch them here and others get really upset if you do because their life spans are so short. I didn't realize there were four kinds in the States.

Yeah, at least 4 that I know of.

And if these arent in Japan...check them out:
Sphecius speciosus, often simply referred to as the cicada killer or the cicada hawk, is a large digger wasp species.

Cicada killers are large, solitary wasps in the family Crabronidae

Some get really big and scare lots of people...but their only goal is to catch cicadas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49